UV

There is no way to be totally cure of whit spot unless take all fish out and treat in hospital tank and leave display tank empty for 4 weeks so that those on the substrate have no host to attached to. If not they can be dormant or in small number that you may think it's cured but it's not or just the fish have develope immunity. But when the fish are stress or when new fish added, the ich can appear again.

I kena when the fan I use to use broke and my water temp shot up to 31. The UV if set correctly can control the amount of ich by killing the floating ones. But it cannot eliminat it as it can only kill the floating stage. But it is very good for controlling and prevent ich outbreaks.

My powder blue has significant drop in the amount of ich on its body just within 36hr of adding the UV. But have since removed the UV and use it for my planted.

Hi Giantbicycle,

i understand the feeling when u see you fished kana whitespots:(

Try this method, it works for me:-

I soaked green algae with garlic guard & vitachem to be fed to my yellow tang for the past two days and guess what, the whitespots starts diminishing in large numbers, still a little left but i think it will heal in no time:) As for my two big lions, heeheee, will sound abit cruel, i chopped fine garlic (the ones we use to cook) into fine pieces and stuffed my feeder mollies with it and also soaked my mollies with garlic guard and vitachem before feeding my lions. Whitespots diminished tremendously within 48 hrs!

I guess there's no way we can 100% get rid of them, so i go for the prevention method by giving my fishes power food:) I think UV can help too but dun kinda costly to invest for me at this time.

Hi Giantbicycle,

i understand the feeling when u see you fished kana whitespots:(

Try this method, it works for me:-

I soaked green algae with garlic guard & vitachem to be fed to my yellow tang for the past two days and guess what, the whitespots starts diminishing in large numbers, still a little left but i think it will heal in no time:) As for my two big lions, heeheee, will sound abit cruel, i chopped fine garlic (the ones we use to cook) into fine pieces and stuffed my feeder mollies with it and also soaked my mollies with garlic guard and vitachem before feeding my lions. Whitespots diminished tremendously within 48 hrs!

I guess there's no way we can 100% get rid of them, so i go for the prevention method by giving my fishes power food:) I think UV can help too but dun kinda costly to invest for me at this time.

hahaha,great that worked for you bro. ;)

Hi Tanggy !

I got a small UV ( 6watts) type..and follow your previous thread to run with 10~20gallons per watt. Pretty neat as I attached besides my tank.

I itchy backside...meddle with the tank for two days and two of my fishes kenna itch and white spots.

I feed them with pellets soaked in garlic . In addition, I run 6 watts UV at 400L/hr for 12hours a day...itch and white spots my Salfin Tang and Coral Beauty recovered within 72hrs. After that I switch-off UV as I understand it will also kill all the good bateria......

My question: Can one turn on UV daily as preventive measures ? If yes, what is the duration per day ?

Please advise Bro !

I know fellow reefers sure complain...but my UV hs been there since day 1...now a year later...no prob so far...thoughit might killed the gd bacteria and bad bacteria at the same time....but so far...really no diff to me....(note hor...my exp only)

I think it will be best if we switch the UV if you have 1 just prior to introduction of new LS? and keep it running for a week or 2 as a preventive measure. I believe, if no new introduction of LS is carried out , can safely switch the UV off and diseases cannot appear out of nothing and there must be a carrier of sorts for it to be introduced into the system?

The best is still to attach UV set at the Q tank and leave the main tank runnign without UV at all.

In my humble opinion...

Just to share my 2 years of experience with white spots...my tank has been w spot free for more than a year. Most method (UV, Marine Cure, garlic,etc) works sometimes and sometimes they don't!

But one method sure work....copper.

How?

You need 2 extra tank (small 20-50L will do). First, isolate fish into tank 1 and put copper solution slightly less than what is prescript into tank 1. Try to ensure that water parameter like Ph and temperature is close to main tank. After 2-3 days, you will see the white spots dropped off and died on bottom of tank. Very effective! However, Beware: some fish (like butterfly, powder tang) are too sensitive to copper and you may have to reduce the dosage or lessen the treatment period. Water need to be changed every few days as there is no effective filtration method for water with copper medication.

After that, re-locate fish to tank 2. Again try to ensure water parameters as close as possible. Now that there is no more fish/host in main tank, white spot will die off in the main tank within 4-8 weeks. Applying UV in main tank during this period will be good.

Warning: Never put copper in main tank. Whatever equipment used (I use a air pump and air diffuser only for a 20L tank) in tank 1 should never be used in main tank or tank 2.

Good luck! :cry2:

Just to share my 2 years of experience with white spots...my tank has been w spot free for more than a year. Most method (UV, Marine Cure, garlic,etc) works sometimes and sometimes they don't!

But one method sure work....copper.

How?

You need 2 extra tank (small 20-50L will do). First, isolate fish into tank 1 and put copper solution slightly less than what is prescript into tank 1. Try to ensure that water parameter like Ph and temperature is close to main tank. After 2-3 days, you will see the white spots dropped off and died on bottom of tank. Very effective! However, Beware: some fish (like butterfly, powder tang) are too sensitive to copper and you may have to reduce the dosage or lessen the treatment period. Water need to be changed every few days as there is no effective filtration method for water with copper medication.

After that, re-locate fish to tank 2. Again try to ensure water parameters as close as possible. Now that there is no more fish/host in main tank, white spot will die off in the main tank within 4-8 weeks. Applying UV in main tank during this period will be good.

Warning: Never put copper in main tank. Whatever equipment used (I use a air pump and air diffuser only for a 20L tank) in tank 1 should never be used in main tank or tank 2.

Good luck! :cry2:

your house must be really big hor. can hold three tanks. :P