wilsontantw Posted January 15, 2009 Share Posted January 15, 2009 Hi all, anyone has any experience with Nano Wavebox 6206? I'm using a seio (dunno which model) + nanostream 6025 in a 2.5' x 2' x 2'. (no SPS, just a few LPS). The wave movement doesn't look 'natural'. pls share ur experience/opinions or 'substitute' products if any. TIA Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solo77 Posted January 15, 2009 Share Posted January 15, 2009 me not a user but those who used it seems to like it....understand it is selling like hotcakes.....how big is your tank.... Quote Tank : 4 X 2 X 2 with low iron front panel and external overflow Skimmer : BK SM200 with waste collector Return Pumps : Red Dragon 6m3 and Ehiem 1262 FR : 2 X Deltec 509 & powered by AB2000 Nitrate Filter : Deltec NF 509 and tee off from AB2000 Calcium R'tor : Deltec PF 501 with RM secondary chamber Kalkwasser R'tor : Deltec KM500 Chiller : Pansonic 1 HP Compressor with 20m titanium Coil Wave Makers : 4 X Tunze 6055 with 7096 & Vortec MP40w Controller : GHL Profilux Lighting : ATI Powermodule 10 or 8 tubes Water Top-up : Water Top-Up tank powered by Tunze Osmolator External Monitor : American Pinpoint pH and Temp. Monitor for main tank and GHL Profilux Controller to measure temp, pH, Redox Ozonizer : Sander C50 UV : Corallife 6x Algae Scrubbler Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wilsontantw Posted January 15, 2009 Author Share Posted January 15, 2009 me not a user but those who used it seems to like it....understand it is selling like hotcakes.....how big is your tank.... thanks solo77. Was hoping those with experience can share a little. im quite keen to get one actually, but was hoping can 'see' one in action before committing the $$ (time's are bad lah). my tank's 2.5' x 2' x 2'. (approx 280++ litres). Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member MbmC Posted January 15, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted January 15, 2009 go to aquaticquotient. Search for Jervis' marine tank thread. He's using the nano wavebox. got video also Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wilsontantw Posted January 15, 2009 Author Share Posted January 15, 2009 go to aquaticquotient. Search for Jervis' marine tank thread. He's using the nano wavebox. got video also Nice! Thanks much MbmC. it's really helpful. Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted February 16, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 16, 2009 here the video imho it do look fake. maybe due to the size of the tank...the wave look too rapid. Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wilsontantw Posted February 16, 2009 Author Share Posted February 16, 2009 here the video imho it do look fake. maybe due to the size of the tank...the wave look too rapid. thanks bro, i actually have a video clip of my own... coz i bought the wavebox already. it doesn't look fake at all... the wave is real... i get that too. could be higher waves if i turn to higher voltage. Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted February 16, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 16, 2009 thanks bro, i actually have a video clip of my own... coz i bought the wavebox already. it doesn't look fake at all... the wave is real... i get that too. could be higher waves if i turn to higher voltage. i mean the wave look too rapid. however as i mentioned earlier. maybe due to the tank size. bro, upload the video in youtube and share it here lei just love the gadgets Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted February 17, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 17, 2009 i mean the wave look fake not the video.. too rapid. however as i mentioned earlier. maybe due to the tank size.bro, upload the video in youtube and share it here lei just love the gadgets i guess this is more "slower" but i guess this is a larger tank thus the wave effect look more gradual youtube wavebox Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wilsontantw Posted February 17, 2009 Author Share Posted February 17, 2009 i mean the wave look too rapid. however as i mentioned earlier. maybe due to the tank size.bro, upload the video in youtube and share it here lei just love the gadgets haha... i quite mountain tortoise... my clip is a mp4 clip... how do i convert it to youtube? (20+ mb sia)... can teach me? Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted February 17, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 17, 2009 haha... i quite mountain tortoise... my clip is a mp4 clip... how do i convert it to youtube? (20+ mb sia)... can teach me? hehe. i also never upload before. i can youtube can lah... eager to see your clip. Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member TayHongSiang Posted February 17, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 17, 2009 haha... i quite mountain tortoise... my clip is a mp4 clip... how do i convert it to youtube? (20+ mb sia)... can teach me? Very simple...u pluck in yr phone to your pc / laptop..then copy that video into yr pc/ laptop. Go to youtube, create a video, search for your file and upload yr video from yr pc / laptop. Check out my FTS http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6BLXg48QFg Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wilsontantw Posted February 17, 2009 Author Share Posted February 17, 2009 Very simple...u pluck in yr phone to your pc / laptop..then copy that video into yr pc/ laptop. Go to youtube, create a video, search for your file and upload yr video from yr pc / laptop. Check out my FTS http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6BLXg48QFg i've got that clip into my computer already. Just dunno if they accept all formats ... I think i'll do that tonight! woo hoo. Thanks Ah Siang. Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zorden Posted February 18, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 18, 2009 i've got that clip into my computer already. Just dunno if they accept all formats ... I think i'll do that tonight! woo hoo. Thanks Ah Siang. show us the video :thanks: Quote I am just an average FR (fish reefing) writer. If you like my FRs, please upz my points. