pH too high... (almost 9)

wilsontantw

Hi people,

my pH reading is close to 9!!!

Can anyone recommend something that can gradually bring down my pH to the desired level of 8.3?

Gosh, now i know why my true octo and GSP are not opening.

More importantly, how do i stabilise it at that level?

TIA.

do a water change. what do u measure ur tank pH with, last time i also have this false alarm that my pH is overly high with my pinpoint monitor which require caliberation?

if not, normally pH will drop with time from my experience.

anyone using ALPHEUS distilled pure drinking water?

the pH is app 9 using my pH pen :eyeblur:

Wow!..I din know Alpheus distilled water pH can be so high....like that should be bad for human consumption...should be neutrel at 7? no?

Coz distilled water should be pure, free from calcium and dissolved minerals....so pH should not be so high leh?!

Wow!..I din know Alpheus distilled water pH can be so high....like that should be bad for human consumption...should be neutrel at 7? no?

Coz distilled water should be pure, free from calcium and dissolved minerals....so pH should not be so high leh?!

initially i thought so too, calibrate my pH pen, test, same result

any bro can test and confirm?

do a water change. what do u measure ur tank pH with, last time i also have this false alarm that my pH is overly high with my pinpoint monitor which require caliberation?

if not, normally pH will drop with time from my experience.

i recently did a rescape + 100% water change. (basically restarting the tank).

afterwhich, i bought a true-octo which is not opening well, and GSP also didn't really open.

My light and waterflow is pretty decent now... so i suspect something is missing.

calcium, magnesium, po4 all okie. so i suspect it's pH.

t-loan a pH pen (not properly calibrated), but from some 'estimation' i realised my tank is higher than normal.

My friend's tank is operating well (everything opens nicely), and he brought me some water to 'calibrate'.

my pH pen measurement reads: 7.1 on his tank (which = 8.1-8.3 actual reading)

And my tank reads: 7.8, which probably means 8.8-9 actual reading!

that's very high le.

Just wondering will those pH buffer powder lower the pH? or raise it?

what salt are you using?

some salt lower the pH to ideal range, eg coralife

ALPHEUS + tropic marin salt = pH 8.8 based on my nano tank

ALPHEUS + coralife salt = pH 8.4 based on my 3 feet tank

wah! you basically confirmed my readings bro!

Alpheus + tropic marin (pro-reef) = pH 8.8-9!!!!

in ur opinion, do i need to buffer it lower? i suspect that this is the element causing me to lose my true octo! (very sad sia... i paid so much for it!)

Post some pics of yr tank and octo will be better for lau jiaos (referring to those experts) here to diagnose the problem for you...meanwhile you can add some calcium buffer to stabilise yr pH or change yr brand of DI water lo...i used ntuc & life brand.

i use 3-5ml of pH down to lower the pH to 8.3

no issue with my fake octo

2myctu.jpg

Post some pics of yr tank and octo will be better for lau jiaos (referring to those experts) here to diagnose the problem for you...meanwhile you can add some calcium buffer to stabilise yr pH or change yr brand of DI water lo...i used ntuc & life brand.

hmm... okie... will do that later tonight.

but for now, guess i'll try to use the pH down.

bro dnsfpl: this pH down thing is readily available at LFS yah?

hmm... okie... will do that later tonight.

but for now, guess i'll try to use the pH down.

bro dnsfpl: this pH down thing is readily available at LFS yah?

yes but be careful of your dosage

3ml is enough 6l of water

get calibration liquid for your pH pen too

yes but be careful of your dosage

3ml is enough 6l of water

get those calibration liquid for your friend's pH pen too

yeah... im planning to buy both from the same place.

But i can't believe a small package of calibration fluid costs $8 bucks!

this type is used once and throw away type right?

btw, can PM me how much is the pH down (just in case i kena 'carrot head')

You said you did a 100% water change. Could be new tank syndrome.

i recently did a rescape + 100% water change. (basically restarting the tank).

afterwhich, i bought a true-octo which is not opening well, and GSP also didn't really open.

My light and waterflow is pretty decent now... so i suspect something is missing.

calcium, magnesium, po4 all okie. so i suspect it's pH.

t-loan a pH pen (not properly calibrated), but from some 'estimation' i realised my tank is higher than normal.

My friend's tank is operating well (everything opens nicely), and he brought me some water to 'calibrate'.

my pH pen measurement reads: 7.1 on his tank (which = 8.1-8.3 actual reading)

And my tank reads: 7.8, which probably means 8.8-9 actual reading!

that's very high le.

Just wondering will those pH buffer powder lower the pH? or raise it?

"Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee)