Purple fire goby keep hiding in rock

I have 2 fire goby that keep hiding after i addded a long nose hawkfish and a regal angel. What should i do? buy more fire goby so that they will swim in a school? Anyone has a solution to this? :thanks:

5x2.5x1.5ft Rimless Dream Tank (06/03/12)
Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Return Pump - 1 x Eheim 1264, 1 x water blaster 7k
Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Chiller - Daikin compressor with coil drop in
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)
Reactor - Dosing pump (01/01/11)

I have 2 fire goby that keep hiding after i addded a long nose hawkfish and a regal angel. What should i do? buy more fire goby so that they will swim in a school? Anyone has a solution to this? :thanks:

Give it more time they will eventually come out.

i see cos before i added the 2 new fishes it is not hiding. Hmmm then will they swim in a school if i added more fire goby?

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es
Lighting - 4 x 80w T5 Pair 1(6hrs23/12/12),Pair 2(16/06/12312hrs 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (1/3/12) -(15/11/12)6hrs and 2 x 80w De-lighting Retrofit (13/10/12) -6hrs)

i see cos before i added the 2 new fishes it is not hiding. Hmmm then will they swim in a school if i added more fire goby?

If u want a school u need a big school, like 10 over to 20. If u get 5 or 6 only they will slowly kill each other and reduce to a pair again. I kept a pair with big fishes before also, its jux a matter of time that they will overcome their shyness and come out to the open.

I see, glad to hear that hope my fire goby come out soon. :upsidedown::thanks:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

omg my fire goby come out the rock then my regal chase after it. sian the fire goby run back into the rock. Regal will attack fire goby? regal about 5", fire goby about 2". :huh:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

i got a 3" inch regal with now 2 fire goby, they swim in pair whole day, my regal didn't bother with it (2.5 feet compament)

and what i can see from regal they only "chase" sometimes, they dont really attack..

hope this help

how big is your tank..?

4x2x2.5 i think only left 1 goby the other one gone liao. haiz. :eyeblur:

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

4x2x2.5 i think only left 1 goby the other one gone liao. haiz. :eyeblur:

4ft is definitely a big tank for purple/fire goby. But u hav to know dart fishes (Nemateleotris) are shy and its natural for them to hide a lot and hence the need for lots of hiding places. Also one more bad point is they are territorial and cant be kept in a group. My past experience with fire and purple goby in my 3ft is they can be kept together, but need 2 very big groups, i start with 12 each. Then the number will reduce a bit to a comfortable balance abt 8 is to 10 ratio for me. I provided stone rubbles pile hiding places and they love it but it trap a lot of detritus. I kept angels and wrasses with them and i realise the occasional harassment from these bigger fishes keep the group bonded and reduce the internal aggression. So i think it's ok for the regal angel to occasionally chase after the firefish, but i think 2 is too small a number as with big fishes harrassing them, u need a bigger number to start with and be prepared for a few losses due to internal aggression. Then the leftovers will be a v strong group which appears often. Hope this helps.

i currently have 1 fire goby...

thinking of getting one more purple goby to accompany it...

do you think they will get along well??? :D

currently i oso haf 1 each in my 3 ft, my purple being more established is oways chasing the fire, n the fire will only show face during makan time, its kinda like see one time hantum 1 time :(

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

Give it more time they will eventually come out.

Hee my goby come out liao. both r there. Thanks bro Digiman and all the bro who reply to my post. :thanks::)

Skimmer - Reefoctupus

Wavemaker - 2 x mp40es

Strangely, my purple firefish comes out more often if there's company. if no fish is out about, it'll hide in its favourite hole and come out to eat only.

"Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee)