Urban Reef Concept

• Replies 178

A closer look at my favourite purchase today. :wub:

The surprise freebie was the feeder pump that came with the FR. It made the already good deal even sweeter when me and dersuz realised that there was a free pump that came with it (the pump wasn't displayed with the FR at the booth). Bad for bro thomas cos the bigger model he bought did not come with the pump..... *sorry bro it aint our fault* :lol::lol::D

quote]

Ya.. must keep "rubbing" la.. :angry:

But I think it is very very value for money considering this size sell more than double the price paid. :upsidedown:

lol. show us the pump.....lol

not at yr door step huh....lol...thought can go rob things....

1/3 for yr tank.....can go super sps liao.....hehe

not at yr door step huh....lol...thought can go rob things....

Ya actually wanted to place it at my doorstep so some nice corals can welcome me back home, but then measured and realised there was not enough space. So gotta place elsewhere lor.... <_<

rub some more salt...i was referring to your FR pump.......lol....you gave me a shock when you posted ehiem...if buy the FR get one eheim pump....then i think bro thomas will bang wall.....lol

haha alright here goes. My trusted and reliable choice: the Eheim 1262.

Pocket too empty to buy Red Dragon liao... you donate la.... :lol:

post-13004-1244124127.jpg

u pouring water and yr gf taking photo? hehehe. so confirm the LPS to keep huh....but so far, dont see much in the LFS......will help you keep a lookout.

1/3 for yr tank.....can go super sps liao.....hehe

Haha no la bro, i merely re-used the chiller thats all. As long as the water is kept cold, it doesnt matter how powerful the chiller is right? :upsidedown: Anyway this will not be a SPS set-up.

I plan to keep this simple and low in maintenance. :P

u pouring water and yr gf taking photo? hehehe. so confirm the LPS to keep huh....but so far, dont see much in the LFS......will help you keep a lookout.

Wah clever guess huh. I dun need to shop for LPS for now. Got some good stuff to transfer over to the new tank once its up and ready..... :D

But i dun mind updates on location of new gems though.... haha!!

Ok moving on the the next piece of equipment, here is the skimmer that will be doing the "dirty" job.

Shld work just fine for a tank of this size.... :upsidedown:

post-13004-1244124783.jpg

bro, your "SIMPLE" setup dun look simple at all leh given your choice of your equipment. haha..

Nevertheless, cannot wait to see u stock up your tank...

Main Tank: 5 x 1 x 1

Return from overflow: Eheim compact+ 5000

Lighting: 2x 54W T5

Skimmer: Deltec SC 1350

Chiller: Arctica 1/10

Wave Maker: Tunze Nano Wavebox & Tunze 6055 with Photocell
Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
Monitor 2: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor

bro, your "SIMPLE" setup dun look simple at all leh given your choice of your equipment. haha..

Nevertheless, cannot wait to see u stock up your tank...

Aiya not really "high end" equipment liao, considering all the Supermarines/Red Dragons and what-have-you stuff reefers are using these days. Mine are just "proven to be not bad" kinda equipment la, and mostly re-used from the previous set-up also. :paiseh:

Hehe actually i already have some "hidden" stock in my main tank waiting to be moved over to this new tank. I set up the new tank for this very purpose actually, to hold these corals. Some precious gems........ :rolleyes:

Anyway, the tank was finally filled up with NSW on wednesday night, and the next thing was to get some sand for the tank.

I decided once again, to purchase live sand so as to speed up the "cycling" of the tank. In fact, i'll be aiming to introduce everything matured into the tank so that there is no cycling stage to speak of at all. :whistle

Here is my choice: Caribsea Ocean Direct Carribean Live Sand (White)

Wanted to go for white for a change, since my current tank is filled with black sand. ;)

post-13004-1244206239.jpg

I bought 3 packets of the live sand, and in the end, it turned out to be too much for my 75 gallon (280L) set-up. To make things worse for me, these stuff didnt come cheap. :cry:

Will be looking to sell of this extra packet of live sand that i bought. :pirate:

post-13004-1244206515.jpg