suitable filter

does anyone has any recommendation on what filter to use for my 1.5 x 1 x 1 ft tank?

Hi Pauline

Hum...thought you been setup quite sometime ago using hang on filter.

I am having a 1ft cube and using Ehiem Liberity 200 filter. Good and reliable. Own this filter for more then 6 years. Worlth every single cent spent.

However as this filter does not come with skimmer, I am using a Redsea Primz skimmer in addition.

Hope this help as a reference for you.

got a cheap filter already..hehe..b4 this i'm using a overhead filter, but it's nt working very well..and take up too much space..so running the red sea prizm skimmer and just place a wool in to dlb up as filter..but after thinking, having a filter wid be better in the long run :P

Thanks for the help!

get a canister, as big as your budget allows. fill it with good quality bio media. It will serve you well. If you buy good brands like eheim, it will have resale value as well

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

get a canister, as big as your budget allows. fill it with good quality bio media. It will serve you well. If you buy good brands like eheim, it will have resale value as well

ok thank 4 the recommandation.... i will search 4 one in my next pay day... haha, this month spend too much in coral liao.. anyway for my tank (1.5-1-1) which model suit me best??

Sis... maybe you can get 1-2 packs of 300g biohome for your filtration media for colonising benificial bacteria to be placed in your canister filter.

oh ok.... but 4 the time being i'm still using those cheap hang on filter.... so wat type of canister filter is suitable 4 my tank?? which model??

ok thank 4 the recommandation.... i will search 4 one in my next pay day... haha, this month spend too much in coral liao.. anyway for my tank (1.5-1-1) which model suit me best??

Hi Pauline

1.5 * 1 * 1 tank, you can either use canister or hang on from Ehiem.

If Ehiem hang on, you can try Liberity 150 or 200 model.

If Ehiem canister, then 2213 should be good enough. Of cos if you intend to upgrade you tan, then you can check out this site http://www.eheimasiapacific.com/prod_eheim.html.

BTW I am going to decomm my quarantine tank soon (next 2 weeks). Its a 2 * 1 * 1.5 with black cabinet running on Eheim 2227 (Wet/dry). This canister according to specs can use up to 350L tank. So even you upgrade to 3 * 1.5 * 1.5 also no problem la.

Just wait for my thread on decomm soon....hopefully. Upgrading my quarantine tank to 3 * 1.5 * 1.5 with overflow so no use of the canister.

My Wet / Dry Ehiem as http://www.eheimasiapacific.com/prod_e_extfilter_wetdry.html

I suggest a 2228 which is the largest in the professional series. Don't bother paying more for the professional II series. just an additional priming and flow monitoring feature which i don't think it quite necessary. others might have other opinion tho'

Bro. Jyoon's 2227 is a wet/dry filter. very interesting cos it has a pulsing effect, double up as a 'wave maker' cos it adds a little randomness in the water circulation. I used this before. It is an excellent bio filter. maybe u convince him to sell it to you together with all the media inside.

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

Hi Pauline

1.5 * 1 * 1 tank, you can either use canister or hang on from Ehiem.

If Ehiem hang on, you can try Liberity 150 or 200 model.

If Ehiem canister, then 2213 should be good enough. Of cos if you intend to upgrade you tan, then you can check out this site http://www.eheimasiapacific.com/prod_eheim.html.

BTW I am going to decomm my quarantine tank soon (next 2 weeks). Its a 2 * 1 * 1.5 with black cabinet running on Eheim 2227 (Wet/dry). This canister according to specs can use up to 350L tank. So even you upgrade to 3 * 1.5 * 1.5 also no problem la.

Just wait for my thread on decomm soon....hopefully. Upgrading my quarantine tank to 3 * 1.5 * 1.5 with overflow so no use of the canister.

My Wet / Dry Ehiem as http://www.eheimasiapacific.com/prod_e_extfilter_wetdry.html

yup, i will 4 the day to come, cos thought of upgrade my tank also.... maybe u can pm me when u decide to decomm...

I suggest a 2228 which is the largest in the professional series. Don't bother paying more for the professional II series. just an additional priming and flow monitoring feature which i don't think it quite necessary. others might have other opinion tho'

Bro. Jyoon's 2227 is a wet/dry filter. very interesting cos it has a pulsing effect, double up as a 'wave maker' cos it adds a little randomness in the water circulation. I used this before. It is an excellent bio filter. maybe u convince him to sell it to you together with all the media inside.

ya, so have to wait 4 him to decomm first... haha... anyway thank 4 ur advice

Hi John Bro

You are right, the Ehiem 2227 acts as a wavemaker for me too. Water pass through a pre-filter canister before entering into the 2227. In the 2227, it contains only Eheim substrate for bateria. Media will be sold together with the 2227 with no additional cost.

half year down the road, 3ft quarantine tank becomes display tank? :upsidedown:

Guess no need half a year...LOL. Cause in my 2 ft quarantine, it become like display also...

haiz, already abit sian with my 1.5 tank, not much space to add in coral.... now thinking of upgrade to 2 or 3 feet tank.... haha

Hahaha..thinking of upgrading :eyebrow: dont need to upgrade to 2 ft cuz it makes not much different with ur

1.5ft...straight away go for 3ft will be better...

Rgds

Hahaha..thinking of upgrading :eyebrow: dont need to upgrade to 2 ft cuz it makes not much different with ur

1.5ft...straight away go for 3ft will be better...

Rgds

haha.... after a thought, i thnk most properly will upgrade to 3 feet.... but all my equitment will to have change also..... pocket suffer also... haha

You should go straight for 3ft. Else you will uograde again and again.

Do plan properly and you will definite enjoy this hobby. There are so many great reefer to offer help.