topfuel_19 Posted February 24, 2009 Share Posted February 24, 2009 Hi to all member in SRC, I'll like to share my new 4ft tank setupwith u all. Any comment?? 3month old tank from dec 08, decom my 4ft X 18 X 18 cos not big enought. Still finding chiller to fit in the space beside my sump tank 35cm(wide) X 46cm(h) X 50cm(deep) any intro?? As 1 of the pic with the valve from reture pump, possible to connect to chiller right? As u can see there only 1 coral in my tank, because lighting not gd must upgrade 1st then add it coral. Happy viewing Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Senior Reefer yikai Posted February 24, 2009 Senior Reefer Share Posted February 24, 2009 cool tank. u might wanna check pasar malam. there is one chiller for sale now at only $150. not sure of the specs tho. go check it out but i have 1 question. why so many damsels? is this ur final stock for the tank? with that amount of damsels, its going to be hard adding new stock.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member TayHongSiang Posted February 24, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2009 Hi to all member in SRC, I'll like to share my new 4ft tank setupwith u all. Any comment?? 3month old tank from dec 08, decom my 4ft X 18 X 18 cos not big enought. Still finding chiller to fit in the space beside my sump tank 35cm(wide) X 46cm(h) X 50cm(deep) any intro?? As 1 of the pic with the valve from reture pump, possible to connect to chiller right? As u can see there only 1 coral in my tank, because lighting not gd must upgrade 1st then add it coral. Happy viewing Brother, Frankly, your rockscape very nice...can place shui shui corals down there. Can place some mushies and zoas first while you hunt for chiller. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member raydiative Posted February 24, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 24, 2009 tank and cabinate looks very well constructed...but u definately need better lights if you want to keep corals... chiller is also a must have unless u can keep the water temp around 26-28 degrees... i second the opinion that lemon bro have... think u will do away with damsels soon as you will realise how territorial they actually are... =] IMHO... Quote A man with a reef tank is a man with an empty wallet... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
foocha Posted February 25, 2009 Share Posted February 25, 2009 Bro, would not advise you put your chiller in the cabinet... it will be very hot n humid. chiller will have to work very hard inside small hot area.. bad cycle... hot air heat sump water.. chiller have to chill....u get my point... buy some turbo snails !!! or a tang to eat up the brown algae... very neat setup....thumbs up!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topfuel_19 Posted February 25, 2009 Author Share Posted February 25, 2009 Bro,would not advise you put your chiller in the cabinet... it will be very hot n humid. chiller will have to work very hard inside small hot area.. bad cycle... hot air heat sump water.. chiller have to chill....u get my point... buy some turbo snails !!! or a tang to eat up the brown algae... very neat setup....thumbs up!!! Thanks for comment, I will get some turbo snails. But which type of tangs are better to eat those brown algae(brown tangs)??? Btw, i did install 2 fan inside the cabinet & a big lobang below it. Do this helps?? because chiller no place to put, as the pic attached right side of the tank is the entrance to kitchen..... Siao liao, if can not put inside. & 1 more thing to ask u all, the reture pipe i add a 'T' valve there can it be connected to chiller? Cos i never use chiller be4. TKS fellow member. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jem Posted February 25, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 25, 2009 you can always add a exhaust fan fixed onto your cabinet if you wanna house ur chiller is those 2 fans the exhaust? if there is good ventilation i dont see a big problem u can t-valve it if you think your return is powerful enough.. do note that u need a decent slow flow of water to the chiller and back to the sump to ensure proper cooling methods might wanna take out the damsels before adding tangs.. damsels are a PITA when you wana add something peaceful into the tank.. they eat alot, crap alot, terrotise and kill alot if you plan on adding corals and rare fishes next time, damsels must go.. trust me u will take them out some day everyone else started with them, but none of us like them in the end.. haha, please agree with me everyone! . . . .... ..... if