Brick stand ???

• Replies 63

PR uses concrete slabs and not bricks actually... there is also a chance that the slabs would not be of the same height so u might get a slightly tilted tank... ;)

thanks for all the replys.....so can eh.....ok...will be setting it up by next year....if no other obstruction....roughly how much is that concrete slab thingy ???? besides being not perfectly straight what other disadvantages are there ??? :thanks:

A number of reason I can think of.

Some like the raw look

Stronger then wood

Very economical

Good if you planning a fish room with multiple tanks

Cabinet bloody ex

Can change to any height/length

Do need carpenter

But if putting in leaving room, might not be suitable unless look match

Cons:

Very very heavy

Look might not be suitable for house decor

no doors unless modification made.

Have to tranport the concrete slabs home! (must rent pickup liao.)

Have to be careful leveling the tank with wood pieces.

AND EVRY VERY HEAVY

Very economical

Cabinet bloody ex

If it is for the above reasons, do yourself and the fish/invertebrates a favour, stay of of this hobby. If you are not even willing to spend on something as cheap as a tank/cabinet, the reef/marine fish hobby is not for you. It is a very expensive hobby.

To cut corners, you have to know what you are doing. If you do not know what you are doing, as evidenced by polling the public for opinions for something as simple as building a tank/rack, you have a good chance of ending up being penny wise and pound foolish.

If it is for the above reasons, do yourself and the fish/invertebrates a favour, stay of of this hobby. If you are not even willing to spend on something as cheap as a tank/cabinet, the reef/marine fish hobby is not for you. It is a very expensive hobby.

To cut corners, you have to know what you are doing. If you do not know what you are doing, as evidenced by polling the public for opinions for something as simple as building a tank/rack, you have a good chance of ending up being penny wise and pound foolish.

I am just answering a question. I have spend like 3k plus on my 3 ft marine tank providing my corals and fish with the proper enviroment to grow. 40+kg of live rocks(more coming), chiller and MH lights. And I have 3 tanks to care for.

You do not know how to make a stand does not mean others dont. So instead of asking other to get out of the hobby, why dont you ask yourself.

Spending is easy. Does not mean you spend 10k on marine your fish will be happy. Unless you contract a company to maintain your tank.

So dont lecture me about being penny wise and pound silly. The stand does not affect the fish. in fact if you are thinking for the fish, you should use a crecrete stand. Wood can rot and break. Why dont you move out of you CONCRETE apartment/house and move to a WOODEN one. Just get a good carpenter to make it beatiful lor.

If you are so loaded, thats your bloody problem. Why dont you show us you TITANIUM STAND. You dont want to cut corners rite, get a 20mm thick tank and buy a TITANIUM ALLOY STAND la. Sure wont break one. Cheaper ways does not mean it dont work.

I say cabinte ex becos it is. You go get a qoute for Oak (for safety reason) and come tell me it is cheap lor. A few thousand for a cabinet is cheap to you then good for you lor. Since you so loaded what can I say.

Normal cabinet here are mostly made from sub standard material. Mail ply wood and cheap solid wood as brace. A few hundred. But try a qoute for oak.

guys...the guy was just asking about the adv and disadv of using bricks or concrete....he could be setting up one soon

nobody knows the reason behind it, he didnt even say he is trying to cut cost..

relax lah....

It is not the stand, it is the spirit of trying to cut corners without knowing how to, that is causing unnecessary deaths in this hobby.

Didn't meant the original posting as a lecture, so take it cool.

The spirit? Then you should get to know what a person id doing first. You dont even know that then dont ask people to leave the hobby. If trying to warn new comers that it a ex hobby, pharse it properly. This hobby is about patient and investment in proper equipment. I agree. But I am also a DIY fanatic.

You qouted me and maybe you are trying to warn other but to me this is directed at me.

relax lah buddy. I'm sure he means no harm lah. Anyway with regards to the brick idea, I think it'll look very good espcially if it is a big tank. Hv seen pictures in the past of 10 footer tank built on brick support , very beautiful.

A word of caution, I think if you are staying in house maybe not so much prob.

I think for apartment , u better check the safety aspect. This is especially so for hdb.

I say cabinte ex becos it is. You go get a qoute for Oak (for safety reason) and come tell me it is cheap lor. A few thousand for a cabinet is cheap to you then good for you lor. Since you so loaded what can I say.

