Montipora

Hello all, i need some help here. Is Montipora Capricornis a difficult coral to keep? Can someone advice me on this please. Have been considering this SPS for awhile now. Fell in love with its beautiful shape. So i was just wondering if its terribly difficult to keep? On a rating of 1-5 can anyone tell me how hard it is? and are there any special requirements?

I have read on the web that it requires alot of light, so placement at the top of the tank is good. And, most website say it is moderate to keep. Not easy not difficult. Can any one share their experience? ty!

Hello all, i need some help here. Is Montipora Capricornis a difficult coral to keep? Can someone advice me on this please. Have been considering this SPS for awhile now. Fell in love with its beautiful shape. So i was just wondering if its terribly difficult to keep? On a rating of 1-5 can anyone tell me how hard it is? and are there any special requirements?

I have read on the web that it requires alot of light, so placement at the top of the tank is good. And, most website say it is moderate to keep. Not easy not difficult. Can any one share their experience? ty!

It's not difficult to keep...whether put at the top or middle of tank really depends on how intense your lighting is. Just keep your water parameters stable it should be fine.

I have a monti cap which I got from a fellow reefer some time ago. Recently, it started to bleach from centre portion. I have no idea what is the cause. Water parameters are stable and don't see any nudi's. Coral was doing well for past 4-5 mths until this happened...

I'll rank it at 2 if compared to all sps... But ironically this species doesn't need as much wave as other sps... If too strong a wave it may prevent it from extending it tiny or "microscopic" :lol: polyps... Some ppl place it on the bottom of the tank... Just like the TOTM on reef central... :) but aft all i think u shld give it a go... ;) But cal shld be at least at 400ppm... Its a fast grower as i spotted on my specimen... :evil: So soon u'll hav frags to sell or trade... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Can post pics of your monti bo?

Huh?? Hu's? The TOTM or mine?? :eyebrow::lol:

Yours...TOTM..already seen and digested.

Mine arh... OK lah a decent two...

post-14611-1235294174.jpg

post-14611-1235294200.jpg

Hey, wats the gem at the bottom left hand corner?

Its an oxypora... Eyes so sharp arh?? :eyeblur::lol:

:eyeblur: WAH !...moi can 'smell' some gem fraggies here. :eyebrow:

post-14611-1235294174.jpg

Huh? dun get what u mean leh... Can rephrase alittle?? :unsure:

:D Frag...Frag !!! :eyebrow:

Can... If u spon the equipment... :rolleyes::eyebrow:

:evil: No worries...moi 'Quickie Hand' is The Equipment ! :eyebrow:

Haha... The fact is still waiting it to grow more first... :lol:

:eyeblur: All U need to do is to 'Pump Up the Volume' dude. :eyebrow:

Pump up calc volume arh? Calc is abt 450 ppm leh...