Tankwater turned hazy

seamonkee

I am using a 2217 canister filter for a 2x1.5x1.5 feet tank.

Yesterday, I changed the cottonwool pad, charcoal, polymer pad and also added phosguard to the media bag in the filter. I then connect back everything and let the filter run...

After some time, the water turned hazy. (Not really cloudy but appeared hazy). I thought it will be ok by tomorrow morning but when I woke up, the water in the tank was still hazy...

Any remedy for this? or is this normal...

Normally using canister will take sometime to get the

water clear back again. Is not as efficient as overflow system.

Guess you have to wait for a while.....

Errrr... Actually I am just checking whether what I am experiencing is normal since this is the first time after six months I am changing the filter media... and I see hazy water for the very first time...

I know the pros of overflow systems and sumps over canister... Hope u dun mind but I see the need for me to clarify what advice or answers exactly I am looking for in case this thread turns into a debate on overflow systems vs canisters... ;)

Thanks anyway, bro... :)

Just a one pointer ....since you changed your filter media, did you rinse your charcoal once or twice ? Is part of your filter media new ones ? If yes, did you rinse them thoroughly.

A friend of mine recently suffered similar problem during filter media change. Root cause was he did not rinse charcoal once and did not rinse thoroughly on his new bio-ceramic media.

Hope you tank will be clear soon ! Cheers! :yeah:

Just a one pointer ....since you changed your filter media, did you rinse your charcoal once or twice ? Is part of your filter media new ones ? If yes, did you rinse them thoroughly.

A friend of mine recently suffered similar problem during filter media change. Root cause was he did not rinse charcoal once and did not rinse thoroughly on his new bio-ceramic media.

Hope you tank will be clear soon ! Cheers! :yeah:

Actually I thot of that too... I rinsed the new stuff (pad, charcoal and all). Probably didn't do a good rinsing job...

I guess it's pretty normal. Just came from work... less hazy now but can be better.... thanks! :)

To minimise tank contamination fromthose "gunk" release from inner pipe surface, I use a rinse and clean white cloth bag (those meant for HDB tap). I tie it onto the outlet hose with rubberband.

:idea: Voila ! "Gunk" all stuck inside the white cloth bag...those you will experience a slightly slower outlet flow due to resistance. Remove the white cloth bag, all brownish color man! Works for me !

P/S : You can get those white cloth bags at $1.00 for six pieces.

He...He..Cheers! :eyebrow:

Er... mine not gunk... it's just hazy "smokey" lookinh water..

I suspect it's the effect from a new cottonwool pad....

Anyway, my tank is now very clear... but it sure takes a long time... 24 hrs or more! :lol:

Er... mine not gunk... it's just hazy "smokey" lookinh water..

I suspect it's the effect from a new cottonwool pad....

Anyway, my tank is now very clear... but it sure takes a long time... 24 hrs or more! :lol:

Glad that it's clear.

My guess of the reason is that you change all the filter media, hence, created an unbalance amount of the bacterias.

I would suggest to change a portion of the filter media at any one time.

To minimise tank contamination fromthose "gunk" release from inner pipe surface, I use a rinse and clean white cloth bag (those meant for HDB tap). I tie it onto the outlet hose with rubberband.

:idea: Voila ! "Gunk" all stuck inside the white cloth bag...those you will experience a slightly slower outlet flow due to resistance. Remove the white cloth bag, all brownish color man! Works for me !

P/S : You can get those white cloth bags at $1.00 for six pieces.

He...He..Cheers! :eyebrow:

eh. idea hor. thanks. I'll go try it out when I move the tank to its new location. (=