Recommendation of reliable aquarium shops

i think a standard 24 to 30inch for width will be better for scaping. and placement of corals in future.

also, is electric bill ur main concern? or that can consider secondary.

bcos the hailea return pump is gonna suck u dry.

somethings like return pump,lights,skimmer.. better to go for those better, more reliable, immediate backup service avaliable 1, those more of the important organs in the reefing body.

please also take note the brand and what kinda piping/pipe size. u are quoted for, u dont have to go for 1 of the best "GF" piping.

and please avoid poor quality salt, give u more problem in future.

if budget constrain. throw more on more important stuffs that u cannot change much in future. e.g tank dimension,piping,return pump( very mafan to change, will affect piping)

try to make up your mind on what u intend to go to in future, e.g SPS or LPS. this will determind the kind of equipment u need to invest in.

wavemaker can wait and upgrade easily,lights too.

do not opt for 2 small a pipe size or u got problem coping the up/down flow in future.

and ofcos, piping size has big diff in price.

• Replies 70

the diff with mp20 and mp40 is the strenght of the wave created.

like 1000l/hr to 12000l/hr

those can wait and get when u decided wat u want to keep in ur tank.

OMG, I feel like I'm going back to my schooling days...... can recommend me any good book on those technical details to read so that I can soak everything up and be like a pro instantly?????

I wud strongly strongly advise you to read the thread "nuisance algae" by Santa Monica under "General Reefing". Don't make the mistake i made. The evidence and everything you need to know is all in that thread. It is 27 pages long and if u need to spend a whole day reading it, it is still 100%worth it! It will be much easier to incorporate the algae scrubber into yr design now that you are starting from scratch and have all the flexibility.

Most importantly, it works and it is cheap!!!!!

I installed mine 2 weeks ago and already showing results. It saves you electricty, reduces need for frequency of water change and keeps yr tank clean and nice - free of algae - the way you would want to enjoy it.

Trust me... reading that thread will be the best investment you make for this hobby.

Cheers,

This is the last post # 523 on santa monica's "nuisance algae" thread. I have copied below fyi:

Successes of the Day:

Johnt on the UR site: "I feed heavy and don't do water changes, so there's quite a bio load to balance; since adding the scrubber I've stopped using phosphate remover, and levels remain low and the water appears clearer, but I think the biggest difference has been how clean the tank looks despite being set up close to five years."

tarraza on the algae scrubber site: "the only thing that i can tell you guys is that this is my 5 months that I have NOT change any water in my 30 gal salt watwer tank full of hard corals, soft corals etc. For more than 8 YEARS i spend a LOT of money on additives to eliminate nitrates above 30ppm, phophate way over 20 not to mention water change every other week just to get partial results. Now I do not even test for nitrates, phopate, I only test one in a blue moon for calcium, ph, and alk. My filtration for this tank is a ACUACLEAR 110 FILTER ON THE BACK OF MY TANK WHITH MY VERSION OF ALGEA SCRUBBLE (of course whith ALL the ADVICES FROM ST. MONICA in). People KEEP IT SIMPLE. THIS SYSTEM REALY WORK.

cyberseer on the algae scrubber site: "YEAH!! Tested this morning coz i was bored, got a 0 NO3 reading, had to double and triple the test, to confirm that I wasn't dreaming/sleep walking/imagining things. Like that presentation says, this has got to be one of the happiest days of my life in this hobby/dark hole. Also, I can answer my question per title of this thread now. It took 50 days to see effect (could be sooner, but I didn't test for like a week and half before yesterday) and 51 days to result. What a beautiful day it is, no rain, and no NO3. No skimmer for almost 4 weeks. No water change for 2 weeks. Feed 2x a day for the fish, 1 cube a day for the fish and softies. BTW, changed a bigger CFL on 2/16/09, it's now a 65W with output of 300w. Big difference in growth."

brianhellno on the MFK site: "I've had a scrubber set up on my Piranha tank for a few months now and Nitrate has been zero every time I've tested it. At first the scrubber grew huge amounts of this brown grease-like algae, and now it just has a slow steady growth of solid green. I clean it about once a week or whenever the green algae starts to look like its getting a little too dense. I wanted to test the ability of the scrubber to see how well it handles a worst case scenario. I didn't change out the water for a week (the longest ever) and I left in uneaten food that made its way to the bottom of the tank. At the end of the week 0 ammonia 0 nitrite and only 5 PPM Nitrate. Simply amazing. I'm not quite sure why I change the water out anymore."

