My 4 x 2 x 1.5 Reef tank

chamty

eh bro u got purple death in ur zoas?

btw e top right hand one 2nd frm e top looks nice.. mayb u shld hv take a bigger pic..

Which one is purple death?

The 2nd 1 from top right hand side (pink colour) is actually from 'Fragmaster'...

First one on the top right hand side is the same one you were asking from Lemon... It's the African blue zoa from SL.. Mine also broke apart and left with only 3 polyps..

Wow bro so many nice collection of Zoa..... :bow:

|| Tank: 5x2x2.5 || Sump 3.5x1.5.1.5 || Lights: DeLighting 2x80w Aquable Special T5 ||

|| Return: 2 x ehiem 1264 || Skimmer: Skimz SM251 ||

|| CR: deltec denitrator || ATO with custom make reservior tank||

|| FR: TLF running Rowas ,UV ||

|| Wavemaker: Jebao RE20& RW15|| Chiller: Daikin 1HP Compressor ||

|| Monitor 1: American Marine Pinpoint Temperature monitor ||

New additions:

Longnose Hawkfish

post-14934-1237826767.jpg

Pipefish pair

post-14934-1237826803.jpg

new Zoas (from Pacific & GO)

post-14934-1237827159.jpg

Yuma from Rbn

post-14934-1237827211.jpg

Orchid dottyback (tranfered from refugerium)

post-14934-1237827094.jpg

FTS 23 March 09

post-14934-1237827259.jpg

Left side:

post-14934-1237827336.jpg

Centre:

post-14934-1237827372.jpg

Right side (replaced Hydor wavemaker with Tunze nano wavebox... and can also see a controversial pair of black clowns!)

post-14934-1237827551.jpg

last pic.. fat Mystery Wrasse

post-14934-1237827816.jpg

Royal Pencil Wrasse from Markietan (originally from uLtRaMaN)

Hmm.. I now have 3 fishes from bro uLtRaMaN (including a blotchi & a bluelined dottyback)!

post-14934-1238428471.jpg

New Zoa acquisitions (under different light):

post-14934-1238429455.jpg

post-14934-1238429496.jpg

post-14934-1238429517.jpg

post-14934-1238430947.jpg

From Iwarna's US shipment:

post-14934-1238429556.jpg

Yuma...

post-14934-1238429699.jpg

Mushroom..

post-14934-1238429798.jpg

Lastly... a photo update on the hardware that has spilled out from the tank cabinet..

post-14934-1238430204.jpg

Finally managed to lay my hand on this rare gem...

post-14934-1239471965.jpg

It's extremely shy and very small (only around 1.5cm in length)..

I've been feeding it Henry's food and Kent Marine ZooPlex.. not sure if it is actually eating (too difficult to observe as it is hiding behind some rocks in my nano)..

Any advice on its care?

very nice & colourful tank..... like to see your healthy corals....

wish i could have like your zoas collection... really love it...

{Tank Size:- 4ft L X 2ft W X 2.5ft H = Mixed Reef Tank}

{Light:- 2 X 54W T5 ATI - Aquablue Spezial & 1 Pro Color, 1 X 54W T5 Giesemann - Aquablue + & 1 Actinic +, 1 X 54W T5 UV H2ology}

{Chiller:- 1 HP split unit powered by Rio 14}

{Skimmer:- Reef Maniac Beckett Skimmer Powered by Rio20}

{Fluidized Reactor:- Reef Maniac FR with Rowaphos media}

{Return Pump:- 1 unit X 5,400 L/H}

{Circulation Pump:- SEIO M1100 + M820}

{Photos:- Powered by Nikon 7D, 24-70mm f2.8 L Lens, 85mm f1.8,100mm f2.8 Macro Lens & 580EXII}

very nice & colourful tank..... like to see your healthy corals....

wish i could have like your zoas collection... really love it...

Thanks!

I think your tank's more colourful... lot's of lps gems..

Mine mainly softies (more than half are cheap indo ones!) and hardy sps..

Thanks!

I think your tank's more colourful... lot's of lps gems..

Mine mainly softies (more than half are cheap indo ones!) and hardy sps..

It's not whether they are indo or watever zoos...you managed to make them look wow! :ooh:

Your tank is an inspiration to me and it proves that softies and LPS dominated tank can look just as good as a SPS dominated tank, if not, better...(thumbs up)

It's not whether they are indo or watever zoos...you managed to make them look wow! :ooh:

Your tank is an inspiration to me and it proves that softies and LPS dominated tank can look just as good as a SPS dominated tank, if not, better...(thumbs up)

Thanks for all the compliments!

