Peppermint shrimp and aiptasia

yikai

I have 5 peppermint shrimps, 3 small ones and 2 big ones. But NONE of them seem to be eating my aiptasia. The small ones i think too small to eat yet. but my big big one, never even touch them. Why T.T i hear peppermints 50/50 chance, but i got 5 leh. dun tell me i so suay LOL. Are peppermint shrimps very shy creatures? I seldom see them at all. Like one week see like 2-3 times only... Most of the time see them at night. My aiptasia, spreading like a disease and still not being controlled. =( I dun wanna get a copperband because my tank now quite full liao. And am trying to not use chemical means, only as a last resort....

haha! i got 3 from fuel and 2 from LCK. all still alive as i have seen them all. But only at night.... Anyway, so far my aiptasia all still around... But my aiptasia quite big. around 1 inch when open....

filefish not reefsafe? haiz.. stupid aiptasia T.T i think i use scissors and cut it.... make it smaller than let my peppermint eat. doesnt matter if it reproduce.... at least it will be smaller

usually u dun need so MANY peppermints to take care of it..

my dad bought only 1 for his 4ft tank, and took care of all aipstasia (around 20), in about a week..

how long have they been in the tank? u need to give them some time to see visible results..

i wouldn't worry bro.. my dad's one didn't touch anything in the first few days.. but over 1 week, suddenly the aipstasia population declined rapidly.. give them some time..

haha ok thanks for the advice. just hope it do it job asap. aiptasia growing so fast.. Last time i no aiptasia one. then i see ppl everyday complain about aiptasia, then i wish i tio aiptasia lol! just to know what it feels like... now i really tio.. and it sucks. shud not have made that wish.

Don't feed the shrimps too much. If they are fed too much, they might not want to eat the aiptasia as the shrimps do get stung as well. For larger aiptasias, peppermint shrimps usually tackle them as a group. It takes one shrimp to initiate, after which the rest will follow.

Refer to this thread in '05 for more information.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...p;hl=peppermint

Don't feed the shrimps too much. If they are fed too much, they might not want to eat the aiptasia as the shrimps do get stung as well. For larger aiptasias, peppermint shrimps usually tackle them as a group. It takes one shrimp to initiate, after which the rest will follow.

Refer to this thread in '05 for more information.

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?...p;hl=peppermint

Thanks. I don't feed my peppermint shrimps because they are always hiding during feeding times. Hopefully my aiptasia will be gone soon. Will be patient and give them some time

Verify that your shrimps are indeed Peppermints and not Camels. Camels have arched backs, Peppermints don't. Camels will not touch Aptasia.

Peppermint http://www.saltwaterfish.com/site_11_03/im.../511_pepp10.jpg

Camel http://www.saltwaterfish.com/site_11_03/im.../329_camel2.jpg

"Be formless... shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle; it becomes the bottle. You put it into a teapot; it becomes the teapot. Water can flow, or it can crash. Be water, my friend..." - Lei Siu Lung (Bruce Lee)

Mine is the true peppermint. lysmata wudermani. Anyway, as of today, they have started with the aiptasia eating. Finally. I gave them a little help by killing some aiptasias too. Now my tank aiptasia free =)

The ones I breed and the ones commonly imported are Lysmata boggessi. True L. wurdemanni are from deeper waters and are very rarely seen in the trade and they are found in cooler waters. Can refer to the thread by the world expert on peppermint shrimp.

http://www.marinebreeder.org/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=4257

The ones I breed and the ones commonly imported are Lysmata boggessi. True L. wurdemanni are from deeper waters and are very rarely seen in the trade and they are found in cooler waters. Can refer to the thread by the world expert on peppermint shrimp.

http://www.marinebreeder.org/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=4257

I have 2 lysmata wudermanis, im quite sure that its the real peppermint shrimp. Quite pricey also. Each $20. The one u sold me, not sure if its the real one or not. But i'm quite sure i have 2 wudermani's anyway, i'm not really bothered by which one i have haha! i LOVE them all, all very cute and nice. And they all solve my aiptasia problem. Which is good. so, win win situation =)