wat is good for sump?

hi all,

i need ur advice, especially those with lotsa knowledge in filter medias. i'm setting up a sump for my 4ft x 1.5ft x 1.5ft, but i'n not sure wat to use as filter media. some say bio balls is good some say ceramic ring. recently someone told me that coral chip is the best.

ur opition please..!!

cheers,

james

great and I have one big bale of wool filter.

nevermind. can still use. put it under my polyfilter. if I do get that is.

eh next time I go petmart I give you a call lah. then can meet up lim kopi.

:) No problem.. If you need help getting anything there, I can help.. sometimes auntie give me special discount :)

Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson

Coral chip is calcium carbonate and zeolite is alumina. They are not the same thing.

Coral chip can help maintain calcium levels only in a calcium reactor. It won't dissolve or buffer the water for you in seawater.

You don't need any of those in the sump. Nothing!

Coral chip can help maintain calcium levels only in a calcium reactor. It won't dissolve or buffer the water for you in seawater.

You don't need any of those in the sump. Nothing!

hi tanzy, then u mean the whole sump empty ... ?? i know bio balls and ceramic rings are nitrate factorys ... so they are out for me ... coz i dun want to change water like the fress water fish ..

so far i noe is DSB and a skimmer .. wat else can i put .. ?? some say LRs.. ??

james

Why do you feel a need to put things in the sump? If you really want, you can use it as a refugium to grow some macroalgae.

:) Another filter media that I will not omit is polyfilter

Poly Filter Good.Where can get ?How much is it?

Regards

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Hey, Guys so Can I say...we can use those Lapis freshwater sand for the marine aquarium as well...? Then does the Ca Co3 sand...increase hardness of FRESHWater? But how can it..if water is not acidic.?