you want fast knowledge, best is to meet up with someone and his tank....from there, you will know all the different equipment and their use.....lol. u want to invite us for kopi session....lol. Yes, if you are one which can absorb by reading....do a search and read .....everything got a start and learning curve....hence your question is likely to be asked before....for me...more hands on...hence...seeing is believing.....

at least you are not impulsive to commit immediately...that is already a good start. Side track abit, Since you just got your house....any lobang for appliances? what aircon did you install....me going to start my house reno...now looking into aircon....lol

you want fast knowledge, best is to meet up with someone and his tank....from there, you will know all the different equipment and their use.....lol. u want to invite us for kopi session....lol. Yes, if you are one which can absorb by reading....do a search and read .....everything got a start and learning curve....hence your question is likely to be asked before....for me...more hands on...hence...seeing is believing.....

at least you are not impulsive to commit immediately...that is already a good start. Side track abit, Since you just got your house....any lobang for appliances? what aircon did you install....me going to start my house reno...now looking into aircon....lol

Ya, I'm going to do just that (read & talk to u guys) after I collect all the quotations from the shops that I had enquired......hehehe.......

This is going to be expensive hobby and there's livestock involved here, so I better take it seriously and do my homework well, ma.......

Ahem...... I might be better at issues relating to renovation. I called neighbourhood shops like Goh Ah Bee (tel:62888611) & Tai Sing (not too sure , but can ask for you later). They offer good pricing, better than bigger chain stores but they do not space for display. So, I went to bigger chain stores like Gain City, Audio House, Courts , etc to take a look at the different models, took down the model no. and call the 2 shops for pricing, however, sometimes, the neighbourhood shops don't carry the model you want as in my case. So, I went to Audio House to order all my stuff. Here's the tips:- Audio House will try to match the price that you had gathered.

Solo77, you can go to the bigger chain stores to check the model that you want and then call the neighbourhood stores for the prices, do some comparisons, you may ask the shops to try to match the price, la......... Have you got your flat & ID already? I find my ID very good & trustworthy, want his contact?

I wud strongly strongly advise you to read the thread "nuisance algae" by Santa Monica under "General Reefing". Don't make the mistake i made. The evidence and everything you need to know is all in that thread. It is 27 pages long and if u need to spend a whole day reading it, it is still 100%worth it! It will be much easier to incorporate the algae scrubber into yr design now that you are starting from scratch and have all the flexibility.

Most importantly, it works and it is cheap!!!!!

I installed mine 2 weeks ago and already showing results. It saves you electricty, reduces need for frequency of water change and keeps yr tank clean and nice - free of algae - the way you would want to enjoy it.

Trust me... reading that thread will be the best investment you make for this hobby.

Cheers,

Thank you for the tips, I will spend this day reading this thread....... really glad I'm not alone 'swimming' in this unsure water, looks like I won't 'drown' with all of you guys' kind help..... :rolleyes:

maybe a quick guide for you...

tank depends on the sealant they use, thickness, bracing and type of glass.

for the main support...if wood is chosen, chengai wood is one of the best ....

lighting you need...MH - shimmering effect but generate lots of heat and high power consumption - 150, 250 and 400W(with different type....6K to 20K), T5 and LED

Wavebox - good for LPS which will make them wave at you...wahaha.

Wave maker - Create under water current, quite different from wavebox

Skimmer - cleanse water

FR - can be carbon or pho remover

CR - calcium reactor - usually equip with pH controller, solenoid valve and CO2 tank

KR - used with CR and as water top.

Water top device

Ozoniser - cleanse water - usually equip with ORP controller

UV - kill good and bad bacterias in the water

denitrater - reduce NO in water...

pumps

piping -GF most expensive but no essential, FIP, etc....

sump design - refugium, deep sand bed, algae scrubber, bioball, rock...etc

chiller - standalone or drop in coil with compressor

controller

rock, sand with different grade or just bare bottem....

test kit....

supplement....

the list is not exhausted...lol. hope it didnt scare you. Lol.

For the renovation, ya, for big ticket items...likely to buy from the big chain store...want the extended warranty....for small item..will go neighbour shop...got few...at queensway...outside nee soon camp...etc. For aircon, i will either go to hong tar or gain city which is giving 5 yrs warranty....confused as to the brand to choose....ops...maybe can pm to discuss on renovation....leave your thread clean on your setup....fyi...me also in the midst of doing setup....hehe. So can exchange points...

You might want to check on the chiller.

IMO, based on your specs, both chiller will probably be "running" a lot and "eating" your electricity.

Why don't you top up a bit for the aircon chiller type.

Assuming your tank is in your living room. You will have a cooler living room and electrical savings!!!

OMG, I feel like I'm going back to my schooling days...... can recommend me any good book on those technical details to read so that I can soak everything up and be like a pro instantly?????

I suggest you find a evening go down to library to read some stuff on marine aquariums.

The 2nd and 3rd proposal is better...the equipments provided are pretty good. (3rd proposal shd be from AM)

Can still bargain as you are getting a package from them and skimz protein skimmers are their own in-house brand...hehe...(dun tell them you know this thru SRC hor)

Calcium reactor with aquatronica system is optional...that is more for SPS corals...the ones you see on the display tank at AM katong, those stony corals looking like fingers sticking out from the rocks.

maybe a quick guide for you...

tank depends on the sealant they use, thickness, bracing and type of glass.

for the main support...if wood is chosen, chengai wood is one of the best ....

lighting you need...MH - shimmering effect but generate lots of heat and high power consumption - 150, 250 and 400W(with different type....6K to 20K), T5 and LED

Wavebox - good for LPS which will make them wave at you...wahaha.

Wave maker - Create under water current, quite different from wavebox

Skimmer - cleanse water

FR - can be carbon or pho remover

CR - calcium reactor - usually equip with pH controller, solenoid valve and CO2 tank

KR - used with CR and as water top.

Water top device

Ozoniser - cleanse water - usually equip with ORP controller

UV - kill good and bad bacterias in the water

denitrater - reduce NO in water...

pumps

piping -GF most expensive but no essential, FIP, etc....

sump design - refugium, deep sand bed, algae scrubber, bioball, rock...etc

chiller - standalone or drop in coil with compressor

controller

rock, sand with different grade or just bare bottem....

test kit....

supplement....

the list is not exhausted...lol. hope it didnt scare you. Lol.

For the renovation, ya, for big ticket items...likely to buy from the big chain store...want the extended warranty....for small item..will go neighbour shop...got few...at queensway...outside nee soon camp...etc. For aircon, i will either go to hong tar or gain city which is giving 5 yrs warranty....confused as to the brand to choose....ops...maybe can pm to discuss on renovation....leave your thread clean on your setup....fyi...me also in the midst of doing setup....hehe. So can exchange points...

This is scary indeed........ :shock:

I had just spoken to Henry from Marine Life, he sounded helpful and asked me to go to his shop to have a better understanding of the system and his quotation, think I 'll make a trip to his shop 1 of these days. And I'm meeting Victor from Iwarna at my new flat tomorrow, he wants to study the site????? Hope this is a good start..... Btw, like to have a feel, how long does it take you guys to decide on your marine tank? Because I have this feeling that Im going to take a long time, :huh:

You might want to check on the chiller.

IMO, based on your specs, both chiller will probably be "running" a lot and "eating" your electricity.

Why don't you top up a bit for the aircon chiller type.

Assuming your tank is in your living room. You will have a cooler living room and electrical savings!!!

Hmm.... what is a aircon chiller type? Yes, the tank will be dividing my study & dinning that is besides the living room. Cooler living room...mm.....what do you mean, please? :erm:

i think a standard 24 to 30inch for width will be better for scaping. and placement of corals in future.

also, is electric bill ur main concern? or that can consider secondary.

bcos the hailea return pump is gonna suck u dry.

somethings like return pump,lights,skimmer.. better to go for those better, more reliable, immediate backup service avaliable 1, those more of the important organs in the reefing body.

please also take note the brand and what kinda piping/pipe size. u are quoted for, u dont have to go for 1 of the best "GF" piping.

and please avoid poor quality salt, give u more problem in future.

if budget constrain. throw more on more important stuffs that u cannot change much in future. e.g tank dimension,piping,return pump( very mafan to change, will affect piping)

try to make up your mind on what u intend to go to in future, e.g SPS or LPS. this will determind the kind of equipment u need to invest in.

wavemaker can wait and upgrade easily,lights too.

do not opt for 2 small a pipe size or u got problem coping the up/down flow in future.

and ofcos, piping size has big diff in price.

