need help in equipments needed

pauline

Hi! I'm new to this hobby, and starting on a nano tank first. I need some advice as i'm using a powerhead with overflow filter and need to noe whether it's ok anot. My tank is 1.5x1x1. Is the light ok too? Thinking of buying a blue light but the light bulb is a U shape. Is it difficult to find this kind of bulb? I'm figuring out where to put all the equipments as my tank is abit small..due to budget constraints, is the AA skimmer alright for my tank? And for the filter, apart from the coral chip and sponge, wat else do i need? TIA for the advice..

My tank

post-15823-1230586739.jpg

Powerhead

post-15823-1230586833.jpg

Overhead filter and coral chip with sponge

post-15823-1230586879.jpg

post-15823-1230586996.jpg

Liverock (getting more soon)

post-15823-1230587084.jpg

Light model no. HY270

post-15823-1230587164.jpg

1. put the filter wool above your coral chips and u can easily take it out to wash every now and then.

2. consider buying a small bottle of chemipure (activated carbon) to add into your filter

3. I don't suggest any corals

4. Keep just a couple of hardy fish i.e. chromis, damsels, triggers

if you keep too many things, tank is going to get dirty quickly and too much cleaning/maintenance kills the joy in the hobby

---------------------------------------------

The Deep Blue Sea in My HDB!

http://myfishyroomates.blogspot.com

if u're staying in west area, try clementi 328 to check for the U-shaped tube that comes with 1 side white, 1 side blue. Bring ur existing light tubes to verify it's the correct type. Rainbow at serangoon north ave 2 have this tube with 1 blue 1 white, saw it before, but it's at the northern side.

u should add about 2 more small pieces of live rock. LR in tank provides biological filtration for the tank.

Things u can add to the overflow box: carbon (great absorber), and sorb4 (po4 remover, which prevents algae outbreak)

For a tank without chiller and skimmer, corals that may do well are mushrooms and zoas. Both are hardy, yet very colourful.

If you wish to add a skimmer, prizm skimmer will do a great job for such a tank size. I used to use prizm skimmer in my 1ft cube office tank, and tank was running great.

Hope this helps

Agree with Drato11 Bro on the Red Sea Prizm Skimmer. I using for my Quarantine tank and they work great.

I have a Via Aqua Mulit-Skimmer http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_AquariumPage...ti-skimmer.html.

This can replace your filter as well as having a skimmer running. Through test, find it is only good for tanks less then 25 Gallons not what the specification stated as 80 Gallons.

I am having the deluxe version that comes with 5W UV as the link below.

http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_ViewItem~act...es~vendor~.html

It will be yours FOC if you are a student.

If not, then it will cost you 2 cups of coffees and 1 game of either Chinese Chess or International Chess or Singapore (30 seeds) checkers....ha ha.

PM me if you need.

erm..may i noe wat is chemipure and sorb4? izzit liquid that i just need to add inside? where can i get both of it?

hmm i'm thinking of buying a cooling fan for the corals..is there anywhere to buy a small one as i'm afraid there's no space to fit it..

and for the light bulbs, i'll try clementi first..serangoon too far leh..hehe

and 1 last thing, wat is a sump?

Thanks everyone! :bow:

Hi

You can check out chemi-pure in this link http://www.drsfostersmith.com/product/prod...cfm?pcatid=4177 .

As for Sorb4 here's the link http://www.aquamarin.com.sg/productsDetail...d='503'.

As for adding Fan for coral, no comments from me as I keep fishes only. I do use Fans for my fishes too. However the evporation will be high and you will need to top up loss water very frequent.

A sump is another tank that normally place below the main tank for filtration and host any other related equipment. You should be able to view some reefer's tank in this forum.

do i need to have a sump for nano tank? i've already bought the fan, den i realise that the light bulb cannot be removed..hehe..so need to buy another light liao..anyone noe where to buy space saving light? check with LFS near farmart and yishun but they dun carry..

bro jyoon, you are the best...hehehe...

To Pauline, if you want a simple setup, maybe you can do away with your hang over filter and get the suggestion prizm skimmer. You can improvise by putting a wool at the mouth to act as filter and there you are, a skimmer with filter. Then get a lightset and a fan if you want(depending room temperature and what you intend to keep). Get established live rocks with good inverts to help you clean up the sand bed. This is what i did for my small quarantine tank. I think clementi 328 has all the things you want.....All the best.

during cycling,do i need to add bio-bacteria inside? i've got 2 given by my friend, one is AZOO 11 in 1 super bio-bacteria, and another is OTTO PSB bacteria. should i use both? just follow the instructions will do? cuz the instruction only say add in after each water change, but the shopkeeper tells me to add in everyday..which is correct? do i need to use both at the same time?

such bacterias will speed up the process of cycling.