low salinity and correct magnesium level

Digiman

I'm keeping FOWLR, so maintaining my salinity at 1.018-1.019. However when i test the magnesium level, it's v low: 1050ppm. I tried to raise it using magnesium powder but still cannot bring it any higher than 1100ppm. Is it normal for low salinity to have low magesium level, if so how low is ideal? Any help is deeply appreciated. Thks in advance.

what kinda magnesium powder are you using?

dosing for maintenance purpose is easy but when you're dosing for corrective purposes, it does take quite a scary amount of magnesium additive

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

what kinda magnesium powder are you using?

dosing for maintenance purpose is easy but when you're dosing for corrective purposes, it does take quite a scary amount of magnesium additive

I'm using seachem advantage magnesium. I've add in 25 tsp each day for 2 days liao, but the magnesium level did not seem to rise by more than 5ppm from 1050ppm. But i was wondering if my low salinity really need mg level to be at 1300ppm? Can i jux keep it at 1100ppm or lower?

If you are keepling FOWLR then Mg can be low... although how this affects the fishes long term I don't know.

If you want to raise your Mg quickly I suggest that you use Brightwell Magnesion-P. I got this from ML and it works quite effectively to raise my Mg from 1100 to 1400ppm.

it's also to do with the volume of your tank.

yes MG don't really matter in a fowlr tank but in my opinion, make a one time effort to just raise it to maybe 1300 or 1400 then leave it lor. it shouldn;t deplete since you're not having a reef.

generally MG maintains the balance between KH and CA levels which is essential for reef tanks.

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

I'm using seachem advantage magnesium. I've add in 25 tsp each day for 2 days liao, but the magnesium level did not seem to rise by more than 5ppm from 1050ppm. But i was wondering if my low salinity really need mg level to be at 1300ppm? Can i jux keep it at 1100ppm or lower?

dont bother with the seachem magnesium, its more salt then magnesium, thats y its so cheap

u can use the brightwell, grotech or bro johntan has some mag chips in bottles as well

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424