Ya, most aquariums advise me that a minimium of 24 inches is required for easier maintainence, etc....

yes, I agree that I should place importance on the hardware part of the tank like tank, piping, return tank . If I wish to upgrade the equipment of the tank, mm......sorry for this silly question, what will happen to the lives in the tank?????? :shock:

bro, goes with your heart. You must find it worthwhile and comfortable. The sourcing may take time but once confirmed...it will be fast.....but you need to cycle your tank before adding livestocks. patience is the key in reefing...not easy....at least to me ...lol

I suggest you find a evening go down to library to read some stuff on marine aquariums.

The 2nd and 3rd proposal is better...the equipments provided are pretty good. (3rd proposal shd be from AM)

Can still bargain as you are getting a package from them and skimz protein skimmers are their own in-house brand...hehe...(dun tell them you know this thru SRC hor)

Calcium reactor with aquatronica system is optional...that is more for SPS corals...the ones you see on the display tank at AM katong, those stony corals looking like fingers sticking out from the rocks.

Ya, how you know, hah? I asked the 1 at JK....... I took care to omit the company name............

Don't laugh, but really, what's a SPS & LPS ? :paiseh:

that is very kind of you....we know it ....and appreciate your effort....hehe...

LPS is in general soft coral.....SPS is usually refer to hard coral....those that need calcium and have bone or skeleton structure.....go visit henry and understand more from him....go see his livestock and display tank....mostly LPS...hehe....you want to see SPS .....go to pasir ris...get victor to bring you there to tour....lol.

Ya, how you know, hah? I asked the 1 at JK....... I took care to omit the company name............

Don't laugh, but really, what's a SPS & LPS ? :paiseh:

Np...i see the equipments given i more or less know from which LFS. When comes to reefing, 2 most impt basic items...protein skimmer and lighting..these 2 items must be good and reliable, then follow by the tank, pipings and return pump.

Review of Skimz cone protein skimmer is good...coz of the design, allowing the bubbles to bring the waste to the colelction cup more easily.

Deltec skimmers are already well known in the market...have reliable reputation.

They are like cars..deltec is mercedes...branding is there, got resale valuable, durable and reliable. Skimz is like lexus...powerful and efficient, but resale value lose to mercedes...u know wat i mean.

What u intend to keep or wat u like to see in the tank? that one is the factor in determing yr set-up.

Show you SPS

SPS_coral.bmp

skimmer that allows waste to come up easily and fast, isnt a good thing. not enuff contact time.

here to share my setup,

48"Lx18Wx24H tank, 12mm glass (1.5w is my preference since mine act as divider)

40x12x16 sump tank

deltec ap701 (considered same as ap851, but shorter to fit my cabinet height)

ehiem 1262 main return, 1260 chiller feed, 1250 skimmer feed

arctica 1/5hp chiller

4xT5 54w w/ fittings

tunze 6065

deltec fr509

auto topup, feeder, salt, live rock, live sands, ....and piping, installation, scaping

total up to 6k+

note that wooden support is not included as i let my reno contractor to do a full height cabinet.

here to share my setup,

48"Lx18Wx24H tank, 12mm glass (1.5w is my preference since mine act as divider)

40x12x16 sump tank

deltec ap701 (considered same as ap851, but shorter to fit my cabinet height)

ehiem 1262 main return, 1260 chiller feed, 1250 skimmer feed

arctica 1/5hp chiller

4xT5 54w w/ fittings

tunze 6065

deltec fr509

auto topup, feeder, salt, live rock, live sands, ....and piping, installation, scaping

total up to 6k+

note that wooden support is not included as i let my reno contractor to do a full height cabinet.

good setup to start with :)

Hi, all,

I had got a crash course today and really interested to find out more.......

It seems like a community out there....glad that I'm getting into this, hope that I can learn more from all of you....

What do you guys think of this setup : -

1) Tank + sump

2) Submersible pumpX RIO 32

3) Skimmer

4)Filter medium

5)Lighting

6)Refugium

7)Accessories (hydrometer, etc)

8) HP Direct Dip Chiller

9) Live rocks

10) Sea water

11) Sand