WaveMaker War - Hydor Koralia VS Tunze

dnsfpl

• Replies 72

notice both k4 & 6045 are equally popular but not many pple use k5

any reason why k5 k6 etc etc are not in favour?

in fact k5 using the least amount of wattage(8w) compared to 6060(11w) & 6065(12w)

market price for both products are very close too.

but for me who keeps both fw and sw aquariums.

i would use hydor more for freshwater and tunze seems more specialised for sw.

consumers' perception towards the product i would say.

though currently i am using a same hydor wavemaker for my sw and fw to see which tank goes down 1st :rolleyes:

Brown SPS > Kinder Surprise

White SPS = Kinder Surprise after expiry date

Assumption killed the dinosaurs, they didnt have test kits.

notice both k4 & 6045 are equally popular but not many pple use k5

any reason why k5 k6 etc etc are not in favour?

in fact k5 using the least amount of wattage(8w) compared to 6060(11w) & 6065(12w)

1 of the reason y k5 n k6 not in favour becos not many ppl have 5ft tank n above.......

i've hydor leak electric after 1 year usage. anyone experience this issues? heard happened to some reefers too. was really surprise cos italian brand suppose to be pretty reliable even my seio outlast the hydor K4...

both my k3 n k4 do not have this issue....juz to check, is ur k4 using the metal shaft?

2 of my k4 too leaks electric after a couple of months of usage but replaced and changed to tunze instead.

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

ther are infact,alot of people having 5ft and above. and they are mostly on tunzes and starting on vortec.the hydor electric leaking issue is quite welll known. Also, there are ahandful of reefers with 4ft tank using more than 6500L/hr wavemakers in their tank. To be frank, for a sps tank, 6500L/hr wavemaker arent too strong in a 4ft.

i felt the K4 looks bigger compare to 6045

it look like more people prefer to go for tunzes. Since the price difference isnt great, why dont get something that can be sold off easier in future to fund your next upgrade :)

ther are infact,alot of people having 5ft and above. and they are mostly on tunzes and starting on vortec.the hydor electric leaking issue is quite welll known. Also, there are ahandful of reefers with 4ft tank using more than 6500L/hr wavemakers in their tank. To be frank, for a sps tank, 6500L/hr wavemaker arent too strong in a 4ft.

i felt the K4 looks bigger compare to 6045

it look like more people prefer to go for tunzes. Since the price difference isnt great, why dont get something that can be sold off easier in future to fund your next upgrade :)

what i notice is hydor n vortech have wider spread whereas tunze is more direct flow.....personally i prefer vortech n hydor. actually for resale value, tot hydor n tunze is abt the same?

What!!! I'd better change when i'm having enough cash... Both wake makers in my tank are hydor... :pirate: Or does it only happen to K4?? :unsure:

it happened to my k3 oso..i haf since switched to tunze n is veri satisfied wif it :)

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

I was about to change my seio to K4 until you said that electricity was leaking :(

girlone.png

what i notice is hydor n vortech have wider spread whereas tunze is more direct flow.....personally i prefer vortech n hydor. actually for resale value, tot hydor n tunze is abt the same?

ya true for tunze is more direct unless getting the controller version. for resale suppose tunze will be able to fetch higher resale value like deltec. there always better chance of selling it at better price compared to skimz, reef octopus. i guess its you pay for what you getting. no cheap and good.

bros i dunno tot i happened to be unlucky oni. didn't know its a common issues... now i know i'm not isolated case. was really disappointed when i found out it was hydor was expecting it to be taiwan or china pumps. anyway, better to stick with more establish brand as the china brand might be cheaper but i discovered they suck in more wattage.

both my k3 n k4 do not have this issue....juz to check, is ur k4 using the metal shaft?

no idea manz, just dump it immediately once i discovered it leak electric. if it isolated case never mind now i know its not. metal shaft or not is non issue. putting aside manufacturing faults, shouldn't happen at all esp if it is wave maker meant for inside water. just try avoid getting this brand wave maker liao.

ya true for tunze is more direct unless getting the controller version. for resale suppose tunze will be able to fetch higher resale value like deltec. there always better chance of selling it at better price compared to skimz, reef octopus. i guess its you pay for what you getting. no cheap and good.

ya forgot this. after so long one of the most important thing i learnt is for marine best to invest in better equipment brands if you can afford it. cheaper brand work but not for long run and they might consume more electricity. brands like deltec, eheim, aquabee, red dragon etc are pretty reliable. slowly upgrade, worthwhile to get them in pasar malam too.

