Are the seahorses in Singapore LFS captive bred or WC?

jythong

I am thinking of getting some seahorses, but would very much prefer to have captive bred ones so that I can feed them mysis instead of live food.

Are the ones available in Singapore captive bred? I once asked an owner about the seahorses he was selling, he said they are captive bred but feed them live brine shrimp...then he became very unsure when I asked him if they can feed on frozen mysis, and I then gave up asking... :unsure:

bro, you may wish to do a search on the forum or check with bro peong who was successful in keeping and producing offspring. Think he is now into fish only setup. All the best.

bro jythong, do try to search bro peong past postings to see his setup. Impressive seahorse setup i ever saw locally...hehehe.

Thank you guys for your suggestions, looks like I need to give a lot of "training" to give should I buy some seahorses. It is just that brine shrimp is so hard to keep, most start dying after 2 days and water turn foul. Just wondering, AM sell live brine shrimp that look bigger, whereas Ah Beng sell slightly smaller brine shrimp...just wondering if there is any differences in nutritional value.

y brine shrimp? frozen mysis w do. pls do some research b4 u get into this hobby, it involve more other factors, eg. wave n tank size...

Have already researched several sites and books and they mentioned that wild caught seahorses will only feed live bs initially before being weaned onto frozen food, hence my concern for the initial stages of feeding.

don't worry, WC seahorse w oni get feeding after 2 days in ur tank, give them a small tank first ease for their feeding, then slowly move to a biger tank while they use to e aquarium, jus don't stress them, they w try on frozen mysis when they get hungry, especially tigertail.

Most sea horses sold in LPS are from the wild. :(

u r right, but their stocks mostly Juvenile n e price is quite ex., well, children will like it... :upsidedown:

If im not wrong, their seahorses are trained to eat on mysis? and captive bred should be more ex than WC. Anyway, i have not much interest in seahorses haha. But pipefish. ooo i love them

Got a banded pipefish but refusing to eat anything, even live brine shrimp...you have any advice on how to coax it to eat?

I used to have a banded pipefish. Mine at first refused to it, but then i started with live brine shrimp. It started eating live brine shrimp, however, as we know, brine shrimp not much nutrient. At first i feed it 100% brine shrimp. Then slowly 90% brine, 10% mysis. When it accidently eat the mysis and realise it liked it, i slowly increase the mysis to 20% and until 100% feeding on mysis. It is quite unusual for anything to not like brine shrimp. Fishes and other marine life usually go crazy for them.

You could try again with brine, then slowly sub mysis if it starts eating.... Otherwise, if it doesnt eat anything, could be bad. Maybe if ur tank got alot of pods, it can survive for awhile. Usually when buying this kind of fussy eaters, it is very important to make sure that they are eating well first before buying.

Hope this helps u, but if ur pipefish still doesnt wanna eat anything, even the brine shrimp, next time when u buy anymore PF or SH, ask the LFS ppl to show them feeding. If not, dun buy.

Good luck with ur fish =)

Thank you for your advice.

Generally do most lfs allow demo/trial feeding of SH or PF? If captive, probably they will only eat live BS right?

I tend to feel a bit paiseh to ask for trial feeding, like adding trouble to them... unless I know them well :unsure:

Thank you for your advice.

Generally do most lfs allow demo/trial feeding of SH or PF? If captive, probably they will only eat live BS right?

I tend to feel a bit paiseh to ask for trial feeding, like adding trouble to them... unless I know them well :unsure:

Yes, u can ask them to demo for u. I know ji@eh marine allow trail feeding. they will be very happy to show u. Henry at marine life also will be very happy to feed his pipefish infront of you. U can ask, if they dont allow, just say thank you and leave.... probably if they dun wan show u means its not eating >.< haha. Usually they will allow. Dun feel paiseh to ask them to show u. Ur the customer, and u are paying good money for their products