WaveMaker War - Hydor Koralia VS Tunze

dnsfpl

selling low price doesnt mean it doenst have better resale value.

hope u understand.

hmm, why suddenly talk about lfs when we are talking abt wavemaker and brands?

u mean onli 1 lfs can sell 1 brand?

dont get over sensitive, we dont have such ideas about getting lfs names involve.

or rather I DO NOT think that way. :)

• Replies 72

i think it depends whether what type of flow do you want for your tank.

Hydor - Wide random flow [not that strong]

Tunze - 1 straight ahead direction steady flow

ehh, sound like Tunze will be suitable for my longish narrow tank!!!! One flow Gao liao....hahaha...

Thanks for your summary... :)

selling low price doesnt mean it doenst have better resale value.

hope u understand.

hmm, why suddenly talk about lfs when we are talking abt wavemaker and brands?

u mean onli 1 lfs can sell 1 brand?

dont get over sensitive, we dont have such ideas about getting lfs names involve.

or rather I DO NOT think that way. :)

maybe i misunderstood ur meaning of better resale value....for me better resale means when selling u dun lose much or maybe abit more than half the price of a new set depending on age n condition....but this is not true....we seem 701 n 851 going for like 500 600? which is less than half price......

glad u dun think that way....anyway this is juz a rebate abt how we feel abt the diff wavemaker. no hard feeling bro

bro vtec, need not get so sensitive. the hydor and the changed tunze are all from the same lfs. its really just about sharing my exp on particular brands.

regards

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

hmm remember a reefer here posted sometime back on an article about how ground probes actually run a small amt of current in your tank... I'm using Vortech now, the power outlet's supposed to be outside the tank, so shouldn't have any problem with leakage right? I don't think can penetrate glass as its a good insulator.

1) Does grounding probe really leaks current into the tank? Seems to defeat the purpose of grounding already.... does not make sense or am I reading it wrongly. Anyone care to enlighten?

2) and enough of all the LFS talk already. Let's just discuss on the hobby.

i very poor reefer so cant afford all the high end stuffs..... can onli use cheaper brand for now but at least they still working after 1 yr + in operation

bro Vtec please don't get personal. i never say you rich or poor reefer. my post said it might be worth while to get something good for long term benefit and investment. everyone know this and i'm sure they will upgrade when there a chance or when year end bonus coming along. to enjoy the hobby better and the tank mates happier.

as regards to how we know its electric leak. by putting your hand in the tank and you be able to feel the current. test by unplugging the pumps etc 1 by 1. this how the seniors here teach me. unless there a better way to test cos tried test pen doesnt pick up anything and to double ensure that its the K4, i put it into a water and test again and got a shock. i suppose i'm not so foolish to risk my life just for sake of getting back at anyone or brand?

i do agree with bro thomas we talking about wave maker here not any particlar LFS and wave maker brands is not exclusive to any LFS. just like we know every new generation of iphone have some glitches and we sharing experiences online. i suppose by doing this we not targetting at apple epic shop. rite?

we should not bring in any LFS to this wavemaker discussion tread otherwise it will kena lock again :rolleyes:

1) Does grounding probe really leaks current into the tank? Seems to defeat the purpose of grounding already.... does not make sense or am I reading it wrongly. Anyone care to enlighten?

2) and enough of all the LFS talk already. Let's just discuss on the hobby.

I believe the article that was discussed was taken from here:

http://avdil.gtri.gatech.edu/RCM/RCM/Aquar...dingProbes.html

I'm no electrician, but a proper discussion if you are interested could be started in a new thread... think abit too :off: le.

bro Vtec please don't get personal. i never say you rich or poor reefer. my post said it might be worth while to get something good for long term benefit and investment. everyone know this and i'm sure they will upgrade when there a chance or when year end bonus coming along. to enjoy the hobby better and the tank mates happier.

as regards to how we know its electric leak. by putting your hand in the tank and you be able to feel the current. test by unplugging the pumps etc 1 by 1. this how the seniors here teach me. unless there a better way to test cos tried test pen doesnt pick up anything and to double ensure that its the K4, i put it into a water and test again and got a shock. i suppose i'm not so foolish to risk my life just for sake of getting back at anyone or brand?

i do agree with bro thomas we talking about wave maker here not any particlar LFS and wave maker brands is not exclusive to any LFS. just like we know every new generation of iphone have some glitches and we sharing experiences online. i suppose by doing this we not targetting at apple epic shop. rite?

we should not bring in any LFS to this wavemaker discussion tread otherwise it will kena lock again :rolleyes:

for me as long as it works for my tank, i m happy enuff, dun have to be branded stuff....at least after 2 yrs if spoil then i can go try another product.....i believe equipment is 50%, 50% depends on reefer....anyway i think i going off topic....let go back to Hydor vs Tunze....

peace

tks 4 sharing law

hiz vtec, you are welcome. i guessed reefer had been diverted too far away from the recent topic about lfs. lets divert back to our hobby, our tank already need so much of our time and attention, lets not waste any of our's for these unworthy issues. must as well spend more time reading and enjoying our tank before another problem occurs again.

and i do agree with you, my previous K4 from AM do have wider flow and tunze have more direct flow which is more suitable for longer rectangular tank. it really depends on one needs to decide on which to go for.

happy reefing :rolleyes:

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

hiz vtec, you are welcome. i guessed reefer had been diverted too far away from the recent topic about lfs. lets divert back to our hobby, our tank already need so much of our time and attention, lets not waste any of our's for these unworthy issues. must as well spend more time reading and enjoying our tank before another problem occurs again.

and i do agree with you, my previous K4 from AM do have wider flow and tunze have more direct flow which is more suitable for longer rectangular tank. it really depends on one needs to decide on which to go for.

i strongly agree with what u say...what work for u may not work for me as our tank is diff...scapin n stuff affect too

happy reefing bro :paiseh:

hey law you are back. the tunze i got from you is more direct flow so i "aim" it on to one of the top portion rock and the flow spread a little more. glad we back to topic and not IFs. :rolleyes:

for me as long as it works for my tank, i m happy enuff, dun have to be branded stuff....at least after 2 yrs if spoil then i can go try another product.....i believe equipment is 50%, 50% depends on reefer....anyway i think i going off topic....let go back to Hydor vs Tunze....

peace

in case any LFS mistaken us again. it's not about hydor vs tunze etc. its about wave makers as a whole seio, sun sun etc. all brands welcome. i'm not using everything branded as well. as mentioned in my earlier post i using a seio too :) problem is i dun even have at least 2 years to use the K4. leak on me after 1 year :( generally, better use of materials and construction of the equipments will determine the end quality of the product.

as the saying goes " there no cheap and good". cheers

I believe the article that was discussed was taken from here:

http://avdil.gtri.gatech.edu/RCM/RCM/Aquar...dingProbes.html

I'm no electrician, but a proper discussion if you are interested could be started in a new thread... think abit too :off: le.

yea. be nice. really scared now, i thinking of getting one after my K4 leak. heard also it wont work if it is plug onto extension cord... cos no "earth/ground" line. wonder how the whole probe thing works.

i have a 2ft cube tank.. might be upgrading to SPS in the future.

So i suppose that a koralia is more suitable cos of its wider flow? Tunze looks too big in a tiny 2ft tank.. :P

bro tunze is quite small... to me it's more suitable for 2ft tank. I remember seeing one of the reefer's tank with tunzes and hydor flo deflector (or some form of rotating deflector) mounted on it. Good way of creating random flows :)

newer tunze model is more space compact. especially for their nano series.