Speaking of cheap zoas... just bought these $3 zoa frag from SL

... just curious to find out how it'll look when it colours up!

post-14934-1239637847.jpg

I think my Baggal Cardinal is brooding eggs in its mouth... :rolleyes:

post-14934-1239723988.jpg

yes ur right. they are mouth brooding. in about 10 days to 2 weeks u should see the male release all the fry at night. i raised them to about 2.5cm until all died. very high maintenance..got no time lol.

btw that red PPE. i got a frag of it of 3 polyps that was given free. and all died coz jena stung by my torch XD i din know it was so ex...otherwise woud have treasured it more..

The other end of price spectrum..(aka.. I think I paid too much!!):

post-14934-1239723684.jpg

Red/Orange PE

post-14934-1239723752.jpg

Dunno what oso..

huh? bro... do you mean to say red PE is very ex or it's one of the more affordable??

i've got like lotsa of these, and i almost gave them away... i also peeled off a small part from the main colony to put on a frag plug (to test test)... haha..

good thing the main colony is still doing well.

hmmm....

huh? bro... do you mean to say red PE is very ex or it's one of the more affordable??

i've got like lotsa of these, and i almost gave them away... i also peeled off a small part from the main colony to put on a frag plug (to test test)... haha..

good thing the main colony is still doing well.

hmmm....

Quite ex lor... Don't think it's that common...

This one has a florescent red sheen to it... have not seen this zoa in any other lfs in the last 8 months leh..

Unless I kenna kotok! lol!

red PPE do appear time to time..(it actually depends on wheere e farmer digs e coral from)

if they harvest finish e spot mayb hv to wait a while b4 they find PPe in e sea againz..

but u must c carefully.. cus sometimes e reds r not so red..

normally is dull red..

put ur red to higher spot they might bcum magicians like mine..

white dots may appear ard e mouth of e poylps..

red PPEs r damn hardy lahz..

i accidentaly slice one of e poylps it heal back on e spot..

but tht doesnt apply to other corals stuning them...

hi chamty, hope you dun mind if i use your thread... since we're on the topic of red PE...

this is my rock of Red PE... pardon my ignorance, but is this similar to what you posted earlier?

post-13920-1239801275.jpg

you see the empty patch in the middle?? haha... this is where i tore off some of the polyps.

Why did i do it?? coz i thought the black face zoas are nicer... haha.. (wanted to give the black face more room to grow)...

but i have to admit... you are right... nowadays we really do not see much of these...

btw, do you have any frags that you wish to exchange?? i've posted in Want To Trade/Exchange forum... some zoas that i have for swop...

hi chamty, hope you dun mind if i use your thread... since we're on the topic of red PE...

this is my rock of Red PE... pardon my ignorance, but is this similar to what you posted earlier?

you see the empty patch in the middle?? haha... this is where i tore off some of the polyps.

Why did i do it?? coz i thought the black face zoas are nicer... haha.. (wanted to give the black face more room to grow)...

but i have to admit... you are right... nowadays we really do not see much of these...

btw, do you have any frags that you wish to exchange?? i've posted in Want To Trade/Exchange forum... some zoas that i have for swop...

Yar... you are right! It's the same red PE..

Haha better don't tell me how cheaply u got it... sure gek sim!

The blue/purple zoa which u want to trade... is it the same as this one:

post-14934-1239803134.jpg

Let's pm on what we can trade..

Yar... you are right! It's the same red PE..

Haha better don't tell me how cheaply u got it... sure gek sim!

The blue/purple zoa which u want to trade... is it the same as this one:

post-14934-1239803134.jpg

Let's pm on what we can trade..

orh... i wun tell you how much i paid for it...

(honestly... i cannot... coz i forgot how much i paid for it... but i'm sure it's not at the high end scale, coz i just started the hobby seriously.)

hey bro..

do u hv the zoas amongst the RED PEs for frags?

the green skirt red mouth ?

u can pm me.. =)

pm me also hw much u buy ur red PEs from haha thanks..

btw u nid to give them mroe light..

opps sorrie i just found out its chamty trend..

let me knw if u wan to exchange any zoas.. =)

hey bro..

do u hv the zoas amongst the RED PEs for frags?

the green skirt red mouth ?

u can pm me.. =)

pm me also hw much u buy ur red PEs from haha thanks..

btw u nid to give them mroe light..

opps sorrie i just found out its chamty trend..

let me knw if u wan to exchange any zoas.. =)

opps... that one i dunno how to frag wor... coz it's really just that few polyps... WYSIWYG bro...

hmm... how abt this, if u're free, u can drop by, take a look, and see what u like...

max, i think can only frag 1 or 2 polyps. coz only have 7-8 polyps...

omg wilson! i SPOT 2 YELLOW ZOAS at the top of ur red PE rock! omg very nice.

bro cham sorry for hijacking ):

err... didn't u see it when u were at my place? haha...

it's just 2 polyps and 2 polyps only.

(strange... i also posted this same pix in my tank thread abt 3 months ago...)

let's not dilute bro chamty's thread.