SRC Member NgaoCi Posted December 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 9, 2003 like not cold???20.5 sia... mine only 25.. which chille ru using... keep till so low??? Go and read from the start of tis thread lah..dun anyhow whack your comments. HE did not even mention he has a chiller in the 1st place. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ozy Posted December 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 9, 2003 I keep fish in the office too. And yes the water temperature is around 20 degrees, even though the ambient temp is around 22-23. And fishes definitely die at that temperature because I did not add a heater initially. After I did, everything was fine, even the blue tangs do not have white spots anymore. Now I run at a temp of 24.5 degrees. However, you have to be careful when you change water though. If you change with the water directly from the tap, it will be too warm, if you use water left in the room for a while, it will be too cold. Temperature fluctuations no good for corals. BTW, I am using T5 and PLs in the office, what brand of MH are you using? If I hang from the ceiling, my boss is definitely going to kill me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member salted fish Posted December 9, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 9, 2003 Hi... ALL, Thank you ALL... I Will add heater & put some winter jacket in my tank, Merry X'mas.. SF Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 for your sake I hope it snows in there so you'll have a white christmas. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member salted fish Posted December 10, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 Hi... friend get me his LouHan Heater (small) today, try and able to temp it to 24.2- 24.5 IS THAT TEMP. OK NOW?????????????? PLS HELP~~~~~~~~~ Thanks........ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 should be okay. make sure you protect the heater with rocks or something so that fish can't get stuck inbetween the heating rod and glass. I've read cases of fish being heated alive as a result. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member salted fish Posted December 10, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 thanks... heater is in my sump tank.... near the flow down. will the heater kill any unseen things???? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 yup, there have been cases whereby those cheapo china made heater were faulty n heated up the water.. There is a more reliable brand called RENA...u may wanna check them out. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 10, 2003 Share Posted December 10, 2003 hmm. if its stupid enough to swim near the heat source. it'll see the light eventually. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member salted fish Posted December 10, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 Ok thanks.... all the help from you guyz. Will get a better heater and check the temp. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Razo Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 thanks... heater is in my sump tank.... near the flow down. will the heater kill any unseen things???? hmm..aybe from midnite to 7am u might want to off the heater using a timer... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member junyong84 Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 wah..so cold sia... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member alanseah Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 hmm.. if I work in server room... I think my tank will be the lowest with around 16 degree or less... lolz... too bad server room can't bring in food or water... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member reefer guy Posted December 10, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 10, 2003 bro, just a question, is the aircon still on during the weekends when nobody's working in the office? or even at late nite? we used to keep a tank in the office as well and its quite hard to keep corals stable ... working hours is really too cold, i agree, reaching 20deg as well, but after work and during weekend, it is pretty warm.... so the corals experience extreme cold and extreme warm temperature, making it almost impossible to keep, especially sea anemones!!! solution we did is just do away with the corals, and keep damsels.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...