Normal cabinet here are mostly made from sub standard material. Mail ply wood and cheap solid wood as brace. A few hundred. But try a qoute for oak.

nobody uses Oak for cabinet material because of the fact that its frigging expensive, its grains will be wasted in doing something like a concealed cabinet and its probably not as water proof as chennai cabinet.

Tanggy. there is no reason for you to blow of steam at such a manner. sure, pacificbetta's advice may be harsh and all. but its true to a certain extent. if one adopts such a mentality as to "cut corners and all", such a mentality may be brought forward to the other aspects of fish keeping as well. thereby hindering the cultivation of proper husbandry.

I'm sure pacificbetta meant no malice in terms of the posting and all. it may have seem harshed. but it was straight forward, and he or she didn't beat around the bush. so just relax, cool down and don't let something like that spoil your day. by showing that you're worked up over something like that, may prompt other "flamers" to come PM you and flood you with ridiculous messages. if you get my drift. don't worry, I wouldn't be one of them. I'll get someone else to do it for me. :P

but yah, I have to agree with pacificbetta in this case. and actually, bricks do not offer that much of an advantage over cabinet. pound for pound, they are heavier and more brittle and not tolerant to sudden structural change. wood is more forgiving as it conforms slightly to the weight. bricks don't. it wouldn't match the decor of the house, and you may be exceeding the weight limit imposed by HDB.

long of the short of it. cool down! everybody's entitled to his or her own opinion and firing of at someone because his opinion doesn't suit yours isn't nice. cheers! (=

nobody uses Oak for cabinet material because of the fact that its frigging expensive, its grains will be wasted in doing something like a concealed cabinet and its probably not as water proof as chennai cabinet.

Go search the web for DIY cabinet. Especially those hardcore American Reef Tanks and see if they use oak. It is not that no one use oaks, just too frigging expensive here. I am not against cabinets, I am planning a 5/6footer with chengnai wood cabinet.

Just that most cabinets found here except for a few makers, are made from chip board or plywood. Even if you get a Jewel tank, the cabinet is made from chip board. So why would I spend a thousand dollars on plywood. When even a WI if properly coated with anti rust/expoxy paint will be stronger.

Plus there are a lot of young people out ther who has the heart but not the financial capabilty to afford expensive equipement. I have see beautiful reef tanks using nothing but an airstone and UGF. So I would stay open to all ways to do things so long as it get you there.

A BMW 7 series will get you to a location, but so will a hyudai. You are not any safer in a BWM then a hyudai if you are a shit driver rite? so I just think it's the driver and not the car. :P:P:P:P

Tanggy. there is no reason for you to blow of steam at such a manner. sure, pacificbetta's advice may be harsh and all. but its true to a certain extent. if one adopts such a mentality as to "cut corners and all", such a mentality may be brought forward to the other aspects of fish keeping as well. thereby hindering the cultivation of proper husbandry.

The problem is the language. Dun sound like warning other but like directed at me.

I'm sure pacificbetta meant no malice in terms of the posting and all. it may have seem harshed. but it was straight forward, and he or she didn't beat around the bush. so just relax, cool down and don't let something like that spoil your day. by showing that you're worked up over something like that, may prompt other "flamers" to come PM you and flood you with ridiculous messages. if you get my drift. don't worry, I wouldn't be one of them. I'll get someone else to do it for me. .

We have PM and have understood his/her meaning.

but yah, I have to agree with pacificbetta in this case. and actually, bricks do not offer that much of an advantage over cabinet. pound for pound, they are heavier and more brittle and not tolerant to sudden structural change. wood is more forgiving as it conforms slightly to the weight. bricks don't. it wouldn't match the decor of the house, and you may be exceeding the weight limit imposed by HDB.

I was not refering to bricks but cement slabs. I have stated in my original answer that it is heavy. stronger but heavy.

long of the short of it. cool down! everybody's entitled to his or her own opinion and firing of at someone because his opinion doesn't suit yours isn't nice. cheers! (=

True, jus pharse it so it wont be son harsh and target people. He/she may not have meant it but words might get misinterpreted. Make better use of ###### expression to get you message accross. Why dont we jus end it here and forget about the matter.