Roidan's Reef (I)

roidan

not good life lah...u win some...u lose some... ;)

yeah...i was thinking about the local reef relief...but after considering, i'd go with something that has been tried and tested all over the world for years...no disrespect to reef relief of coz...i have a "fetish" for european stuff.... :P

my 4 ft tank too congested with rocks liao...will move some over to the 6 foot...must share share...getting some from bro joe_p also..

• Replies 3.2k

good life man.. glad to hear you going ahead n full of supportive family. haha..

for me, I got to persuade wife n parents.. mostly wife even though I use own money.

as for pump n equipment, u can try aqua star at yishun, beside HDB.

actual fact your 4ft tank is quite good. may have someone who may like it. (maybe or me.. haha..!!)

I still ponderin over ah jie lobang across the "river".

chiller, tat model u going for only 0.5hp. can work for your tank..?

suggest u go for 1hp.

well, not every single one supports lah...for one i know sure sian 1/2 is my maid...means lots of things i need her to do...lol

well, the supportive ones offer financial or physical help (my gf pouring sand)....the non supportive ones...never say anything

anyway...this time round my back wun break coz i wun spend time plucking algae and getting rid of crabs and mantis shrimps...did too much work for my 4ft....

heh heh.... you setting up yours and i will be doing an extension... will post you a pic of it and how i wanna do it and let you see... kekeke... :yeah::yeah:

now just need to get apporval as i oledi have the enginnering aspect sorted out already... :angel:

cheap rocks to deco a large tank with expensive equipment... well. I think might as well spent abit more..

later ppl first impression is lookin at the tank, then equipment.. layman will look just at tank..! so deco

in the tank is impt.

hehe...but then i want to have the joy of seeing coraline algae creep up...not buy those totally encrusted ones leh...hehe...coz i am sure my coralfarm tonga branches can seed off the other rocks...

besides, i dun want to pay too much for rocks already, wait family think i siao paying so much for stones...hehe

I never knew you people actually went to seek for permit for your gigantic tanks.

hmm.

either that or you must have neighbours who really hate you, thats why. :P kidding kidding (=

hehe..no lah..i scared mah..i read somewhere dunno someone genna complain by neighbour below because the neighbour's ceiling genna cracks...and hdb went to investigate and realise the loading caused it....

the poor guy had to pay fine and sell away his tank...so if building a big tank..better get *talisman* from hdb first..lol

yeah lor..hahaha..thats why i give up the 8ft idea liao...

maximum for cabinet concept without permit needed is 6.5ft by 3ft tank....

maximum for metal stand concept without permit is 4ft by duno how much ft....

hehehe..so mine just nice no need permit lor...sigh....8ft tank dream burst....lol

the main reason why cabinet can do bigger is because the loading is uniform along the whole cabinet dimension whereas the stand with 4 or 6 legs...all the weight is acting on those legs, creating pressure points on the floor....

AT's tank is metal stand...but he did away with legs and rested the whole metal stand on piece of wood if i am not wrong....so the loading is along the whole horizontal beams of the stand...so it's the same loading principle as cabinet lor

do you think its easy to get the approval ah...just type a letter..submit floor plan to them hor...dunno must wait how long to be approved...lol

actually even thinking of doing up to 8ft...but the need for permit makes me shrug... :sick:

no i mean approval from domestic engineer ###### financial comtroller... :rolleyes:

transfering some from my current 4 foot...as u can see really too much rocks liao....and getting some from bro joe_p

so not getting those uncured ones lor....

not say alot la... see mine first... almost 110kg liao and i am still thinking of adding another 20 odd kg to the system...

an i still have not got any branches yet......... :angel:

post-34-1070295119.jpg

yeah lor..hahaha..thats why i give up the 8ft idea liao...

maximum for cabinet concept without permit needed is 6.5ft by 3ft tank....

maximum for metal stand concept without permit is 4ft by duno how much ft....

hehehe..so mine just nice no need permit lor...sigh....8ft tank dream burst....lol

the main reason why cabinet can do bigger is because the loading is uniform along the whole cabinet dimension whereas the stand with 4 or 6 legs...all the weight is acting on those legs, creating pressure points on the floor....

AT's tank is metal stand...but he did away with legs and rested the whole metal stand on piece of wood if i am not wrong....so the loading is along the whole horizontal beams of the stand...so it's the same loading principle as cabinet lor

mine final one will be a L-shape one... one side 4ft long and the other... 6 ft.... so should be okie i think... :rolleyes: