SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 wad is the best temp for marine? for reefs and corals.. my chillers manages to keep the temp at 26 thru out the day and lowers to 25 at night... is this good enough? 'm using 2 150W MH, 1 FL(4 feet)[blue] 2x36W 10 000 (blue tudes) my MH is on from 10 am to 9pm... the PLs and Fl is on thruout.. 24hours Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted December 6, 2003 Share Posted December 6, 2003 think its quite ok....stable temperature is more important generally... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 6, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 okok.. i'm only using cl280 for my marine tank... due to budget constrains... wanna use the rest of the budget to get better and nicer corals Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted December 6, 2003 Share Posted December 6, 2003 as long as your chiller can bring it down to that temperature and since you are not paying the electricity bills..is good enough mah.... coz it may mean that the chiller turns on pretty often...but in your case...not your problem hor.... Quote Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 6, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 that's a resun brand.. the worst and the cheapest chiller aroud.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 6, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 hmm.. yeah... that's y i can on my lights 24 hours.. hahaha... electricity also not a prob... only the purchasing of corals that's a prob.. hard to go to the lck side to get the nice corals.. xian 1/2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 6, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 hmmm no budget go for the good ones liek titinium chillers.. teco chillers.. pacific cool also not bad... got budget go for the cheapos lol.. resun cl280 cl450 or cl650.. or sunsun one..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 6, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 yours new tank ar? 4 feet by?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted December 6, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 hey what would be a good chiller for a 4 footer? err...u asking about HP or brand? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 6, 2003 Share Posted December 6, 2003 apparently me and NgaoCi are the only Eido chiller users. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 6, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 6, 2003 in most cases only the sunsun and resun chillers are noisy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 6, 2003 Share Posted December 6, 2003 the noise level is acceptable to me lah. compared to a Teco, its obviously noisy. I have half a mind on upgrading to a more quiet chiller, citing feedback from my mother that the drone drives her crazy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 initally the noise level is low.. but it'll start to become louder and louder Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted December 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 Oh dear... I thought chillers were supposed to be silent cause it's submerged underwater... Are there any chillers available for small small nano reefs like 5 gallon? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted December 7, 2003 Share Posted December 7, 2003 bro...almost all chillers i know are outside the tank or sump unless you dip popsicles into the tank Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NgaoCi Posted December 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 if can be submerged , I wun hv to feel like I'm in a suana room whenever I'm sitting infront of my tank liao Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 hahhaa.. chillers in a tank sudmerge? wad a joke.. hmmm nano tanks ar.. there's a guy selling his in the buy and sell forum.. can check it out there Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member blacknails Posted December 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 Oh wait... So ony heaters are submerged and not chillers ah? I thinking of setting up a nano tank soon and it's in my air con room so I think it'll get cold... Sorry guys... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted December 7, 2003 Share Posted December 7, 2003 quite ok....because when you switch off your aircon...temp will fluctuate....must take that into consideration... too often of that, you'll see your LS develop white spot Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member riot Posted December 7, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 my MH is on from 10 am to 9pm... the PLs and Fl is on thruout.. 24hours Hi Ah Siao, your FLs & PLs are switched on 24hrs? In the main tank? Hmmm wont your corals & fish need any rest? Hows the life stock doing? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 i was advise by this 'old bird'... hmmm yeah.... for your info.. my tank was seen by quite alot of 'old birds' and they give me all the pointers i can get.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dispar_Anthias Posted December 7, 2003 Share Posted December 7, 2003 hmm.. yeah... that's y i can on my lights 24 hours.. hahaha... electricity also not a prob... only the purchasing of corals that's a prob.. hard to go to the lck side to get the nice corals.. xian 1/2 24hrs!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achilles Tang Posted December 7, 2003 Share Posted December 7, 2003 All living creatures need a few hours of sleep... even plants! Your fishes will be extremely stressed if they can't get a period of rest on a daily basis if your lights are always on. Sleep deprivation is a form of torture used by some people... don't do that to your fishes! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted December 7, 2003 Share Posted December 7, 2003 i was advise by this 'old bird'... hmmm yeah.... for your info.. my tank was seen by quite alot of 'old birds' and they give me all the pointers i can get.... all the old birds are from tropical fresh water line sibo..? hehe.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted December 7, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 7, 2003 no la... they are marine old birds... one of them is the boss of pacific marine... the retail shop boss of pacific marine for the accessories.. and a few others.. jon from topic marine also came... yeah yeah.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...