SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 20, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2009 bro very nice. nice chatting with you the other day too Same here! Glad that we could share frags. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 20, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 20, 2009 v. nice frags you have there! Hope to see exponential growth... then Yes, I want exponential growth too! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 21, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2009 Neon goby. The blue stripe is actually more intense when seen in-person, but I couldn't get the right white balance setting on my camera... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 21, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2009 Yellow wrasse. His main role, of course, is to hunt and eat nudis to keep my zoas pest free. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 21, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2009 The cleanup crew! Turbo snails, nassarius snails, and blue legged hermits. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 21, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2009 I have a pistol shrimp that's meant to pair up with a Yashia goby, but I lost track of where it went. In-spite of setting up some PVC pipes underneath the sandbed to sort of keep him in place, he chose to dig under a live rock. Any other nice nano fishes or inverts to keep? Would like to hear some suggestions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted October 21, 2009 Senior Reefer Share Posted October 21, 2009 I have a pistol shrimp that's meant to pair up with a Yashia goby, but I lost track of where it went. In-spite of setting up some PVC pipes underneath the sandbed to sort of keep him in place, he chose to dig under a live rock. Any other nice nano fishes or inverts to keep? Would like to hear some suggestions. perhaps a royal gramma? lovely colour combo. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 21, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2009 perhaps a royal gramma? lovely colour combo. I was afraid it might be too aggressive or territorial... if I were to buy it, I think it'll be the last fish I'll add in. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted October 21, 2009 Senior Reefer Share Posted October 21, 2009 I was afraid it might be too aggressive or territorial... if I were to buy it, I think it'll be the last fish I'll add in. haha true. they do get quite territorial if other fishes swim pass their chosen territory. so far have neer encountered aggressiveness in mine hehe. how bout a yellow clown goby? so cute, and lots of charisma haha. or some cardinals? banggais? they are endangered and if u manage to breed them.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 21, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 21, 2009 haha true. they do get quite territorial if other fishes swim pass their chosen territory. so far have neer encountered aggressiveness in mine hehe. how bout a yellow clown goby? so cute, and lots of charisma haha. or some cardinals? banggais? they are endangered and if u manage to breed them.... Actually, I thought of keeping the yellow tail chromis, but I saw the ones in Iwarna, they are huge! However, the yellow in their tails are fading away... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted October 21, 2009 Senior Reefer Share Posted October 21, 2009 Actually, I thought of keeping the yellow tail chromis, but I saw the ones in Iwarna, they are huge! However, the yellow in their tails are fading away... ya lor....not nice liao Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member andylee Posted October 22, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted October 22, 2009 bro, where u get the nice zoa frags? can pm me the place and prices? so far go farms never seem to see any so colourful ones Quote Project R.E. Main Tank: 48" x 18" x 24" 12mm with external overflow piping Sump Tank: 28" x 14.5" x 12" (3 compartments) Lightings: T5 HO - Hopar 3* 39w + ATI 2* 54w Skimmer: Skimz Bullet Beckett Chiller: Resun CL-650 (28 - 29 °C) Wavemakers: 2* Seio M620 + 1* Hydor K2 (7100 litre / hr) Fluidized Reactor: Skimz FR (currently empty) Pumps: 1x Rio 32HF (Skimmer), 1x Rio 20HF (Return & Chiller) Filtration: more than 80kg LRs, chaeto Water Circulation: ~ 4000 litre / hr Future Plans: additional wavemaker, DIY algae scrubber, DIY overflow box Previously: Project R : 36" x 12" x 24" 10mm reef Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member raydiative Posted October 22, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted October 22, 2009 Some zoas on my frag rack. Growth is rather slow... you can see that I really struggled with GHA. The frag plugs are covered with them at one point. Now its much better, but can be improved. I would occasionally pick up a turbo snail and set it on the rack just to force it to eat the "green green grass". your frag station is damn organised... =] Quote A man with a reef tank is a man with an empty wallet... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 22, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 22, 2009 bro, where u get the nice zoa frags? can pm me the place and prices?so far go farms never seem to see any so colourful ones That means you haven't been chionging shipments enough! Actually, I get my zoas from various reefers as well. Just keep a lookout at the Pasar Malam section.   Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 22, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 22, 2009 your frag station is damn organised... =] Thanks bro! It's actually rather ghetto, made from spare ATO float switch brackets and white egg crate. I'll be changing them to black pretty soon, and to make something more sturdy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member comycus Posted October 23, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2009 bro can just enquire on the dimensions of your IOS? edit: would be good to see a picture of your IOS at work Like your placement of skimmer comes before or after the refugium? Quote My old 3ft Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 23, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2009 Its 18" x 6" x 18". The first compartment for mechanical & bio filtration is 4" x 6", last compartment for the return pump is also 4" x 6", and middle refugium is approx. 10" x 6" (there are baffles in-between). Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 23, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2009 As requested. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 23, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2009 As you can see, the tube that leads from my return compartment to the skimmer is from my skimmer pump. I wanted the skimmer output to go through the filter wool for bubble reduction to the main tank. Fan for cooling the tank when the AC is off, and auto feeder. Lights for the cheato in the fuge. The pipe that leads to the bottom is for my ATO. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member comycus Posted October 23, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2009 neatly hidden from view! Just wondering your connection would be 1st chamber>>>refugium>>>skimmer>>>return? Woiuldn't that kill your pods? I'm asking coz actually planning a refugium, but have lots of conflict over where to place the skimmer. That's why all plans are on hold at the moment. Quote My old 3ft Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 23, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2009 neatly hidden from view! Just wondering your connection would be 1st chamber>>>refugium>>>skimmer>>>return? Woiuldn't that kill your pods? I'm asking coz actually planning a refugium, but have lots of conflict over where to place the skimmer. That's why all plans are on hold at the moment. That's one of my worries too, but due to space constraints I don't have much choice. From the flow of my filter compartment, it should go through the return pump first before my skimmer pump (stacked on top), so hopefully the pods goes through to the main tank before it gets sucked into the skimmer pump. This will be changed once I upgrade my skimmer. I was actually planning to DIY one... still reading up on this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member comycus Posted October 23, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted October 23, 2009 That's one of my worries too, but due to space constraints I don't have much choice. From the flow of my filter compartment, it should go through the return pump first before my skimmer pump (stacked on top), so hopefully the pods goes through to the main tank before it gets sucked into the skimmer pump. This will be changed once I upgrade my skimmer. I was actually planning to DIY one... still reading up on this. Do keep us posted! btw sorry for backing out bro... feel real bad... paiseh Quote My old 3ft Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 24, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 24, 2009 No worries... its best to get something that is of use to you. No point in impulse buying and regretting it later. Cheers! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
karlyau Posted October 26, 2009 Share Posted October 26, 2009 Getting your tank made from the same tank maker? haven't got the time to really call the tank maker this few week too busy with my work, but the size will around same as your new tank keke ... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted October 26, 2009 Author SRC Member Share Posted October 26, 2009 haven't got the time to really call the tank maker this few week too busy with my work, but the size will around same as your new tank keke ... Sounds exciting bro! Looking forward to your tank thread. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...