Tangs for algae grazing?

ambystoma82

Having some hair algae prob on rocks..

but dun wish to deploy inverts as they always tumble my rocks..

i hear foxface can b a gd algae cleaner also? as experience?

mayb i just stick with tomini tang? heard from henry they r gd grazers?

one of the LFS told me before brown scopas tang makes good algae grazers..

I have one brown scopas tang.It does kinda a good work but it loves to graze at its favourite spots.

girlone.png

one of the LFS told me before brown scopas tang makes good algae grazers..

I dun have a very hardworking brown scopas tang... But i think fox face may do better... :upsidedown:

if u wan tangs. ctenochaetus tangs are the best. AKA bristletooth tangs. they eat algae incessently non stop. zebrasoma tangs are great too but not as good as the bristletooth.

the best IMO is tuxedo urchin. but since u dun wan iverts, ill go with the tangs

if u wan tangs. ctenochaetus tangs are the best. AKA bristletooth tangs. they eat algae incessently non stop. zebrasoma tangs are great too but not as good as the bristletooth.

the best IMO is tuxedo urchin. but since u dun wan iverts, ill go with the tangs

ya i vote bristletooth too. hardworking but ugly tang lol

IMO, most bristletooths are like bro mopiko said, very ugly. if u wan beauty, get a small juvenile chevron. pricey, but does the same job as most other bristletooths. my vote will go for a small kole eye or tomini. kole eye seldom see small one. tomini easier.

i have a brown tang which finish my hair algea in 1 wk.....but then again fishes also need some luck lah....juz like some AT die die only wan to eat nori n bamboo, while other first day eat pellets liao.....same like human mah. c they choosy bo...lol

Get a small Kole tang.. Or if you are lucky you might find this... Very common last time.. Very small too...

Juv Ctenochaetus cyanocheilus

ctenochaetus-cyanocheilus-juv.jpg

Looks quite pretty... How abt the avg price for these fishes?? :thanks:

If I never remember wrongly, it is less than a red note.. But I very long never see it liao.. Used to keep before.. They are great grazers... Usually in size of 1inch - 1.5 inch ...

Thanks for all ur reply

for tomini tang i tink can find at pinnacle n ah beng

e rest i dun tink seem them ard.. nt sure abt the west area...

is this true/????

2) Feeding: Here we go again with this "acid test"; especially important with fishes such as the algae-scraping Bristlemouth Tangs that, once off food due to mouth or other trauma, nearly always perish. If the fish is not eating, wait till it does to buy it. At right, a Yellow Eye, Kole Tang (C. strigosus) with a bad mouth: doomed.

but how to make sure they feedin??? b4 they get purchase by other pple lolx..

Thanks for all ur reply

for tomini tang i tink can find at pinnacle n ah beng

e rest i dun tink seem them ard.. nt sure abt the west area...

is this true/????

2) Feeding: Here we go again with this "acid test"; especially important with fishes such as the algae-scraping Bristlemouth Tangs that, once off food due to mouth or other trauma, nearly always perish. If the fish is not eating, wait till it does to buy it. At right, a Yellow Eye, Kole Tang (C. strigosus) with a bad mouth: doomed.

but how to make sure they feedin??? b4 they get purchase by other pple lolx..

ahh i remember this article from wetwebmedia regarding bristletooths :). good website bro glad someone is using it. they are not hard to feed. most importantly, check that their mouths are not damaged. being bristletooths, their mouth generally are quite protruded and may be damaged during shipment. if they are in tanks in LFS, investigate their mouths. any trauma? bleeding? sores? all these indicate damage to mouth and generally do not feed. if mouth seems ok, feeding them is easy. this family generally not difficult to feed. can ask LFS test feed for u if they allow. also, if u see them pecking on the glass or algae etc, its an extra bonus

i would go for tomini as they are smallish in LFS and looks decent with bright orange dorsal and ana-l fin, and a striking white deeply lunated tail. kole eyes are cool too! remind me of police man. dunno why.

to prove their effectiveness, even turtles are not spared from algae growing on their shells ;)

post-15755-1253633553_thumb.jpg

ahh i remember this article from wetwebmedia regarding bristletooths :). good website bro glad someone is using it. they are not hard to feed. most importantly, check that their mouths are not damaged. being bristletooths, their mouth generally are quite protruded and may be damaged during shipment. if they are in tanks in LFS, investigate their mouths. any trauma? bleeding? sores? all these indicate damage to mouth and generally do not feed. if mouth seems ok, feeding them is easy. this family generally not difficult to feed. can ask LFS test feed for u if they allow. also, if u see them pecking on the glass or algae etc, its an extra bonus

i would go for tomini as they are smallish in LFS and looks decent with bright orange dorsal and ana-l fin, and a striking white deeply lunated tail. kole eyes are cool too! remind me of police man. dunno why.

to prove their effectiveness, even turtles are not spared from algae growing on their shells ;)

But tomini are terror when you add any new fish.. Unless you are not adding any fish liao.. If not I will not recommend tomini..

yah terry is right. tomini is fierce. bro amby are u adding anymore new fish?

If I never remember wrongly, it is less than a red note.. But I very long never see it liao.. Used to keep before.. They are great grazers... Usually in size of 1inch - 1.5 inch ...

Will see if i'm in luck.. :eyebrow: