My desktop nano reef

curahee

Bro so far its doing a gd job for my zoas, i can see growth and spreading of zoa. Anyway why u wanna change? T5 not gd enuf? Ur zoas grow very well and gorgeous lei.

Unfortunately, not all of them are doing well... based on personal experience, I found that certain zoas like strong lighting, while most prefer less. Growth wise, I found mine to be rather slow, so that's the reason why I'm considering a switch. Read that the 14k bulb is "blue" enough on its own, so it ok without supplementary actinic lighting. What's your opinion on this?

Yeah.. I am also wondering if I should get a 14k or 20k bulb

The 12k on display at AM's viper lighting over the 24gallon tank seems to be quite warm in terms of colour... so just get the 20k and see what's the effect... :eyebrow:

Hello bro sorry for late reply. My old setup SPS all gone long ago after i do a major WC to curb my nitrate level, give up on SPS and now my current setup only LPS, ric florida and zoa. Will post some pic later.

My tank nitrate problem also solve after i dose vodka daily, nitrate level from 50 drop to zero, :eyebrow: beside that i can feed my coral very heavily daily with various coral food without any nitrate problem and my coral can be well fed at the same time as compare to last time.

Curahee, could you teel us how your dosing vodka? I've been thinking of doing the same,I have an AP 12, thank you

Phil

Hi bro, i nv use aqualight clip on MH hence i can't do any comparison. :paiseh:

As for the second question, it depend on what coral u wanna keep, if keeping sps of coz 150 watt will be better. I have k1 and k2 and use both on my current setup and i nv notice any significant changes, the reason why i change back to 150 watt is becoz i cannot find any shop that carry 70 watt MH bulb, been to many lfs and all say they dun carry 70 watt MH bulb. Hence this is another issue when using 70 watt MH. Any bro got any lobang where carry 70 watt 20k MH pls let me know ya :thanks: Anyway If i have a 45 cm cube, i will opt for a 150 watt.

bro u can go to ah boy motorshop there kitchener rd beside the muti storey carpark entrance is one lighting shop they carry MH as well and 70watt also as i got ask before

Bro sorry for late reply. Yeah same tot. 14k imo is blue enuf. Last time i also using 14k, now my hand itchy use 20k. Wanna test how well it fare as compare to 14k. Imo i feel 20k and 14k not much difference in term of blue, only blue a bit

bro u can go to ah boy motorshop there kitchener rd beside the muti storey carpark entrance is one lighting shop they carry MH as well and 70watt also as i got ask before

Thanks bro. Since i got lobang for 70 watt bulb replacement, can use my 70 watt MH for another nano setup in future :P

Hi bro, check with you. Do you think 70W MH will be too much for my 2Gal Pico tank with zoas, mushrooms, 3 sexy shrimps and 1 clown goby? I always had this idea to get a clip on but afraid the $$ spent would do more harm than good. Appreciate if you can share your opinion.

Thanks.

: )