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member TayHongSiang Posted February 19, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted February 19, 2009 i've got that clip into my computer already. Just dunno if they accept all formats ... I think i'll do that tonight! woo hoo. Thanks Ah Siang. No problem bro....MP4 confirm no problem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesy74 Posted April 4, 2009 Share Posted April 4, 2009 where got sell other than reefdepot? aquamarin must order. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sponsor dr evil Posted April 5, 2009 Sponsor Share Posted April 5, 2009 where got sell other than reefdepot? aquamarin must order. u need one? PM me..... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesy74 Posted April 20, 2009 Share Posted April 20, 2009 Any one using the nano wavebox on a 3x2x2 tank? I bought mine new but does not seems to be effective. Not sure if it is a faulty set or it is underpower for a 3ft. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wilsontantw Posted April 20, 2009 Author Share Posted April 20, 2009 Any one using the nano wavebox on a 3x2x2 tank? I bought mine new but does not seems to be effective. Not sure if it is a faulty set or it is underpower for a 3ft. hi weesy74, i think it should be okie for a 3x2x2... here's my experience... 1) turn the potentiometer to the lowest power. 2) lower the voltage to min (think it's 12v) 3) observe the water movement... 4) turn the potentiometer (super slowly) upwards... you will reach a point when you get the optimal wave. 5) if the height of the wave is insufficient, adjust the voltage upwards... (i think you should be using about 16 or 18v) remember, you Must start from lowest point. fyi: My 2.5 x 2 x 2 is running at near to the lowest point at 14v. Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesy74 Posted April 20, 2009 Share Posted April 20, 2009 hi weesy74, i think it should be okie for a 3x2x2... here's my experience... 1) turn the potentiometer to the lowest power. 2) lower the voltage to min (think it's 12v) 3) observe the water movement... 4) turn the potentiometer (super slowly) upwards... you will reach a point when you get the optimal wave. 5) if the height of the wave is insufficient, adjust the voltage upwards... (i think you should be using about 16 or 18v) remember, you Must start from lowest point. fyi: My 2.5 x 2 x 2 is running at near to the lowest point at 14v. Thanks for your reply. A few more questions if you dun mind answering. 1) How far is the top of the box away from the water surface? 2) What is the height of the wave you are getting? For my case, even if i set it at highest voltage, i dun see much surface water movement (i.e. wave). I can see the motor moving but i dun seems to see it turn direction. Alot of mini bubbles if i turn the voltage too high. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member [V]tEc Posted April 20, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted April 20, 2009 Thanks for your reply. A few more questions if you dun mind answering. 1) How far is the top of the box away from the water surface? 2) What is the height of the wave you are getting? For my case, even if i set it at highest voltage, i dun see much surface water movement (i.e. wave). I can see the motor moving but i dun seems to see it turn direction. Alot of mini bubbles if i turn the voltage too high. U need lot of patient to tune a wavebox. dun mean highest voltage will have the biggest wave. juz like what wilson stated, start from the lowest n tune up slowly.when tuning. observe the wave for abt 5min b4 u adjust again. as for bubbles, it should be becos ur voltage set too high. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesy74 Posted April 21, 2009 Share Posted April 21, 2009 U need lot of patient to tune a wavebox. dun mean highest voltage will have the biggest wave. juz like what wilson stated, start from the lowest n tune up slowly.when tuning. observe the wave for abt 5min b4 u adjust again. as for bubbles, it should be becos ur voltage set too high. Okay, thanks for the advice. I will go home and try again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weesy74 Posted April 22, 2009 Share Posted April 22, 2009 Okay, thanks for the advice. I will go home and try again. Just a update why my wavebox not working. Think i got a wrong controller in the box. Got a 7091 in the box instead of a 6091. Called the shop and they will change to a 6091 for me....I so suay...was even thinking that nano was underpowered for my 3ft and selling it off....lucky i asked around here. Thanks for all your help. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wilsontantw Posted April 22, 2009 Author Share Posted April 22, 2009 Thanks for your reply. A few more questions if you dun mind answering. 1) How far is the top of the box away from the water surface? 2) What is the height of the wave you are getting? For my case, even if i set it at highest voltage, i dun see much surface water movement (i.e. wave). I can see the motor moving but i dun seems to see it turn direction. Alot of mini bubbles if i turn the voltage too high. 1) How far is the top of the box away from the water surface? [the top of the box is about 3cm bove water level, but this shouldn't affect anything] 2) What is the height of the wave you are getting? [my wave height is about 1" or so] - there are 2 variables that affect this. - the optimal potentiometer setting - the voltage if u follow the steps in the book (or what i'd summarised for you), you should get a decent movement. Always start lowest, tune VERY slowly. And (ONLY) when you get the swiiish-swooosh... then you turn up the voltage. highest voltage + highest pulse doesn't give you optimal wave (tested and proven!) HTH. Quote decommissioned 2.5x2x2 Videos: | | Your mind is like a parachute. It only works when it is open. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dleecool Posted April 22, 2009 SRC Member Share Posted April 22, 2009 Hi, I just got my nano yesterday, after put it into the water still haven't got any wave too. The water level is slightly (5mm below the top surface), dono is it ok? I'll try to fine tune again tonite! My tank is 3x2x2. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...