not i sia suay/malu myself in here paisehhhh btw: thats one big arse skimmer!! what model and brand is it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topfuel_19 Posted February 25, 2009 Author Share Posted February 25, 2009 Thanks bro jem, new i already wanna catch those stupit damsel out Those damsel are from my gf, she took back from workplace n without my permission she add in They even bite my hand when i rescape those LR. As for the fan, i think quite powerfull. I doing demolishing so got alot when i demolishing those office with computer room(those big modem tower with fan). Nw hunting for fit fit chiller to go in cos space only got 35cm(wide) X 46cm(high) X 50cm(deep).... Got any chiller in this size? The skimmer is from REEF OCTOPUS, item No: NW-200-6540 from RB. Ah bee told mi this 1 latest model so buy loh., Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topfuel_19 Posted February 25, 2009 Author Share Posted February 25, 2009 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted February 25, 2009 SRC Supporter Share Posted February 25, 2009 how much u paid for it? anyway ur pipe u do urself isit? the T pipe maynot work.. not too sure. but the valve shld be below the T-pipe so when u wan more water to go to the chiller.. u just close the valve smaller. hope u know wat i mean. Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topfuel_19 Posted February 25, 2009 Author Share Posted February 25, 2009 I also forgot the price liao, i got the skimmer & FR around 400 bah cos that day spent $600 on this 2 new toys + salt & epoxy. Yes, the pipe system all i do. For my thinking is the valve close smaller, lesser water go in chiller. So i connect this way easy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted February 25, 2009 SRC Supporter Share Posted February 25, 2009 oh sorry, i thought the water coming downwards.. if water going upwards, i think still got a prob, means ur valve must place ontop the T-pipe. water will rush all the way up.. and may not get sufficient water to ur chiller. Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solo77 Posted February 25, 2009 Share Posted February 25, 2009 yellow, brown, purple, etc tang do peck on algae. The more hardworking one will be kole, chevron, etc. The useless tang i find is regal or blue tang...lol...eat alot...the most agressive tang will be sohal and AT.....and ich magnet tang wil be powder series tangs, blue and AT ....that is my limited knowledge. When you introduce tang....think you have to consider whether you want to keep ich magnet tang and start from less agressive tang....hope it helps. Thanks for comment, I will get some turbo snails. But which type of tangs are better to eat those brown algae(brown tangs)??? Btw, i did install 2 fan inside the cabinet & a big lobang below it. Do this helps?? because chiller no place to put, as the pic attached right side of the tank is the entrance to kitchen..... Siao liao, if can not put inside. & 1 more thing to ask u all, the reture pipe i add a 'T' valve there can it be connected to chiller? Cos i never use chiller be4. TKS fellow member. Quote Tank : 4 X 2 X 2 with low iron front panel and external overflow Skimmer : BK SM200 with waste collector Return Pumps : Red Dragon 6m3 and Ehiem 1262 FR : 2 X Deltec 509 & powered by AB2000 Nitrate Filter : Deltec NF 509 and tee off from AB2000 Calcium R'tor : Deltec PF 501 with RM secondary chamber Kalkwasser R'tor : Deltec KM500 Chiller : Pansonic 1 HP Compressor with 20m titanium Coil Wave Makers : 4 X Tunze 6055 with 7096 & Vortec MP40w Controller : GHL Profilux Lighting : ATI Powermodule 10 or 8 tubes Water Top-up : Water Top-Up tank powered by Tunze Osmolator External Monitor : American Pinpoint pH and Temp. Monitor for main tank and GHL Profilux Controller to measure temp, pH, Redox Ozonizer : Sander C50 UV : Corallife 6x Algae Scrubbler Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topfuel_19 Posted February 25, 2009 Author Share Posted February 25, 2009 Solo77, kole & chevron Tangs Bro, got pic?? no ideal leh Btw, i draw a pic of the way ReDDeviLs comment. Is is the correct way?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted February 25, 2009 SRC Supporter Share Posted February 25, 2009 hi bro, put the valve to ur "to tank" side. so when there is not enough water going to the chiller. u can control it.. let more experts input their view b4 u change anything. Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solo77 Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 Bro, by using t-off, it will reduce the flow. Is your pump 1264? Not an expert in this but concern whether it can support both return and chiller. Also, you may want to consider buying those detachable valve for maintenance purpose. You will need to clean your pump once a while and if everything is fixed....you may have problem...especially in time of emergency. Just my personal opinion. Just take it as reference. All the best. Quote Tank : 4 X 2 X 2 with low iron front panel and external overflow Skimmer : BK SM200 with waste collector Return Pumps : Red Dragon 6m3 and Ehiem 1262 FR : 2 X Deltec 509 & powered by AB2000 Nitrate Filter : Deltec NF 509 and tee off from AB2000 Calcium R'tor : Deltec PF 501 with RM secondary chamber Kalkwasser R'tor : Deltec KM500 Chiller : Pansonic 1 HP Compressor with 20m titanium Coil Wave Makers : 4 X Tunze 6055 with 7096 & Vortec MP40w Controller : GHL Profilux Lighting : ATI Powermodule 10 or 8 tubes Water Top-up : Water Top-Up tank powered by Tunze Osmolator External Monitor : American Pinpoint pH and Temp. Monitor for main tank and GHL Profilux Controller to measure temp, pH, Redox Ozonizer : Sander C50 UV : Corallife 6x Algae Scrubbler Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Supporter ReDDeviLs Posted February 26, 2009 SRC Supporter Share Posted February 26, 2009 agree with solo, add unions! Quote [ ] [ ] Reef Reefing Reefed Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topfuel_19 Posted February 26, 2009 Author Share Posted February 26, 2009 My reture pump is a Eheim 1260, 2400L p/h. I this its not powerfull enought. I thinking of upgrading to RIO HF32, Any comment on this pump bro??? As for the detachable valve, hw it look like? never come across leh...... Bro out there got any pic?? Sorry, cos i scared buy wrong... I will change the reture pump & those pipe, But i got no ideal wat to connect from the start of the reture pump(silcon pipe)?? so can take out for service?? A very big thank you to all expert bro sharing their reference.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member loster Posted February 26, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 26, 2009 just to add command here... to t-join or share return pump with chiller, it won't work. your current pump can't support the flow rate of your chiller (that also depend your chiller capacity). best way is to get another pump (base on your chiller spec) and make a 2nd return. this way, your chiller won't have to kick in endlessly if the flow rate to your chiller is too small. the head loss that the pump got to overcome through the joins, hight, chiller cooling coil and the turn over rate base on your water volume...etc. all these you have to factor in to sizing your pump. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
topfuel_19 Posted February 26, 2009 Author Share Posted February 26, 2009 just to add command here... to t-join or share return pump with chiller, it won't work. your current pump can't support the flow rate of your chiller (that also depend your chiller capacity). best way is to get another pump (base on your chiller spec) and make a 2nd return. this way, your chiller won't have to kick in endlessly if the flow rate to your chiller is too small. the head loss that the pump got to overcome through the joins, hight, chiller cooling coil and the turn over rate base on your water volume...etc. all these you have to factor in to sizing your pump. Or maybe get a chiller + pump & just connect it?? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solo77 Posted February 26, 2009 Share Posted February 26, 2009 Bro, maybe you want to go reefdepot's website to see the type of valve available......As suggested by bro loster, one return pump for main return and one pump for chiller...so you will have 2 returns to your tank. Quote Tank : 4 X 2 X 2 with low iron front panel and external overflow Skimmer : BK SM200 with waste collector Return Pumps : Red Dragon 6m3 and Ehiem 1262 FR : 2 X Deltec 509 & powered by AB2000 Nitrate Filter : Deltec NF 509 and tee off from AB2000 Calcium R'tor : Deltec PF 501 with RM secondary chamber Kalkwasser R'tor : Deltec KM500 Chiller : Pansonic 1 HP Compressor with 20m titanium Coil Wave Makers : 4 X Tunze 6055 with 7096 & Vortec MP40w Controller : GHL Profilux Lighting : ATI Powermodule 10 or 8 tubes Water Top-up : Water Top-Up tank powered by Tunze Osmolator External Monitor : American Pinpoint pH and Temp. Monitor for main tank and GHL Profilux Controller to measure temp, pH, Redox Ozonizer : Sander C50 UV : Corallife 6x Algae Scrubbler Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...