HTH. :rolleyes:

i used to have a k4 that actually pop in the tank and trip the elcb,

luckily it happened right infront of my eyes when i was looking at the tank , but good thing that aquamarin changed it for me when i brought back to complaint.

of course i sold it immediately.

tunze so far so good for me but need to take out and maintain the impellar or else will notice the flow getting weaker and weaker after months of usage

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

i used to have a k4 that actually pop in the tank and trip the elcb,

luckily it happened right infront of my eyes when i was looking at the tank , but good thing that aquamarin changed it for me when i brought back to complaint.

of course i sold it immediately.

tunze so far so good for me but need to take out and maintain the impellar or else will notice the flow getting weaker and weaker after months of usage

bro u very funnie. exchange and sold it immediately.

tthe guys at RD told me need to take out and maintain too. guess it same for all equipments need to maintain. glad you found something good for you. happy reefing :)

but i guess it all abt demand.... brands like deltec is slowing down already....juz look at the num of deltec skimmers sellers....did they managed to sell at a gd price? i dun think so........actually what does direct flow gt to do with controller? unless u toking abt wave effect, then tat another thing....

ya forgot this. after so long one of the most important thing i learnt is for marine best to invest in better equipment brands if you can afford it. cheaper brand work but not for long run and they might consume more electricity. brands like deltec, eheim, aquabee, red dragon etc are pretty reliable. slowly upgrade, worthwhile to get them in pasar malam too.

HTH. :rolleyes:

i very poor reefer so cant afford all the high end stuffs..... can onli use cheaper brand for now but at least they still working after 1 yr + in operation

deltec also cannot fetch price bcos all upgrading to bk.

also alot goin for the new deltecs if u seen them.

since deltec price is going very low already, those waiting for deltec will pounce on them quickly, other lower brands. no chances to sell at all.

actually the tunze spread is not really true as it can be modified.

if u read the tunze thread in RC, the bigger models so called fish guard( not sure what name) using on smaller models can give u better spread.

e.g 6200 guard on 6100 body

or 6205 on 6105

deltec also cannot fetch price bcos all upgrading to bk.

also alot goin for the new deltecs if u seen them.

since deltec price is going very low already, those waiting for deltec will pounce on them quickly, other lower brands. no chances to sell at all.

actually the tunze spread is not really true as it can be modified.

if u read the tunze thread in RC, the bigger models so called fish guard( not sure what name) using on smaller models can give u better spread.

e.g 6200 guard on 6100 body

or 6205 on 6105

i did not say deltec cant sell off when u wan to sell, rather u guys say that deltec have better resale but now u admit that deltec sell at low price too....so i juz trying to say, dun mean u buy a deltec, u can expect to sell at a gd price too.... as for tunze, let juz say i m very happy with my vortech n hydor wavemaker....no intention of switching to that.......

oh ya i actually forgot abt something, n i guess some of u forgotten abt it too.....how come everyone is shooting at hydor? have we forgotten vortech used to have the rusting prob? have we forgotten that the tunze wavebox having some prob too??? or izzit becos the LFS service is better so u guys tend to forget the prob faster? lol

ps, i dun have any issue with the shop u guys support...i also go there buy some stuff also....like i said, i do not stick to a single LFS.....but i certainly hope that u guys can give a fairer judgement....let's juz say, if RD is the one carrying hydor, will these statements be the same?

:paiseh: how do you know if electricity leak? house kena trip? got lightning bolt running through tank, n chao ta smell from your burnt corals?

hmmm anyway all these brand A vs. brand B vs. brand C etc, eventually boils down to cost, reliability, wattage, and customer perception right? Individual preference bah

hmmm... very interesting read here..

I thought this is comparison about wavemaker comparison.. pro and con.

Correct me if I'm wrong.. :paiseh:

Comycus,

For electical leakage, irregardless of what equipment had leaked. You will feel some "shock" effect when you touch the water. Something like static energy shock if you had experience before. If u smell chao ta mean I don't know what impact it had for your lifestock thou.. LOL

To minimize electrical damage, you should invest on a titanium ground probe. I'm using 1 from coralife. It will help to reduce the "shock" to the life stock if leakage happen.

For electical leakage, irregardless of what equipment had leaked. You will feel some "shock" effect when you touch the water. Something like static energy shock if you had experience before. If u smell chao ta mean I don't know what impact it had for your lifestock thou.. LOL

To minimize electrical damage, you should invest on a titanium ground probe. I'm using 1 from coralife. It will help to reduce the "shock" to the life stock if leakage happen.

hmm remember a reefer here posted sometime back on an article about how ground probes actually run a small amt of current in your tank... I'm using Vortech now, the power outlet's supposed to be outside the tank, so shouldn't have any problem with leakage right? I don't think can penetrate glass as its a good insulator.

anyway stray further from thread, I agree tt Deltec is becoming more 'affordable', in a sense. More ppl upgrading to BK? wow, how reefers getting $$ during recession! :D

hmm remember a reefer here posted sometime back on an article about how ground probes actually run a small amt of current in your tank... I'm using Vortech now, the power outlet's supposed to be outside the tank, so shouldn't have any problem with leakage right? I don't think can penetrate glass as its a good insulator.

anyway stray further from thread, I agree tt Deltec is becoming more 'affordable', in a sense. More ppl upgrading to BK? wow, how reefers getting $$ during recession! :D

:off: no doubt your wavemaker is external. You may still want to consider the probe as other equipments may have leakage issue due to wear and tear.

P.S. I wish i can find the $$$ they had as well to upgrade.. :sick: