sparks1107 Posted July 4, 2009 Share Posted July 4, 2009 Guys, I've a 2inches true percula which is kinda aggressive and already tried pairing it with 1inch true perc twice. In both occasions, the bigger perc tend to bully and chase after the smaller one. Any tips to pair my perc? Do i have to get a bigger one? Cause my tank is only 2ft and dont think a 4inches perc fits in Am i right to say that my 2inches true perc is a male, and normally the males will tend to be more aggressive? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jyoon Posted July 5, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 5, 2009 Hi Bro For clown fishes, the bigger one is the female which will be the dominant of the group. In the wild, normally in a group of clowns, the dominant one is the female. Then the second dominant will be the mating male. The rest of them in that group will remain un-sex till either the dominant female or the dominant male die. If the dominant female die, then the dominant male becomes female and the next dominant un-sex clowns in that gorup will become male. If the dominant male die, then the next dominant un-sex clowns in that gorup will become male. As you already have a female 2" in your current tank, to make a pair can be quite tough though not impossible. I would suggest you should pair a new pair rather then to find a mate for your current clown. Just my 2 cents. Hope this help. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dachkie Posted July 5, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 5, 2009 if u can try catching the female out n quarantine it then introduce the male she obviously dun like to be kao by guys going to her house, then u will have to let her go to the guy's house to kena kao Quote Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3 Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller Tunze TS24 with 7096 Tunze Osmolator American Pinpoint PH monitor American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone RM sulphur denitrator RM FR 424 RM FR 624 TLF Phosban Reactor My old tank thread Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member peacemaker Posted July 5, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 5, 2009 if u can try catching the female out n quarantine it then introduce the maleshe obviously dun like to be kao by guys going to her house, then u will have to let her go to the guy's house to kena kao Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sparks1107 Posted July 5, 2009 Author Share Posted July 5, 2009 Hi Bro For clown fishes, the bigger one is the female which will be the dominant of the group. In the wild, normally in a group of clowns, the dominant one is the female. Then the second dominant will be the mating male. The rest of them in that group will remain un-sex till either the dominant female or the dominant male die. If the dominant female die, then the dominant male becomes female and the next dominant un-sex clowns in that gorup will become male. If the dominant male die, then the next dominant un-sex clowns in that gorup will become male. As you already have a female 2" in your current tank, to make a pair can be quite tough though not impossible. I would suggest you should pair a new pair rather then to find a mate for your current clown. Just my 2 cents. Hope this help. Thanks! Now i learnt new stuff haha Looks like she has to be alone. Hurts me to see the male being bully by her Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted July 10, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2009 if u can try catching the female out n quarantine it then introduce the maleshe obviously dun like to be kao by guys going to her house, then u will have to let her go to the guy's house to kena kao LOL... ithink pairing is more ezier with young ones ... Mine paired when i put them in my tank... I guess they paired during the journey on my way home, as the person packed them together and are tank bred which also simplify the process... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member albinosage Posted July 10, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2009 if u can try catching the female out n quarantine it then introduce the maleshe obviously dun like to be kao by guys going to her house, then u will have to let her go to the guy's house to kena kao LOL!!! Hurts me to see the male being bully by her Sadly this dominant female behaviour is observed in human beings too I guess they paired during the journey on my way home LOL, no la they are all stunned and swirling in a plastic bag, no choice but to pair up. Quote My 1.5ft nano cube My 24G nano tank (Decommed) I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it. -- Jack Handey Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dachkie Posted July 10, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 10, 2009 LOL!!! Sadly this dominant female behaviour is observed in human beings too usually seen if the female earns more then the male Quote Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3 Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller Tunze TS24 with 7096 Tunze Osmolator American Pinpoint PH monitor American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone RM sulphur denitrator RM FR 424 RM FR 624 TLF Phosban Reactor My old tank thread Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dieran_green Posted July 13, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 13, 2009 If u have a betta box, you can place the male in it first. so that the female can get used to the presence of the male. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member big_ben102000 Posted July 13, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 13, 2009 i too have this problem. i have 3 percs bought on different occasions. they haven been living together for more than 2 years but they just wont pair up.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Vlamingi_cont Posted July 13, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted July 13, 2009 LOL!!! Sadly this dominant female behaviour is observed in human beings too LOL, no la they are all stunned and swirling in a plastic bag, no choice but to pair up. Maybe i take back my words... Today saw the female go find the male trouble sia... Quote 1ft cube with IOS [the low tech tank] 1. JBJ C-breeze to keep temp hovering around 27-28'C 2. LED clip on - 120 bulbs -skimmer-less- My 3 humble equipments that keeps my tank running... [DRIED OUT] 1. The RSM itself of course 2.My NEW Deltec MCE-300 Skimmer 3. My trusty Arctica Chiller Tank parameters: Temperature maintained at 25.3'C to 24.7'C No3: 10ppm(b4 the use of the deltec skimmer) No3: 5ppm (after use of the skimmer) Others? too lazy to measure...LOL Camera- EOS 50D Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sparks1107 Posted July 13, 2009 Author Share Posted July 13, 2009 Maybe i take back my words... Today saw the female go find the male trouble sia... hahaha.. think have to rely on coincidence. not easy to build chemistry Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...