• Replies 3.2k

Roidan,

Personally, I felt that you should go for a 80% reef and 20% fish on your 6ft tank. Transfer all your good stuff from your 4ft to save some $$$. Invest a good chiller for the coral. Basically, focus all your energy to make the 6ft tank your No. 1 tank. As for the 4ft, use it as stand by first, may be just keep some predator fishes. And once your budget is widen, then start to invest the 4ft tank.

schematic guide from HDB

yea... me was thinkning also reading up on the website... but the me other tank... if it comes true would be on two seperate stands supporting the complete tank.. so would be less load lor... and have some eight stand supports.... hmmm... <_<

$6k for 6ft reef/fish tank I reckon, will be barely stretchin the limits..

good skimmer, tank, chiller, MH.. going to cost u nearly there. not to forget, chio LR n sands.

Fowlr will be more cost effective. I suggest go for fowlr. easier to maintain n lower cost by at least 50%. no need to go cheong LFS looking for corals after you stock up your fishes..

this hdb plan says only 4 foot stand. 4 foot stand is for 3 feet or less tanks. If u are having 4 feet to 6 foot tanks, u must have 6 foots. so its OK as the load is distributed away to 6 foot on ground. But I would prefer 6 feet tank to have 8 foot because I dont want my stand to collapse after several months of full load.

Roidan, I suggest shifting everything to the new tank too and save those money.

BTW if u need to shift those things, u can pm me too but need earlier notice. I like to see your 6 feet tank too.

hehe..tank confirmed...will be setting up the 6 foot tank in the living room...will isolate it away from my current 4 foot until it is ready to house lifestock from my 4 foot now...since the stuff in my 4 foot have just gotten use to the tank...dun wanna risk moving them in such short time...

Anyway, if no one wants to buy my current 4foot or offer ridiculous prices, i will keep the current 4 foot as Quarantine tank before unleasing exensive but ich-prone specimens into the new 6 foot tank...

Equipment confirmed:

AquaC EV-240

Teco 680

Anyway, does anyone knows where to find Laguna Pumps? I may want to take a good look at it...

Tentative List of Equipment:

Eheim 1264 (if available) as return pump or Laguna series Pump....

AquaC Ev240 powered by Eheim 1262 or Laguna Series Pump again

3x150W 10KK MH (DIY) Tank is 2 foot deep...dun wanna go full 3 x 250W

Teco 680 Chiller

3x54W T5 lights for the refugium

Tunze Streams...maybe use my TS7 or get another non programmable stream at the other end...

and..what have i left out... :erm:

eh you got tank maker details already? (=

yeah....met him this afternoon before i went off in the evening for some stuff...well, as his loyal customer, my tank will be here soon, opting for a full cabinet setup this time....dun wanna risk with metal liao...and also to give uniform loading to the floor.

Sibei Good life leh Roidan..

4feet tank just up and then now a bigger 6 feet

why u so good got such supportive gf and family?

i broke my bank to get my 5 feet sia...

and my family all frown on the tank..

sigh...

really envious of u sia..

hey all the best!!

i really hope ur 6 feet will even surpass ur 4feet..by the way..ur 4 feet already very nice i must say..

hey for chiller...why dun get dr chill's one?

i using the 0.5hp one..super good i feel...

just my 2 cents...

dun be offended...

lastly...thanks for all the advice and pm u shared with me!

cheers!!