Brick stand ???

• Replies 63

One point to make. if every reefer follow the HDB regulations, The would not be reef tanks bigger then 3x2x2 in HDB flat liao. 3x2x2 with sump, DSB and live rocks plus cabinet and chiller weights more then 600KG liaoz. HDB is 600kg/ room

I have seen people keeping arowana with 2 2tier 6x2x2 tinks in their living room! over 2 ton liaoz

But true. I also reluctant to put a 6 footer in my living room. kiasi. It is not illegal unles you are caught. But I scared get caught leh!! haik haik :lol:  :lol:

yeah...lor , my friends uncle keep 2 tier 6ft X 2 1/2 X 2 1/2 and another 4ft beside.....wha...piang...say! More heavy then mine and my 4 ft kenna alot of talk recently....he..he. HDB said as long as place against wall where underneath have beam is safe...don't know how true but we never follow....he..he..kenna caught sure die one! :lol:

I think the concrete blocks thing is good if you have a fish room.. so your tank is in the wall, then no point having a nice cabinet or stand or anything, just something rock solid can liao..

In fact can just ask the contractor to do up a concrete structure for your stand, reinforced concrete of course.... so it'll be nice and flat..

But of course not too sure about weight problems esp in HDBs..

according to one of roidan's post, if your tank is supported by metal stand it must not be bigger than 4ft by 2ft by 2ft.

if its by cabinet support, then it can be up to 6ft by 2ft by 2ft I think.

Oh really...? Yeah....I think theres something regarding the stress points with iron wrought stands maybe. :unsure:

I think the concrete blocks thing is good if you have a fish room.. so your tank is in the wall, then no point having a nice cabinet or stand or anything, just something rock solid can liao..

In fact can just ask the contractor to do up a concrete structure for your stand, reinforced concrete of course.... so it'll be nice and flat..

But of course not too sure about weight problems esp in HDBs..

Actually....with a solid brick stand or a concrete one will be more added existing weight on an apartment like ours. I guess we actually never follow anything concerning the rules. People keep piling the tanks on top of one another.... :lol:

According to the HDB site. Anything on stands or cabinet cannot exceed 600kg. If placed on floor can have a lot more. Legally we need to apply for a permit for anything above 600kg with est weight, floor plan, where it is to be placed. Pending approval. for marine with sump, anything above 3x2x2 or 4x1.5x1.5 with sump/DSB/LR/cabinet will excced 600 liaoz. This is due to loading restriction of HDB. Andthing on stand & cabinet, the weight is concentrated at only a few points(the legs / cabinet will be the coners). Where for floor placement (pond) can go up to 6x3x1.5(ithink) without applying permit as the weight is evenly spread out. Can view the HDB website for more info :cry::cry::cry::cry:

those of us who have over that amount don't really see the need in getting any approval...he..he :lol: While other people keep piling their 6ft into tiers....... :whistle

hi.... is brick stand allowed to be made in your own house ??

i am planning to do like the paradiz reef like that ??

is there any disadvantage in the design ???

reply asap thanks :thanks:

thought of the idea before but.. very trouble some to make. u need a lot of skill to do it and make sure that it is level cos the concrete slabs may not be level

ORDed

back to studies and reefing again..

hey....cool it....i got one good cabinet for my first marine tank....for 3 years...dont worry.....i didnt think this would be an emotional thread........i am just wondering only......btw.....i got some contacts in the brick industry and since concrete is strong enouch to support the weight of a whole flat why not just a tank......