Introduction of Chloramine in PUB water

marinebetta

Just a "heads up":

I have been informed by PUB that they will be introducing chloramine into the water supply in certain areas. The amount introduced will be less than 2 mg/L of residual chloramine. Areas affected will be:

Bukit Timah, Hillview, Clementi, West Coast, Pasir Panjang, Telok Blangah, Ayer Rajah, Jurong Island, Queenstown, Thomson, Serangoon, Sentosa and the city.

Get your anti-chloramine products ready....not all anti-chlorine products will neutralize chloramine so check on the label that it does so.

For more info on chloramine, see this article.

Intelligent people talk about ideas......

Average people talk about things......

Small people talk about other people......

its covered in there, just phased different.

Quote[/color]"There are two primary ways to remove chloramine from tap water. The first is through the use of inorganic reducing agents such as thiosulfate. Thiosulfate (S2O3- -, which actually looks like -OSO2S-) is an inorganic chemical that is typically dissolved in water, usually as the sodium salt. When added to water containing chloramine, a reaction takes place, destroying the chloramine. The electrochemistry of sulfur compounds can be complicated, and different researchers report different products of this reaction (extrapolated from reactions with chlorine itself, not chloramine). The products have been suggested to include sulfate (SO4- - and HSO4-),10,14 elemental sulfur (S),10 and tetrathionate (S4O6- -),11-13 and may depend to some extent on the conditions, including the pH and the relative amounts of compounds present. John F. Kuhns (inventor of Amquel below) has indicated that he believes that the reaction resulting in sulfate is the most frequently observed. The reaction for this process is shown below:

S2O3-- + 4NH2Cl + 5H2O à 2SO4-- + 2H+ + 4HCl + 4NH3

Thiosulfate is also equally suited to dechlorinating free chlorine in water, and it has gained wide use in marine and freshwater aquaria. Unfortunately, the ammonia that is produced as a result of the reaction is still toxic. Consequently, thiosulfate alone is not always adequate for eliminating toxicity from chloramine.

Other products, such as hydroxymethanesulfonate (HOCH2SO3-; a known ammonia binder15 patented for aquarium uses by John F. Kuhns16 (sold as Amquel by Kordon and ClorAm-X by Reed Mariculture, among others) can be used to treat chloraminated water because they both break down chloramine and bind up the ammonia."quote

So it depends on what kind of anti chlorine/chloramine you use - You will need to do your own research on the brand or product and what active ingredient it contains. Then you will roughly know what end product you get, sulfate/ammonia,both or none.

If you have been using it for a while already- i think you would have noticed an overdose by now.

If you haven't used it before- get a good brand and follow instructions accordingly.

nothing major >

sodium thiosulfate overdose

hehehe using a TUBBY or some other auto water top up from a freshwater container will solve this problem by leaving it in the container with antichlorine and giving it time to remove the chloramine in the water. Its also maintenance free since freshwater is refilled into the container with antichlorine so you don't need to care about it and just leave it to top up as necessary and in small amounts each time.

i m using PRIME from seachem.

Me oso using prime! So you all juz dose the tap water with those anti-chloramine agent? Won't it increase the nitrate and phosphate level if juz top up with tap water??? Paiseh...still learning all this chemistry stuff, so need advise from Lau Chi*o out there!

Those support staff from seachem told me that even if you overdose yr thank with prime (less than 5 times the dosage), it won't cause any impact 2 yr marine/ reef tank! However, they said that although prime helps to detoxifies nitrite and nitrate, it actually binds with all of the nitrate until it can be consumed by your biological filtration and eventually (after biological processes) turn the nitrate you bound into nitrogen gas.

Dun kw hw true is that!!! ;)

hehehe using a TUBBY or some other auto water top up from a freshwater container will solve this problem by leaving it in the container with antichlorine and giving it time to remove the chloramine in the water. Its also maintenance free since freshwater is refilled into the container with antichlorine so you don't need to care about it and just leave it to top up as necessary and in small amounts each time.

yes yes yes. shameless self advertising. :P kidding!

eh I PMed you regarding the Tubby and you didn't reply. =(

Does just addiing those conditioner like seachem prime to your tap water be gd enough to use it as a top up? :blink:

I did sm reading from the internet that state either DI/ RO water is recommended to be use as top up!

Pls comment!!!

Thats the best way of topping up if u have $$ to spare, second best will be to use the anti-chlorine stuff and let the tank sit overnite...worst will be to topup without adidng anything and fresh from the tap..

Won't tat mean tat we r topping up the nitrate and phosphate in the tank? :o

I assume those mature tank can affort tat but hw abt small tank or those tank without DSB or etc..? Juz curious cos still thinking whether to get a tap water filter or not! :angel: