anemone trouble

got this anemone with green tip from farm problem now is that the tentacles has shrunk in size and it is moving around in my tank

worst problem is that it has this sticky substance kinda thing like saliva around and also keep finding black debris around my sand bed

whats happening???

my sanity level is at 1.020 to highest 1.026 my ph is at 8.0 plus no23 is fine

protein skimmer is skimming well whats wrong

also I have some live rocks

thanks

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg

my sanity level is at 1.020 to highest 1.026

That could be a clue, is your salinity always fluctuating? This is quite a wide range of variation. Keep the salinity, or the rest of the parameters for that matter, as constant as possible. Temperature is another issue which could cause it to be stressed.

The anemone could be moving about for other "non chemistry" reasons like insufficient lighting or poor water flow. My experience with them is that they would keep moving until they find a spot that has a good mix of strong light and constant water flow, either that or they find their way into the overflow or powerhead -- then die. Hahaha, jk only, but that is a very strong possibility you must be prepared for when keeping anemones.

I have a green bubble tip, and it preferred strong water flow over strong light, ended up bleached white as a result but still surviving in some dark corner :P

That could be a clue, is your salinity always fluctuating? This is quite a wide range of variation. Keep the salinity, or the rest of the parameters for that matter, as constant as possible. Temperature is another issue which could cause it to be stressed.

The anemone could be moving about for other "non chemistry" reasons like insufficient lighting or poor water flow. My experience with them is that they would keep moving until they find a spot that has a good mix of strong light and constant water flow, either that or they find their way into the overflow or powerhead -- then die. Hahaha, jk only, but that is a very strong possibility you must be prepared for when keeping anemones.

I have a green bubble tip, and it preferred strong water flow over strong light, ended up bleached white as a result but still surviving in some dark corner :P

Yr anemone not fighting with other corals right? When did you bought the anemone?

Nope, the rock scape is the "2 mountain" kind, so one side anemones (where the return pipe is), one side for all other corals. The green one should be close to a year already.

my temp is at 25 degrees small tank very diff to keep sanity cause protein skimmer eats my fresh water thus raising high sanity

my tank is a one feet

Pain is temporary. It may last a minute, or an hour, or a day, or a year, but eventually it will subside and something else will take its place. If I quit, however, it lasts forever.

www.marineaquarist.sg

my temp is at 25 degrees small tank very diff to keep sanity cause protein skimmer eats my fresh water thus raising high sanity

my tank is a one feet

One feet is too small to keep a healthy anemone. Assuming you are keeping a green bubble tip, mine open up to 10 inches or more, don't be deceived by the appearance at LFSs. Even if it opens in your tank, you could be stunting its growth, another possible reason why it is unhappy :paiseh:

Your skimmer draws so much water out till it raises the salinity by 0.06? That's a lot. The problem for us nano owners, slight change in water parameters can be catastrophic if left unchecked. I only keep soft corals and a bubble in my nano tank.

Nope, the rock scape is the "2 mountain" kind, so one side anemones (where the return pipe is), one side for all other corals. The green one should be close to a year already.

sometimes, no matter how far apart, as long as they are in a certian body of water in an enclosed space, chemical warfare can still happen. instead of physically attacking each other, harmful chemicals can still be sent out to stunt/hurt growth of other corals. But this happens only to certain and specific species of corals, am quite unsure which one though. just sharing with u this info :)

as far as i know, Bubble tip anemones and corals can be housed together quite happily, provided the anemone does not sting other corals.

sometimes, no matter how far apart, as long as they are in a certian body of water in an enclosed space, chemical warfare can still happen. instead of physically attacking each other, harmful chemicals can still be sent out to stunt/hurt growth of other corals. But this happens only to certain and specific species of corals, am quite unsure which one though. just sharing with u this info :)

as far as i know, Bubble tip anemones and corals can be housed together quite happily, provided the anemone does not sting other corals.

Oh I was unaware of that! Thanks for the info. The rockscape is in such a way that there is a deep valley between the anemone's favourite spots and the corals, so that the tentacles won't ka-cheow anybody. If there is any chemical warfare going on, I can't tell cos visually it all looks alright. Anyway it's all soft corals lah, refuse to die type hahaha.

should be no problem. i think this kind of warfare only happen between certain types of anemones. i read before on wetwebmedia an article posted by bob frenner. but i dunno what 2 kinds of anemones.. its those rarely happen kinds la haha! special scenario. those anemones also seldom encountern here. condilyctus i think... anyway, dun worry la. almost all corals can put together except just dont let them touch can liao.

if there is indeed a warfare, u can tell immediately. ur corals all wont be blooming so nicely if such a case happens :)

should be no problem. i think this kind of warfare only happen between certain types of anemones. i read before on wetwebmedia an article posted by bob frenner. but i dunno what 2 kinds of anemones.. its those rarely happen kinds la haha! special scenario. those anemones also seldom encountern here. condilyctus i think... anyway, dun worry la. almost all corals can put together except just dont let them touch can liao.

if there is indeed a warfare, u can tell immediately. ur corals all wont be blooming so nicely if such a case happens :)

Yup, I've been quite lucky in that sense. Everything going well in that tank. I've often been tempted to keep an anemone in my home nanocube, but the thought of not being able to keep other corals put me off, and of course the risk of returning home to the dreaded cloudy tank. :paiseh:

haha. i think anemones are problematic in a sense that they like to move around, causing all the weird deaths scenarios. theyw grow fast also, and can expand very big =(

thanks guys but another problem came out

I had this green tip anemone there looks fine but of course have mucus on it

then brought this blue zoa but tested the water the n02 was soooo high what should I do?

www.marineaquarist.sg

now my water is milky haiz as my filter not very strong cant really help

my skimmer is not really skimming just a few popping while the water is so dirty haiz

going do water change and other ideas to add so this wouldnt happen again thus wouldnt have to change water

I didnt trust my canister filter

www.marineaquarist.sg

my skimmer is not really skimming just a few popping while the water is so dirty haiz

going do water change and other ideas to add so this wouldnt happen again thus wouldnt have to change water

Cannister filter is fine, but personally I feel that anemone is risky for a 1ft tank due:

1) Fluctuation of water parameters

2) Lack of space

3) Lack of life sustaining equipments - in this case: lights with sufficient PAR, chiller to limit fluctuation of temperature etc

4) Adding livestock too fast and furious for your tank

Solution is to:

1) Add GAC (Granulated Activated Carbon)

2) Do frequent partial water changes

3) Hold back on adding new livestocks

4) Research and carefully choose the livestock suitable for your tank, filtration, existing livestocks and husbandry method

HTH ;)

Hey bro, milky water, mucus from the anemone, high NO2.... sorry to say, it sounds like the anemone is gonna die very soon. From personal experience, it is impossible to reverse the process once these symptoms show.

Once the anemone mouth opens wide, vomits mucus and looks like it is turning inside out, or when the tentacles shrink and generally it looks mutated, it is time to throw it away before it disintegrates and crash your tank.

Be sure to acertain the health of the specimen before buying. Anemone mouth should be shut, there should be no bleaching, tears, bruises, and other wounds. Healthy ones are sticky to the touch.

A dying anemone can really foul up your whole tank and going with it are your precious collection of livestock.

Hope your tank recovers.

"Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee)

Hey bro, milky water, mucus from the anemone, high NO2.... sorry to say, it sounds like the anemone is gonna die very soon. From personal experience, it is impossible to reverse the process once these symptoms show.

Once the anemone mouth opens wide, vomits mucus and looks like it is turning inside out, or when the tentacles shrink and generally it looks mutated, it is time to throw it away before it disintegrates and crash your tank.

Ya true...think u better get rid of yr anemone.

1ft tank cannot keep too much live stocks...most you can keep are mushies and zoas and some small peaceful LPS corals.

hey thanks for your concern my anemone was given away to my neighbor while my zoa had this very strong fishy smell

and wouldnt open thus throw it away haiz no experience in corals or stuff yet bah

my small tank now empty most probably keeping seahorse as I have too train some of them to take frozen man hehe

www.marineaquarist.sg