Binosage's 24G nano tank

albinosage

Been very busy lately :P

Quite a few changes and events happened to my tank, so I'll just update on what's missing first, pics coming up later.

1. Lyretail Hawkfish migrated to a bigger tank in the office.

2. Yumas not doing well, some melted or lost their colour :(

3. Lost the eagle eye and most of the yellow zoa colony to fungus :(

4. Introduced a purple fire goby to my tank.

5. !!!!!

6. Eaten up by the blotchy anthias 30 minutes later! *%@#&$%

Managed to rescue the purple fire goby by chasing the anthias around the tank and eventually goby was spit out (goby's head was sticking out of the mouth). Housed the goby to the office while I looked for a new owner for the blotchy anthias. :evil:

I also had a fight with red slime algae the past month, my nitrate seems to have doubled ever since I stopped doing water change with NSW and used salt mix instead :(. Maybe the natural bacteria and micro organisms in the NSW promotes a healthier system than with salt mix. :unsure:

This is the purple fire goby finally nursed back to health:

post-15730-1245228462.jpg

post-15730-1245228602.jpg

The constant scowl on his face is almost like he's still pissed off at having a near death experience :angry:

post-15730-1245228559.jpg

post-15730-1245228575.jpg

Pictures are a bit blur cos he's quite tiny, about 1.5 to 2 inch in length. Looks damn cute la, no wonder it is so popular. Reminds me of an angry transvestite with badly drawn lipstick hahahahaha!

The decision to sell the blotchy anthias was a no brainer, even though it is much more expensive than the goby and I waited very long for such a beautiful and healthy fish — I always side with the underdog :evil:

Another one of my purchases.... Wait, what's there?

post-15730-1245229023.jpg

Nassarius snail, bought a pair of them, sneaky like ninjas!

post-15730-1245229116.jpg

A pic of an old but seldom seen friend, the marble star:

post-15730-1245229221.jpg

Pregnant cleaner shrimp hanging on the flat live rock with the only survivor of the zoa pox, sneak preview of my next purchase at the left corner :P:

post-15730-1245229292.jpg

By the way, does anyone know how to get rid of the red bamboo permanently? They are growing out all over my live rocks... sian....

My pricey little anemone — another ninja, each time it settles in a nice spot and I want to take photos, it will move around and find a new spot :D

post-15730-1245229377.jpg

Clown fish doesn't want to host on it, but this guy is quick to move house hahaha!

post-15730-1245229492.jpg

Nice update. Your red fire goby is really.. lol :lol:

Have u tried your 9002 yet? I've had too much with my 24G now and kinda fed up with it already <_< I don't think the IOS can deal with the high bio load for the long run and i have enough of changing water everyweek to reduce nitrates. Awaiting for the arrival of my 2ft starphire cube :lol:

ORDed

back to studies and reefing again..

Very nice, bro.

Ready to add some shimmer into your tank? :eyebrow:

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

My pricey little anemone — another ninja, each time it settles in a nice spot and I want to take photos, it will move around and find a new spot :D

post-15730-1245229377.jpg

Clown fish doesn't want to host on it, but this guy is quick to move house hahaha!

post-15730-1245229492.jpg

The anemone looks like a ric... :eyebrow:

Been very busy lately :P

Quite a few changes and events happened to my tank, so I'll just update on what's missing first, pics coming up later.

1. Lyretail Hawkfish migrated to a bigger tank in the office.

2. Yumas not doing well, some melted or lost their colour :(

3. Lost the eagle eye and most of the yellow zoa colony to fungus :(

4. Introduced a purple fire goby to my tank.

5. !!!!!

6. Eaten up by the blotchy anthias 30 minutes later! *%@#&$%

Managed to rescue the purple fire goby by chasing the anthias around the tank and eventually goby was spit out (goby's head was sticking out of the mouth). Housed the goby to the office while I looked for a new owner for the blotchy anthias. :evil:

I also had a fight with red slime algae the past month, my nitrate seems to have doubled ever since I stopped doing water change with NSW and used salt mix instead :(. Maybe the natural bacteria and micro organisms in the NSW promotes a healthier system than with salt mix. :unsure:

For Red slime problems you can try the Red slime remover i still have lots of left overs if you want... :upsidedown: Its not bad but u might need an external source of oxygenating your water more as it will lower the amt of dissolved oxygen in ur tank... An airstone will do the job for ya... :D

Or you can get sea hare from Henry.

They are great red slime worker

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

Have u tried your 9002 yet? I've had too much with my 24G now and kinda fed up with it already <_< I don't think the IOS can deal with the high bio load for the long run and i have enough of changing water everyweek to reduce nitrates. Awaiting for the arrival of my 2ft starphire cube :lol:

So fast itchy for a new tank liao? hahaha. I just did some finishing touches on my skimmer, gonna start using it this weekend, will update if it's a success. How high is your bioload? You keeping 20 fishes is it? lol

I find that mine is okay, with 5 to 6 fishes, my nitrate is between 5 to 10 ppm, now it's 20ppm, I suspect a snail or something died somewhere, causing the nutrient spike.

