What is NNR and DSB?

Tanzy

• SRC Member
may i know what is DSB? and NNR?

All the jargons. Me newbie here. Thanks for enlightening me.

DSB = Deep sand bed

NNR = Natural nitrate reduction

DSB is a form of NNR, so is the plenum method (also known as Jaubert method). NNR is a form of nitrate export in the aquarium by using natural denitrification processes found in sand beds or live rocks.

DSB usually involves a layer of sugar fine sand of at least 6" thick. The thick layer of sand allows anoxic and anaerobic layers to develope where denitrification (conversion of nitrate to nitrogen gas or nitrous oxide

which bubbles off into the atmosphere) takes place. The upper oxygenated layers take care of nitrification (convertion of ammonia to nitrite to nitrate") and help consume oxygen and maintain low oxygen concentration for the lower layers.

Plenum or Jaubert or Monaco method, named after Dr. Jean Jaubert of l'Institut Océanographique de Monaco, is quite similar to DSB, except a plenum or a layer of water is maintained at the bottom of the sand bed to prevent anaerobic layers from forming. The sand used is of a coarser grade similar to Size #1 crushed coral.

What DSB and Plenum method is trying to acheive is low or almost zero nitrate concentration in the water to simulate natural reef conditions. This low level of nitrates prevent algae blooms, improve coral growth and reduces stress on tank inhabitants.

post-36-1093875548.jpg

Warning: Heavy handed moderator in operation. Threads and post are liable to be deleted or moved without prior notification.

Moderator's prerogative will be enforced.

Any grievances or complains should be addressed to The Administrator.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/uploads/post-36-1073276974.gif post-36-1073276974.gif

• SRC Member

Valleyman,