ANGELFISH PROS, HELP NEEDED!

yikai

Hello all angelfish pros. I have a quick question. My tank has a coral beauty angelfish, quite established and king of the tank. I tried introducing a bicolour angelfish, but aggression kicked in and became quite serious. I have tried many methods of introducing it, like catching both angels out, re-intro together, re-arranging rockwork, putting it in betta box to let it get used to each other, every method to reduce aggresion, i tried, and NOTHING WORKS. my coral beauty angelfish is just too aggressive towards other angelfishes. Have been thinking of getting a flame angel..... as they are in season now. But i dunno how to let both fish get used to each other. My coral beauty just too aggressive. catching it out of the tank is quite a problem as i will have to demolish the whole tank, and catch it out :( So to all those angelfish keepers, who have like 20++ angels in one tank, please share with me how u do this. Have to figure this out as quick as possible, as flame angels are currently plentiful in LCK. Otherwise have to wait again long long for the next shipment :(

Appreciate all help! :thanks:

Hello all angelfish pros. I have a quick question. My tank has a coral beauty angelfish, quite established and king of the tank. I tried introducing a bicolour angelfish, but aggression kicked in and became quite serious. I have tried many methods of introducing it, like catching both angels out, re-intro together, re-arranging rockwork, putting it in betta box to let it get used to each other, every method to reduce aggresion, i tried, and NOTHING WORKS. my coral beauty angelfish is just too aggressive towards other angelfishes. Have been thinking of getting a flame angel..... as they are in season now. But i dunno how to let both fish get used to each other. My coral beauty just too aggressive. catching it out of the tank is quite a problem as i will have to demolish the whole tank, and catch it out :( So to all those angelfish keepers, who have like 20++ angels in one tank, please share with me how u do this. Have to figure this out as quick as possible, as flame angels are currently plentiful in LCK. Otherwise have to wait again long long for the next shipment :(

Appreciate all help! :thanks:

Having coral beauty as the first angel will be a big problem when you start adding other angel.. And you going to add a bicolor that is going make matters worse if the coral beauty and the bicolor settle down... you wun be able to add anymore fish liao..

My bicolour given away liao. Too much aggression caused by Coral beauty. I added it in last summore leh. my last fish that was added in was my coral beauty. still like this. haiz dunno... can please elaborate on the mirror?

I mean the first angel in your tank... It being your first angel in your tank it will form it territorial...

Placing a mirror at the location where the coral beauty will frequent and near its hideout.. but dun place it there infinite.. every few day just take away and see if the aggression got lessen and just repeat the process untill the aggression lessen and no more aggression..

you might wanna catch out ur coral beauty and put it in a betta box while letting the other angels establish their ground first.

Any tips on catching it out? i tried the mirror in the bottle trick, doesnt work on it.... need to tear down my whole tank like this....

Bro Hammy's idea worth trying, however cant hold too long there. Any space in your sump? If have, place a live rock in there and allow little light from the outside in. Plan the centropyge you intend to keep, Introduce them together at the same time, if lucky, within 3 weeks assuming all of them are adapting well and feeding, place the coral beauty back. Btw how big is your Coral beauty? If the coral is much bigger then the rest then he will still return as a bully. Remember, the coral beauty is still within your water parameter be it in the sump or betta box. Size matter bro, Just my little advice.

Cheers mate.

*Are you the one who visited Henry shop Wed, your mum fetch you there?

BIGBIRD

Tank 1 : 36 x 36 x 30

Tank 2 : 30 x 36 x 30

Sump : 43 x 30 x 15

Light 1 : LumenAqua LED lighting systems 72W

Light 2 : LumenAqua LED lighting systems 72W

Wavemaker : 1 x Tunze wavebox

Skimmer : Deltec 701 and Deltec TS 1250 Turbo Skimmer

Chiller : Arctica 1/4

Return pump 1: Rio 32

Return pump 2: Rio 20

Pinpoint : PH meter

Pinpoint : Temp meter

Pinpoint : ORP controller

Ozonizer : Sander C200

Tank1 and 2 : 308gallon

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

I TALK ANGEL, I EAT ANGEL, I SLEEP ANGEL

Bro Hammy's idea worth trying, however cant hold too long there. Any space in your sump? If have, place a live rock in there and allow little light from the outside in. Plan the centropyge you intend to keep, Introduce them together at the same time, if lucky, within 3 weeks assuming all of them are adapting well and feeding, place the coral beauty back. Btw how big is your Coral beauty? If the coral is much bigger then the rest then he will still return as a bully. Remember, the coral beauty is still within your water parameter be it in the sump or betta box. Size matter bro, Just my little advice.

Cheers mate.

HAHA YES!! which one were you??

Cheers mate.

Was hoping you would come here to post ;) renowned angel fish keeper. Ok, im abit confused. I catch out my coral beauty, put in my sump, then put my flame angel in my main tank, then after awhile, put the coral beauty back in? OR..... please elaborate >.< and any advice to catch the coral beauty? Hard...unless i remove all my rocks. My coral beauty average size, around the same size as thoes flame angels, lemonpeels, etc etc that are being sold. about 3"

Hi Mr Lemon,

i can share abit on my experience with Tangs...

I've got a YT (5", over 1 yr), PBrownTang (4", 2 wks), PurpleTang (2.5", 5 days), Kole Tang (1.5", 3 days).

Here's what i usually do when i buy a new fish...

1) New fish will be acclimitise by place into confinement box (if it comes with top-cover, i'll sink it to middle of the tank), if not, at the top will do.

2) While in confinement, i will feed the fish pellets (usually about 5-8 pellets every 2 hrs).

3) Typically, the fish will eat on the 3rd feed. (Some eat on 1st feed).

4) Once the fish starts eating, they will have a stronger chance to survive (even if there's in-fighting).

But my latest additions, the PT was accidently released before he completes his 10 days training (he's only been trained for 2 days)... Immediately YT and PBT attacked him... However, i also release the Kole at the same time to 'divert attention' on PT.

The next day (Thurs), Kole and PT had slight torn fin. However, by this evening, i realised they are now living together in peace.

Though there'll still be some occassional 'catching'... the fishes are largely quite 'kind' to each other.

This i guess was becoz both the PT and Kole had been trained to eat pellets and nori seaweed while they are being 'confined'. My believe is that as long as they are eating well, they will recover from the attack and grow stronger. (Image an 1.5" Kole fighting with a 5" YT).

Anyway, this is just my personal experience, may not work for all.

The mirror trick also works... I.e. place a mirror so that the fish is tricked into thinking there's another one of it's kind. He'll then be engrossed to fight it's own.

Hi Mr Lemon,

i can share abit on my experience with Tangs...

I've got a YT (5", over 1 yr), PBrownTang (4", 2 wks), PurpleTang (2.5", 5 days), Kole Tang (1.5", 3 days).

Here's what i usually do when i buy a new fish...

1) New fish will be acclimitise by place into confinement box (if it comes with top-cover, i'll sink it to middle of the tank), if not, at the top will do.

2) While in confinement, i will feed the fish pellets (usually about 5-8 pellets every 2 hrs).

3) Typically, the fish will eat on the 3rd feed. (Some eat on 1st feed).

4) Once the fish starts eating, they will have a stronger chance to survive (even if there's in-fighting).

But my latest additions, the PT was accidently released before he completes his 10 days training (he's only been trained for 2 days)... Immediately YT and PBT attacked him... However, i also release the Kole at the same time to 'divert attention' on PT.

The next day (Thurs), Kole and PT had slight torn fin. However, by this evening, i realised they are now living together in peace.

Though there'll still be some occassional 'catching'... the fishes are largely quite 'kind' to each other.

This i guess was becoz both the PT and Kole had been trained to eat pellets and nori seaweed while they are being 'confined'. My believe is that as long as they are eating well, they will recover from the attack and grow stronger. (Image an 1.5" Kole fighting with a 5" YT).

Anyway, this is just my personal experience, may not work for all.

The mirror trick also works... I.e. place a mirror so that the fish is tricked into thinking there's another one of it's kind. He'll then be engrossed to fight it's own.

Haha ok! thanks! will try it out :) Dont call me mr.lemon la haha!! lemon will do :) Im only 17 this year, Mr. sounds so senior ^_^

HAHA YES!! which one were you??

You came in, i was about to leave, only me inside.

BIGBIRD

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

cant remember what u look like.. haha. Never notice =x

Aiya, too direct liao :pinch:

BIGBIRD

123a4qp.jpg

BIGBIRD

HAHA! i was at iwarna today.... saw the lemonpeel and flame angel. Want to buy but cannot coz of the coral beauty

If u get a big lemonpeel and big flame angel, quarantine them and feed till fat fat, then add them in at the same time during late night, should be able to suppress the aggressive coral beauty.

ty