Urgent Recommendtn on Pumps

flubberina13

Hey...has anyone heard of these pumps before?

It is supposedly very quiet and can be used wet or dry.

Any reviews or just recommendations about them?

Or what pump should I be looking out if I am geeting it from USA if buying for a 6-feet tank?

I will take note of the voltage too...:P

If you want to know more about US pumps, I think RC will be a better place to do a search.

Hi, i;ve seen the quiet one pump sold in Petmart yrs ago..It is a external pump with a pink or purple white casing. I did some research in it as i was considering one for my 3 ft a few yrs ago. It is supposed to be very very quiet as it doesn't have a case fan and it runs with fluid bearings. It is more of a flow pump then a pressurated pump. One major problem with it: heat issue. There are many cases of this pump's body physically cracking up due to heat issue. the more seriously shit involves it burning up! I'm not sure if it will have such heat issue in S'pore as our amperage usage is much lower than state's due to the higher voltage setup of powergrid. but i won't recommend this pump to anyone knowing!! however todate, I'm not sure if they have come up with a newer version which solves the heating problem. the rest of the popular pump in States consist of the dolphin's pump series such as ampmasters and sequence etc..but those are basically local made and only operate under 110v. If however you manage to get a 220v version, avoid the ampmaster as they have lots of issue with leaks and restarting problems.. Keep a look at at the Genx and T-velocity (being also a super silent one..but adds heat to water). The best pump and most reliable pump to get is of coz the japanese motor iwaki md series! the iwaki knockoff blueline series are also good! All of the above are some reputable external pump. If you are looking for powerheads, look for aquabee, mag, SEN. NO RIO, or CAP!!

whew..IMO get the iwaki as they definitely have no problem with different voltage versions and they give you the most push! Avoid quiet one..but if insist on getting it, check with PetM*rt.. it would be better if you get someone to buy the iwaki from HK..MUCH CHEAPER!

locally you can try to find the resun external pump md55! Damn good pump with good pressurating. been using one for 2 yrs since the 2001 aquarama..favourite pump for 2 yrs till i got iwaki..it is also not very noisy within the cabinet!!

hi FB,

if you do a search on RC, you'll find people complimenting Velocity-T for it's low noise level but complaining about heat transfer.

Gen-X and Blueline (they claim that it's even quieter than Iwaki!) are your next best bet.

All these 3 brands are decently priced. Hope you can post a review soon!

Not all models can be wired for 220V and even if there is, better make an order early for them to get it for you.

thanks guys...esp...alvy & planetq... :bow:

Tanzy...checked them out before posting and couldn't find any...thus the posting here... I know they very comprehensive but I see until I become cross-eyed monster liao...so luan... :o

Alvy, another question, any idea which country has the cheapest price for the Iwaki besides Hongkong? May contemplate the Iwaki as there were rave reviews.I go pester my globe-trotting friend... :P

Wei...the one you posted is it the Iwaki? If positive, then the power consumption is the one factor hindering my purchase... :(

Thanks again... :peace:

hey flub. can you get me a hard rock shirt? :P

You should tell me earlier. Was at San Fran and LA...now in Arizona.

See have in here or not...Got I get one for you. the white-based type hor? Irregardless of how much or give me a price cap. :)

WAH SHIT. DAMN.

pray tell you'll be going to San Fran and LA again? :P

yeah normal plain white type with the hard rock logo will do.

they shouldn't cost more than $40 right? I remember buying the hard rock london for $35 I think. I THINK. can't remember

You confirm wan? I get my sis to get for you in SFO but she will only be in Singapore late Jan? :rolleyes:

If you wan LAX's and Las Vegas version, then remind me in June. :)

FB,

Iwakis are definitely one of the most sought after pumps in this hobby. The MX series is produced in China since they moved production to China whereas the MD series is manufactured in Japan, which explains the premium.

Logically, it shd be the cheapest in Japan but what is ever cheap in Japan? Thus, the next export location with a big industrial market is definitely China and HongKong. Since production is now in China, I would think it's the cheapest there. Else HK is your next best bet.