WOW... this piece is really quite something!

close to 3 digit???

Yup, close to 3 digits, waited quite long to find the right size, so just buy, didn't think hahaha. Had a chance to buy one a couple of months back at less than 2 red notes, but too bad, it was too big for my tank.

Anyway, I'm sorry, the frag I promised you disappeared already, in fact the rest of them lost their colour :(

Very nice, bro.

Ready to add some shimmer into your tank? :eyebrow:

Yes yes please hahaha. Pm-ed you, will probably get it done early next month when I'm free. Now you know where my GST credit is going haha.

The anemone looks like a ric... :eyebrow:

It's a red bubble tip anemone, much bigger than a ric, I think the angle makes it look like la haha.

For Red slime problems you can try the Red slime remover i still have lots of left overs if you want...

Thanks for the offer, I kind of solved the problem by doing water changes and removing a thin layer of sand to prevent the spores from propogating. Damn kek sim, to see my pristine white sand bed turn brown and red haha.

I think must be the weather and especially scorching sun, the fresh water and marine tanks in my office also kena algae bloom.

My bioload is 7. Getting nuisance algae like red slime too cos i use tapwater for water changes.. Stopped buying distilled water cos damn troublesome and costly >< Should I use NSW for my new tank?

BTW how do you keep your nitrates so low?

ORDed

back to studies and reefing again..

BTW how do you keep your nitrates so low?

Wah, good question, I'm asking myself that also LOL! I seriously have no idea. I think it's a combination of biohome as bio media, chaeto, low bioload, controlled feeding with minimal wastage, weekly water change of 20%. Also, I cycled my tank properly when I started, and have been very disciplined in introducing fishes slowly, giving the denitrifying bacteria a chance to grow steadily.

Started using my Tunze skimmer yesterday night, within 10 hours, there's 60ml of chinese tea coloured skim mate. The performance is really superb for a nano skimmer, considering the only other nano skimmer I ever used was a Boyu, which took 1 whole week to collect the same amount of skim mate that's almost clear coloured. Thick bubbles are also produced almost instantly, overflowing into the collection cup.

Here's some pics from this morning, 10 hours after operating:

post-15730-1245483249.jpg

post-15730-1245483255.jpg

Wah, good question, I'm asking myself that also LOL! I seriously have no idea. I think it's a combination of biohome as bio media, chaeto, low bioload, controlled feeding with minimal wastage, weekly water change of 20%. Also, I cycled my tank properly when I started, and have been very disciplined in introducing fishes slowly, giving the denitrifying bacteria a chance to grow steadily.

Started using my Tunze skimmer yesterday night, within 10 hours, there's 60ml of chinese tea coloured skim mate. The performance is really superb for a nano skimmer, considering the only other nano skimmer I ever used was a Boyu, which took 1 whole week to collect the same amount of skim mate that's almost clear coloured. Thick bubbles are also produced almost instantly, overflowing into the collection cup.

Here's some pics from this morning, 10 hours after operating:

post-15730-1245483249.jpg

post-15730-1245483255.jpg

Show the skimmate and nobody gets hurt... :ph34r::pirate::P

super lol. tranny wif badly drawn lipstick hmm....i think i saw ur fish somewhere near the durians at a certain street..

LOL! I thought transvestites don't hang out there anymore? Nevermind, I don't need to know. HAHAHA.

Show the skimmate and nobody gets hurt... :ph34r::pirate::P

Skimmate fetish eh? Hahaha.

7 hours of skimming:

post-15730-1245641613.jpg

Added another mod to my DIY skimmer collection cup: Bubble deflector. In total, the entire collection cup costs me less than $1 to make! :idea:

post-15730-1245641704.jpg

post-15730-1245641856.jpg

Having the deflector really helps create more skim mate, as the foam is deflected to the sides and down the shaft. Previously, the foam just rises and rises until most of it hits the cover and burst and go back down the shaft.

Here is a crappy artist's impression of how it is supposed to help (Very bored and free yesterday lah :upsidedown: ):

post-15730-1245641924.jpg

Latest FTS, from another angle to show the rock structure:

post-15730-1245642581.jpg

Miscellaneous shots that don't really show anything:

Seahorse and Zoa...

post-15730-1245642633.jpg

Left side of the tank...

post-15730-1245642650.jpg

LOL! I thought transvestites don't hang out there anymore? Nevermind, I don't need to know. HAHAHA.

Skimmate fetish eh? Hahaha.

7 hours of skimming:

post-15730-1245641613.jpg

Not skimmate fetish la... no money buy kopi so see kopi oso fun... :lol:

Wah don't suan me leh, you buy deltec skimmer yet no money to buy kopi, so that makes me too poor to even buy ice kosong HAHAHAHA :paiseh:

Now a days kopi is expensive and difficult to make black black one... even my deltec kopi is just slightly darker than ur nia... :whistle