Skimz Monzter SM150/Deltec MCE600/H&S A110-F2000 Skimmer

Hi bros and sis, ne one ever used the above skimmers b4? any reviews? im considering to use tis either 1 for a 3 feet tank+sump...wich is beta? In terms of power consumption, deltec is the lowest, bt performance wise? ease of maintenance?

Main tank: 4.5 x 2.5 x 2
Skimmer: Deltec AP701
Return pump: RD 6

Chiller: Daikin compressor with Titanium coil
Wavemaker: Jebao w-20, Maxspect Gyre xf150

Lighting: 8x54 ATI Sunpower Non-dimmable

Linked tank
Main tank: 2 x 1 x 2
Return: Eheim 1260
Lighting: AI Hydra 26 with controller
Wavemaker: Tunze 6025
My decommed 3 ft setup

depending on wat he wants to keep...had seen reefers using that for 3ft set with sump...power consumption for all should be marginal...for maintenance purpose, maybe H&S and Skimz will have upper hand due to the pump is external. .....nevertheless, if you are going brand new, i think there are like class differences....

hmm i tink my livestocks will be more of LPS and anthias...ya..power consumption wise, omost similar, bt performance wise in actual fact, nt sure wich is beta lor...at the same time, i read tat for the H&S skimmer nid to use a separate external feed pump as the pump inside is more for circulation whereas the skimz and mce600 dun nid...can use gravity...price wise is omost similar...

for skimz, air intake is 450l/hr, mce600 is 300l/hr, h&s is 480l/hr...wat else shd i take note and compare?

thks bro solo and terryz for the kind comments...hmm class differences as in? dun understand...can explain a bit more? :unsure:

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

Haha, True maybe i am basing it on my own previous bioload... :whistle :whistle

For low stocking, should be okay.. Haha... But be on the safer side and kiasu a bit get the H&S or Skimz...

hmm i tink my livestocks will be more of LPS and anthias...ya..power consumption wise, omost similar, bt performance wise in actual fact, nt sure wich is beta lor...at the same time, i read tat for the H&S skimmer nid to use a separate external feed pump as the pump inside is more for circulation whereas the skimz and mce600 dun nid...can use gravity...price wise is omost similar...

for skimz, air intake is 450l/hr, mce600 is 300l/hr, h&s is 480l/hr...wat else shd i take note and compare?

thks bro solo and terryz for the kind comments...hmm class differences as in? dun understand...can explain a bit more? :unsure:

I am not sure about MCE600, I think it is in sump skimmer.. But H&S and Skimz require a feeding pump as they are recirculation skimmer, meaning can be place out sump or in sump... I wont recommend using gravity feed although it does save some cash on a feeding pump and the running cost... Dun feel quite reliable.. Haha...

if you are talking about buying new....i think H&S will be costly, follow by deltec mce600 and then skimz(depending on the model). mce600 is hang on type and different from H&S or Skimz which take up more space. I think H&S and Skimz have model for both in and out sump and with or without need of feed pump. So, if you got budget, you need to seriously consider factors mentioned. If budget not an issue, everything will be resolved.

Actually i managed to get MCE600 and H&S for the same price, and skimz is more ex by $20...hmm if budget is not an issue since the prices are omost similar, im tinking of skimz...it seems to be able to support a bigger capacity tank with a heavier bioload (based on the specs)...unless i managed to find a 2nd hand...

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

This is the comparison i had came out with the Deltec MCE600, H&S A110-F2000 and Skimz Monzter SM150.

Deltec MCE600

Air Intake : 300L/HR

Pump Wattage : 19W

Tank Size : 400 - 700L

Price Tag : $699

H&S A110-F2000

Air Intake : Not stated

Pump Wattage : 18W

Tank Size : 350 - 450L

Price Tag : $675

Skimz Monzter SM150

Air Intake : 450L/HR

Pump Wattage : 20W

Tank Size : 400 - 800L

Price Tag : $588

Just my own personal thoughts, most will take note on the pump wattage of the skimmer due to the electricity hike recently and also efficiency. Who would buy a skimmer thats not efficient right?

In my own views, Deltec and H&S are like the Louis Vuttons and Skimz is like the Bruan Buffels in the like of choosing a wallet but they serve the same purpose. Its up individual preference to which brand one likes. To me.. efficiency is more important then anything else.

For Deltec and H&S, no doubt they are reputatable for good skimmers but however skimmer are like IT gadgets in the IT world. There are always new and better skimmers being invented everyday and its never ending. What i know for Skimz is that its constructed locally and pieced together by hand and i'm not sure for Deltec and H&S. For me.. anything thats assembled by hand means it can be repaired by hand. Being construced locally, means repair is available anytime locally.

Price point is also an important factor to consider when it comes to buying the "heart" of your aquarium. You wan to make sure you are paying good money for something efficient to keep your tank healthy and running. I feel that Skimz offers very affordable and reasonable price for their equipments and as for the Skimz Monzter SM150, its price and efficiency definitely outshines the Deltec MCE60 and H&S A110-F2000.

