Aiptasia and other corals ID help needed!

Hi everyone,

I'm a real newbie and have recently read about Aiptasia, so i was looking around my tank for it. To my horror, i found a couple that were close to 1cm in diameter.

Are these Aiptasia?

aiptasia1.jpg

aiptasia2.jpg

If they are indeed Aiptasia, what are the recommended ways to get rid of them?

I've read of several methods like using a syringe to suck them out, using a syringe to pump boiling water onto them, using peppermint shrimps or hermits. Which would be the recommended and safest way to rid them? I dont wanna try one method only to have them reproduce because i didnt remove them properly. I have corals and fishes in my 2 month old tank, hence i prefer to avoid chemicals..

2nd ID help:

Any idea what these are? Bought them recently, and placed them on my sandbed. Looks like aiptasia, but i dont think it is, and if it is, the shop wouldnt sell them. Any suggestions for making them grow from the rock they are on, and onto my sand bed?

img1531e.jpg

3rd ID:

Bought these a while back, and the shop told me it was a branch Octo. I couldnt find much info on it on the internet. I guess the name was wrong. I beleive it belongs to the hammer family. From the picture you cant really see, but it has 2 round heads..

octobranch.jpg

Thanks!!

• Senior Reefer

yes those are aiptasias. u can try peppermint shrimps, copperband butterfly or seagrass filefish if u want to avoid chemicals. injecting them with a super concentrated solution of calcium or kalkwasser will dissolve them instanty. but becarenot not to get that on ur corals.

the 2nd ID is a protopalythoa. commonly known as yellow polyps. they are hardy and can spread very quickly. related to palys and zoas