About CR + pH Controller

wilsontantw

Hi all, need some advice and help on tuning of CR and setting of pH controller...

1) Should i place the pH probe into the CR or sump?? (Or does it even make a difference)

2) What should i set the pH setting (i read on some forum should be about 6.7), however, some others say it should be 8.3?

3) Is it normal if the solenoid only opens for 10mins for every 3 or 4 hours?? And during other periods, there are No bubbles in the bubble counter?

4) Is it necessary to have 2 different pH probes?? 1 for pH controller and another for monitoring tank pH??

Hopefully the questions above makes sense...

TIA.

Hi bro,

the pH probe should be in your CR or secondary chamber. It makes a difference. The reading(depending on your setup) is meant to activate your solenoid valve to allow CO2 to go into your CR which will then melt the media. Inorder to melt the media, CO2 will lower your pH. If yr sump is having that low pH, then yr main tank will is likely to have low pH. That explains why some ppl will use secondary chamber to stablise the pH before allow the water from the CR to go into your sump.

For the actual setting, you might have to tune to achieve your ideal cal level. My understanding is around 6 plus.

Yr solenoid is suppose to be controlled by pH controller. However, some ppl will turn on when lights are on. so far, both methods seem to work.

For the number of pH device, it depends on you. Some will have 3.....lol...you might want to consider getting kalkwaser to balance the pH, etc...

this is my limited knowledge on setup. subject to correction and sharing from more snr reefers. all the best.

Hi bro,

the pH probe should be in your CR or secondary chamber. It makes a difference. The reading(depending on your setup) is meant to activate your solenoid valve to allow CO2 to go into your CR which will then melt the media. Inorder to melt the media, CO2 will lower your pH. If yr sump is having that low pH, then yr main tank will is likely to have low pH. That explains why some ppl will use secondary chamber to stablise the pH before allow the water from the CR to go into your sump.

For the actual setting, you might have to tune to achieve your ideal cal level. My understanding is around 6 plus.

Yr solenoid is suppose to be controlled by pH controller. However, some ppl will turn on when lights are on. so far, both methods seem to work.

For the number of pH device, it depends on you. Some will have 3.....lol...you might want to consider getting kalkwaser to balance the pH, etc...

this is my limited knowledge on setup. subject to correction and sharing from more snr reefers. all the best.

hi bro solo. thanks for the reply.

fortunately for me, the probe is in the CR (it's got no secondary chamber though). And the pH controller is set to turn on at 6.6 actually.

and the strange thing is, the solenoid seems to turn on for just a few short seconds (like 3-5 secs) and it switches off. and it takes quite awhile (10mins) before it comes on again.

i hope that's normal.

btw: should i turn on the CO2 to kick in full blast? or go in drips?

i've actually got myself a KR, just need to clear some space in the sump, it's fully packed now.

and it seems like i need to get another pH meter now.

Go buy PH 7.0 buffer calibration fluid (mine Dymax brand), about 10 bucks. Then calibrate ur ph probe so that its accurate, this has to be done every 6mths or whenever u change media btw. If u dont calibrate the probe the CR will not function as intended n it may screw up ur water stability. When calibrating make sure the PH controller is set to read hor, not the PH setting (u set to 6.6 that one) position. After calibrating wash the tip of probe with clean water, fluid is poisonous.

Also does ur CR come with a 2nd chamber, if not then just get a container with some small rocks or chips n let the CR output drip over the rocks/chips otherwise ur KH will go crazy. Use CR dont really need to use KR btw as long as ur CR got 2nd chamber/DIY secondary media container to stabilise KH.

Personally i've stopped using a CR, balling method much easier n peace of mind. CRs need to tune quite often as over time the tubings either choke or leak. Oh yah, CO2 supply valve crack open a bit can liao dont fully open, the high pressure will burst ur tubings sooner or later. Bubble adjustment ... tune to every sec 1 bubble in the bubble counter unless u keep lots of sps then tune faster 2 per sec. Any questions can just call me u got my number right?

Hope this helps have fun bro~

Go buy PH 7.0 buffer calibration fluid (mine Dymax brand), about 10 bucks. Then calibrate ur ph probe so that its accurate, this has to be done every 6mths or whenever u change media btw. If u dont calibrate the probe the CR will not function as intended n it may screw up ur water stability. When calibrating make sure the PH controller is set to read hor, not the PH setting (u set to 6.6 that one) position. After calibrating wash the tip of probe with clean water, fluid is poisonous.

Also does ur CR come with a 2nd chamber, if not then just get a container with some small rocks or chips n let the CR output drip over the rocks/chips otherwise ur KH will go crazy. Use CR dont really need to use KR btw as long as ur CR got 2nd chamber/DIY secondary media container to stabilise KH.

Personally i've stopped using a CR, balling method much easier n peace of mind. CRs need to tune quite often as over time the tubings either choke or leak. Oh yah, CO2 supply valve crack open a bit can liao dont fully open, the high pressure will burst ur tubings sooner or later. Bubble adjustment ... tune to every sec 1 bubble in the bubble counter unless u keep lots of sps then tune faster 2 per sec. Any questions can just call me u got my number right?

Hope this helps have fun bro~

ah! i dun have 2nd chamber... so yes, i think need to add some rocks/chips to manage the kH. thanks for your advice bro! The KR is also used to lower my phosphate actually.

i'll try to tune it again, and see how it goes. (of coz i still have ur number... )