terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 what do you use to clean the glass? the external side of the tank that is. will the normal glass cleaning solvents be okay? because I saw my maid cleaning it and she just sprays it on. loads of fine mist is produced and I'm paranoid the mist will find its way into the tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sponsor dr evil Posted December 10, 2003 Sponsor Share Posted December 10, 2003 that is what i use too....so far, so good.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Author Share Posted December 10, 2003 oh. like that ah. haha I took the newspaper just now and covered the top part of the nozzle and sprayed gently and quickly. used my body to block whatever mist was form. I know its paranoid, but hey...I don't want it to poison my tank. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sponsor dr evil Posted December 10, 2003 Sponsor Share Posted December 10, 2003 i tried cleaning in the tank b4..... but after thorough rinsing.....still no casualties.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Author Share Posted December 10, 2003 what the?! why did you do that?! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reefer guy Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 i am using the household glass cleaner as well, then wipe it dry with newspaper..... dr. evil, trying to polish ur fish and clams???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 i use a wet cloth to clean and then use newspaper to wipe off the water Quote But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Author Share Posted December 10, 2003 you'll notice with wet cloth and newspaper, it can't wipe off oily fingerprint imprintations. learnt that painfully through many stand-by-bunk episodes in my NS days. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 Ya my maid also uses the commercial cleaners to clean the outside of the tank... She sprays the cleaner on a cloth first before cleaning and not directly on the tank itself so I guess it's safer and more advisable? But so far no problem lah so you really shouldn't worry, man... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lightningstrike Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 i use kleen glass as detergent with newspaper..... works well.... Quote Austin the Westie: "I may be your best friend, but you are my everything". Lightning Strike's Back!!! Reefkeeping Is Not My Hobby, It's My Obsession. Austin's Birthday Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Virus Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 Yes. glass cleaner and newspaper works Best!! very clean looking. Just be careful dun spray too near to top loh wait tiny small droplets go in also dunno. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuEl Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 Wah..so many people got maid...such comfy life sia.. btw...virus..i gunbound too. Quote Always something more important than fish. http://reefbuilders.com/2012/03/08/sps-pico-reef/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dazza Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 please dont use normal cleaning liquid for yr tank. All of them (windex etc) contain ammonia as maninn ingredient. One small mistake n you can restart your entire tank. Quote Main Tank : 48 inch by 36 inch by 28 inch (2 sides starphire glass)Sump Tank :Return Pump :Chiller : Starmax Compressor 1 HP Drop coilChiller Return Pump Protein Skimmer :Wave Maker :Fluidised Reactor : Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Author Share Posted December 10, 2003 Dazza... then how are we going to clean the exterior bits of it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 Spray some water and use the 3M cloth(i found it at Giant) work for me.. very clear... hehe... Quote Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...