The stats provided above are for you to compare.

This is the comparison i had came out with the Deltec MCE600, H&S A110-F2000 and Skimz Monzter SM150.

Deltec MCE600

Air Intake : 300L/HR

Pump Wattage : 19W

Tank Size : 400 - 700L

Price Tag : $699

H&S A110-F2000

Air Intake : Not stated

Pump Wattage : 18W

Tank Size : 350 - 450L

Price Tag : $675

Skimz Monzter SM150

Air Intake : 450L/HR

Pump Wattage : 20W

Tank Size : 400 - 800L

Price Tag : $588

Just my own personal thoughts, most will take note on the pump wattage of the skimmer due to the electricity hike recently and also efficiency. Who would buy a skimmer thats not efficient right?

In my own views, Deltec and H&S are like the Louis Vuttons and Skimz is like the Bruan Buffels in the like of choosing a wallet but they serve the same purpose. Its up individual preference to which brand one likes. To me.. efficiency is more important then anything else.

For Deltec and H&S, no doubt they are reputatable for good skimmers but however skimmer are like IT gadgets in the IT world. There are always new and better skimmers being invented everyday and its never ending. What i know for Skimz is that its constructed locally and pieced together by hand and i'm not sure for Deltec and H&S. For me.. anything thats assembled by hand means it can be repaired by hand. Being construced locally, means repair is available anytime locally.

Price point is also an important factor to consider when it comes to buying the "heart" of your aquarium. You wan to make sure you are paying good money for something efficient to keep your tank healthy and running. I feel that Skimz offers very affordable and reasonable price for their equipments and as for the Skimz Monzter SM150, its price and efficiency definitely outshines the Deltec MCE60 and H&S A110-F2000.

The stats provided above are for you to compare.

Thks bro weishun, hmm for MCE600, the price for a 1st hand is $560, H&S $570, Skimz $588...for H&S the air intake is 480l/hr :)

based on the specs, it seems tat skimz seems like a better choice though the air intake is lesser than H&S, bt for capacity it seems to be better due to the bigger tank capacity...hmm headache...haha 1st time buying a skimmer, so no experience haha

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

good to check users' reviews. For deltec and H&S , based on users' review, does not seem to have much problem. Skinz new skimmer is new but based on the construction and using similar technology as deltec, etc, needle wheel pump, performance should be more or less there.

I definitely agree on after sales support and services provided. Doubt much repair is needed except for the pump and needle wheel impellor. Unless the workmanship got problem which causes leakage, i dont see many skimmers needed to be sent in for repair. Warranty on the product is one factor to look at but i also think the extra miles that some shops give......

Hi bros and sis, ne one ever used the above skimmers b4? any reviews? im considering to use tis either 1 for a 3 feet tank+sump...wich is beta? In terms of power consumption, deltec is the lowest, bt performance wise? ease of maintenance?

I'm not that sure :erm: but Steve once mention that Skimz skimmer consume lesser power :P ...

just see the pump.....

I'm not that sure :erm: but Steve once mention that Skimz skimmer consume lesser power :P ...

haha no wor...skimz is 20W, whereas deltec is 19W and H&S is 18W :)

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

good to check users' reviews. For deltec and H&S , based on users' review, does not seem to have much problem. Skinz new skimmer is new but based on the construction and using similar technology as deltec, etc, needle wheel pump, performance should be more or less there.

I definitely agree on after sales support and services provided. Doubt much repair is needed except for the pump and needle wheel impellor. Unless the workmanship got problem which causes leakage, i dont see many skimmers needed to be sent in for repair. Warranty on the product is one factor to look at but i also think the extra miles that some shops give......

ya lor...tats y hopefully can get advises by snr reefers lor me stil super newbie haha still haf so much tings to learn...true...after sales svc is veri impt..i gotta agree wif tt

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup

asking in forum may not get what u really wan too, there is politics even in the forum,so certain fan of certain brand will give u thumbs up for what they support.

i see that u r quite concern about the air intake, please note that air intake doenst mean the more the better.

it have to be proportionate.

ask yourself,

will u go for oversea brands like sony, or support local like creative..

if this isnt a concern, then u have minimize ur headaches

next, furnishing isit important to u?

then comes to the stocking part,

some claim can cope 1000L, some claim can skim up to 500L

but if i have a skimmer that can cope at 800L, will it do better in a 1000L with onli less then 5fish and corals? or will it be able to cope with 500L but with 200fishes and corals.

just my 2cents

i used the MCE 600 before for my 2 feet cube. i would say it is one of the best skimmer available for a nano cube.

Maintainence can be troublesome as u need to take out of the pump from the reaction chamber during servicing, but well... u only do that once in a while.collection cup is super small, thus, if ur load is high, u need to clean the cup very often...

other than that, i would say it is a very efficient skimmer, easy to use, basically just plug and play and reasonable noise.

thks all for the input. appreciate it. i tink i have decided on what im getting..hopefully i wun regret it later haha :D

Linked tank
My decommed 3 ft setup