is this ok ??

did you put styrofoam underneath your tank?do not see any in the pic...

nope i never put it

SBS_Transit

• Replies 60

Yes , U think the wood is "STRONG" ???? But "IKEA" furniture normally have to assemble yourself with just using some screws And the all corner for the cabinet should have more support ??? :o:o

i add my own support ;) so 100% sure wornt break, :lol: i hope so

post-6-1071040734.jpg

SBS_Transit

you'll never know unless the wood goes through a load bearing test. such supports may in fact, rip the wood apart internally if the weight is too heavy to bear.

lol, nvm la. my tank will not be too heavy :( i hope

SBS_Transit

bro, dont take their comments as negative feedbacks...but u better be safe than sorry, it's quite true, ikea products are not durable and strength doesnt last.... u dont want to end up wasting setup all because of a cheap yet unreliable cabinet... think twice, just an advice....

cheers!

I think what U shown are NOT Enough for the cabinet to carry the weight of the tank..... ;);)

IMO, Should add on one more on top & one on bottom frame ( wood, std steel .....) to support with 4 stand..... :idea::idea:

dry weight of tank + weight of water + weight of rocks + weight of sand + weight of odds and ends like lights = quite heavy.

take note if you have sagging. try to slot in a center beam to tahan the weight a bit.

hmm,

dry weight of tank 7kg+

weight of water 36kg+

weight of rocks 4kg+

weight of sand 5kg+

weight of odds and ends like lights+filter+skimmer+........etc...5kg

TOTAL= 57kg.

This weight is ok what ?? ;)

SBS_Transit

I think what U shown are NOT Engough for the cabinet to carry the weight of the tank..... ;);)

IMO, Should add on one more on top & one on bottom frame ( wood, std steel .....) to support with 4 stand..... :idea::idea:

Lol , i might as well put the tank on the floor :lol: .

SBS_Transit

well it seems okay to you, but have you ever wondered what happens when......................

1) the wood has had enough with carrying the weight and decides to buckle. pine wood or not, doesn't mean its resilient. I only remember pine wood for having a nice grain to look at.

2) whether its marine proof, or water proof for that matter. what would happen if water was to seep in into the woodwork itself and start decomposing from within? I'm pretty darn sure that pine isn't water proof.

3) your guess-ti-mates of 57kg is being too lenient. one should always work towards the worse case scenario. I suggest you add a center support beam to tahan the weight first, and look at the overall shape of the cabinet. if it looks like its warping outwards/inwards, be careful then. sagging is normal. but to a certain extent.

well i use this can to stain the wood, it says it is water proof ;)

It cost me $20 for 1 small tin of paint (250ml) :unsure:

post-6-1071044960.jpg

SBS_Transit

i agree with terryansimon the pinewood can tahan the weight but one kana water that is somemore u using a fan.

maybe i put a plastic sheet, than i put the tank on top :whistle:phone:

SBS_Transit

urh okay. up to you.

we may be wrong with whatever words of wisdom that we offer. at the end of the day its your tank. have fun with it and just take a glance everytime you look at the tank to see if the thing buldges out or sways in.

like I said, a center beam will do a lot of wonders to load distribution.

What you can do iS to pay more attention to the wood evertime you look at your tank lor. See if the top is agging. Best if you got foam under the tank (SOP) to ease out any slight sag. And look to see if the wood is soaked through. Try and keep the cabinet dry.

In the end, its really up to you. Some people cannot tahan the tension- at night also cannot sleep (basically me) but if you are confident of the strength of the cabinet, then carry on. For all you know, your cabinet might last for years. Its just that for some reefers, the tank is their live lah. Very the precious one, dont play play. :)

Lesson 923:

Do not criticise others tank, setup, method adopted etc….

Best to keep quite or if you really buay tarhan must talk

Must use word such as GOOD, IMPRESSIVE, INNOVATIVE, MARVELLOUS

unless otherwise there is living evidence to support your theory/thoughs

Thats the lesson I learnt ..... <_<

:lol::P:lol::P:lol::P

dino07.gif

let's stop discouraging him. Transit, my tank's is about the same size as yours. U'll need a protein skimmer. because you're keeping quite a lot of fishes. or perhaps when u see ncie corals, u may want to buy. If you're worried about the space the pump will take up, and the heat generated, u can use a external pump. :P U can do it!

I wouldn't take it as discouragement, but a form of constructive criticism. and besides, I think many of us *me included* are genuinely concerned regarding the well being of his tank. (=

but like I said, at the end of the day, its his money and not mine/ours. so if he thinks its safe, no amount of conviction on our part will change that!

then again, we aren't even qualified to say that its not safe. how would we know? maybe he really did brace the cabinet properly. ah you see!

yes SBS_Transit. have fun and pressure forward! okay cheesy 4 SAB motto.