SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 Hi fellow reefers, I will be doing a tank transfer on the 20th of Dec. I will be moving my current LS from my 4ft tank to a 3ft. I estimate the time needed to complete the whole transfer process in one week time - to the time the LS would be placed in the new tank. But during the time I will require a temporary storage place to put the LS. So I was hoping any kind soul that have an extra tub can borrow me for the period? Kam siah Kam siah Kevin Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 4, 2003 Share Posted December 4, 2003 I have a brand new 2ft lying around. meant to be my hospital tank. you want? big enough for you? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 bro, but I do have a fair amount of LR plus LS so was thinking of getting those big plastic tub. Some more yours is a new tank, *paiseh* .. But appreciate it again.. Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 4, 2003 Share Posted December 4, 2003 nevermind one lah. scratch the tank, I take 10kg liverock back lor. fair mah. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 I fear that I will have no more LR when my tank is ready Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 4, 2003 Share Posted December 4, 2003 oh no more liverock? aiyah I'm not so evil. maybe just leave one or two small pieces for you to play marble with. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 how long do you need it. I have a round tub about over 12 inch and suppose to hold about 100 l . is that good enough? Bro, pm you Hi fellow reefers, sorry I forget to include the size of the tub I may need. I was looking in the region with the capacity of about 300plus Litres people Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 oh no more liverock? aiyah I'm not so evil. maybe just leave one or two small pieces for you to play marble with. Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member hoppinghippos Posted December 4, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 Hi fellow reefers, I will be doing a tank transfer on the 20th of Dec. I will be moving my current LS from my 4ft tank to a 3ft. I estimate the time needed to complete the whole transfer process in one week time - to the time the LS would be placed in the new tank. But during the time I will require a temporary storage place to put the LS. So I was hoping any kind soul that have an extra tub can borrow me for the period? Kam siah Kam siah Kevin actually your time will be cut down... if you transfer all your LS to MY 3ft... heh.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 4, 2003 Share Posted December 4, 2003 how on earth are you going to bring the 3ft back home. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 actually your time will be cut down... if you transfer all your LS to MY 3ft... heh.... Hippos, I can pass you my DAMSELS Hey, when can I view your tank? Think we both set up about the same time Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 how on earth are you going to bring the 3ft back home. The initial plan was to get three of my Biggest size frens to assist in the moving and I become the foreman Then again, I didn't want to take the risk so gona get some contact from Arofanatics to move the tank Price reasonable and ease of mind. Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 4, 2003 Share Posted December 4, 2003 ah yes. eye power on your part. got insurance or not? sekali kenna scratch or something Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 4, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 4, 2003 ah yes. eye power on your part. got insurance or not? sekali kenna scratch or something I have yet to call the mover.. will do so tomorrow. BTW, can help me check with your mover how much would it cost to move a 3ft tank with cabinet? Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 4, 2003 Share Posted December 4, 2003 sorry ah kevin. my mover = my tank maker and his workers. comes with the tank. hehz. I paid a bit of extra lah. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crab Posted December 5, 2003 Share Posted December 5, 2003 huskiesg, just a suggestion, buy an inflatable pool from Toy-R-Us at $20+. It is 300+ litre. I did that for major water changes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alex_gan Posted December 5, 2003 Share Posted December 5, 2003 Crab, you really buy the plastic pool and transfer it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 5, 2003 Share Posted December 5, 2003 if the liverock has a sharp edge, better be careful about such plastic pools. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crab Posted December 5, 2003 Share Posted December 5, 2003 Crab, you really buy the plastic pool and transfer it? yes, that's the best i can find with such capacity. Good thing is they can be compressed for storage, unlike tub which is so bulky. terryansimon, I only use it for mixing salt water. I doubt life rocks can pierce it, the material is quite durable. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nicky30092002 Posted December 5, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted December 5, 2003 for me I buy those rectangular tubs/container wif clip on cover from NTUC abt 4 of them to contain the 80Kg of LRs each cost 9.9sgd, syrofoam box which is smaller in size oreadi cost 5bucks. (each abt 2ftx1.5x1.5 size) Somemore can reuse for other purpose! eg. neater storage in store room. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
terryansimon Posted December 5, 2003 Share Posted December 5, 2003 oh okay. how I mixed salt in this raw tank of mine was to dump the salt into the compartment where the skimmer was. dumped it all in and then run a hose from my toilet to the tank and then just pump it up. the idea of mixing it bucket by bucket for a 4ft tank. wah. shiong siah. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sponsor Glare Posted December 5, 2003 Sponsor Share Posted December 5, 2003 I have 3 of those big plastic circular tubs I bought from toyogo for transferring LS and LR purpose. If you want I can lend it to you. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 5, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 5, 2003 sorry ah kevin. my mover = my tank maker and his workers. comes with the tank. hehz. I paid a bit of extra lah. Actually, I am contemplating between those professional house movers or the tank mover advertise on arofanatics. The professional house movers are quite exp but they gave me the assurance that safe delivery is guaranteed and insured for. I have yet to call the other fellow due to work.. I will consolidate all my options tomorrow Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 5, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 5, 2003 huskiesg, just a suggestion, buy an inflatable pool from Toy-R-Us at $20+. It is 300+ litre. I did that for major water changes. Will the plastic pool leach anything back to the SW? Seems a good option but just curious about the concern. Then after the transfer, can soak myself in the pool Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member huskiesg Posted December 5, 2003 Author SRC Member Share Posted December 5, 2003 for me I buy those rectangular tubs/container wif clip on cover from NTUC abt 4 of them to contain the 80Kg of LRs each cost 9.9sgd, syrofoam box which is smaller in size oreadi cost 5bucks. (each abt 2ftx1.5x1.5 size) Somemore can reuse for other purpose! eg. neater storage in store room. I wanted to use one big storage to place all the LS and LR as it is going to be there for at least a few days so will be running filtration and skimming. Too many containers used, later mum long face Quote Life is a Cruel Teacher. It punishes you first and then gives you the lesson Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...