blueheaven Posted December 9, 2003 Share Posted December 9, 2003 Today i went to Pasir Ris Farm and saw got some BABY MAXIMA CLAMS and also a very special TWIN DERASA CLAM. The baby maxi got dark blue and powder blue colour while the derasas got very unique pattern. hurry! go grab them b4 they are gone! But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member onghm Posted December 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 9, 2003 eh... if i understand correctly, baby clams cannot survive on lights alone and need lots of phyto feeding. Think the general recommendation is to get specimen > 3 inches. Just sharing my 2 cents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Cookiemunster Posted December 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 9, 2003 Yup Ongmh bro is right. Less than 2inch clams need to be target fed daily with phytoplankton as they do not have enough zooanthellae to absorb nutrients from. My Humble 4ft tank Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted December 9, 2003 Author Share Posted December 9, 2003 wonder if the farm feed them phyto? after all, they are farms..... But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted December 9, 2003 Share Posted December 9, 2003 eh..? most LFS will prefer fast turnover.. tat's why u see many shops with dead fishes n sick ones. next week will come in new stock liao.. u tik they will use DT meh..? haha.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted December 9, 2003 Share Posted December 9, 2003 The farms will just leave them there to die... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted December 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 9, 2003 Hi Blueheaven, How much are they selling the clams? No. 7 Pasir Ris Farm also got very nice clams, is it the same farm? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted December 9, 2003 Share Posted December 9, 2003 eh... if i understand correctly, baby clams cannot survive on lights alone and need lots of phyto feeding.Think the general recommendation is to get specimen > 3 inches. Just sharing my 2 cents I seldom feed my baby maxima due to the fact that i want to try to reduce the pollution in my tank especially with sps but i notice that even without much feeding the clam is doing very well and has gorwn quite alot. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted December 9, 2003 Share Posted December 9, 2003 Most of the better marine LFS should carry them. Try Bio-ocean, our sponsor. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 9, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 9, 2003 which farm u refering to.. there are a number of farms at pasir ris Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
blueheaven Posted December 10, 2003 Author Share Posted December 10, 2003 the one at Irwana Aquatic with big blue tubs. should have gotten the twin derasas even thought charge double price. so rare sia But if you tame me, we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. -Antoine de Saint-Exupery Keep our hobby sustainable, participate in fragging NOW CHAETO Farmer Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Virus Posted December 12, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 12, 2003 Oh yeah i saw them too... VERY VERY beautiful. pity my tank ain't suitable for clams. A lot too. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Venezia Posted December 13, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 13, 2003 the one at Irwana Aquatic with big blue tubs.should have gotten the twin derasas even thought charge double price. so rare sia wheres this place? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...