roidan Posted January 10, 2004 Author Share Posted January 10, 2004 with regards to your new clam tank, does it come with its own sump tank? no bro...i will pump water from one part of my current sump tank to the clam tank and the clam tank drains to the other side of the sump tank...so my sump tank is like supplying water to both tanks..hehe Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted January 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 10, 2004 Wow.. how many liters of water will your system contain now after adding the clamtank? Will you need to uprate your skimmer/CR? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 10, 2004 Author Share Posted January 10, 2004 Wow.. how many liters of water will your system contain now after adding the clamtank? Will you need to uprate your skimmer/CR? not much lah...the clam tank is just a 2ft by 2ft base with 1 ft in height.... my skimmer can skim till 300gallons.... so...i think i havent even hit 200 gallons or maybe just slight over 200gallons by now... Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted January 10, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 10, 2004 ya.. gg... got dental appointment le then gg to collect sea fan from deepblue.. after that then go to farm lol.. think will reach ar abt 1 smt 2.. RW also got clams... green bubbles too.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bwilly Posted January 10, 2004 Share Posted January 10, 2004 eh..? sample got meh..? morrow b4 going back sembawang, I go get some free sample from rodian house. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 10, 2004 Author Share Posted January 10, 2004 eh..? sample got meh..? morrow b4 going back sembawang, I go get some free sample from rodian house. no lah..i mean if bro barra wanna come my place..must bring some samples...hehehe.. Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 10, 2004 Author Share Posted January 10, 2004 hehe..ok.... cant wait for the cookies..think i will finish them before chinese new year Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nutx Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 Hi, Can I ask why you dun want to have the return pipe through a hole, something like either the red circle I draw in the pic? This will hide all the piping, esp your clam tank is to view from top? I'm thinking of doing such a return for a new tank, but dunno whether it is practical or no. thanks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 actually can lah...but i dun know where exactly the final water level will be due to variations like the return pump and other factors...at least if i use this method..i can vary the length of pipe and joints to ensure not much water flow back in power outage.....i dun want to use a one way valve as it will take out alot of flow from the powerhead.... so if i use the method like u said, when power fails, quite alot of water will flow back into the sump which i do not want...at least with this overhead return method, abit unsightly, but at least i can vary the height of the return outlet to determine when the siphon break will occur....hehe Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 Bro, any updates on the clam tank? i am sure you were very busy today :-) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member ah^siao Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 mayb he is too busy to take pic also.. hahaha big busy man Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 haha..here are some pics...just transferred some clams over..dun wanna do a mass migration now Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 Roidan, wow! how many clams do you have exactly? Must have cost you a bomb! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 Roidan, wow! how many clams do you have exactly? Must have cost you a bomb! lost count....more than 30 i think...hehe... and now with room for more Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lvcap Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 here here.... these are what i call nice clams!! i dun have so deep pockets like roidan.. only got DSB wahahhaha all the best roidan!! no plans to put other LS inside this tank except clams? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 maybe some pipefishes...mandarins...or seahorses..hehe Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 Roidan, maybe can keep 1 or 2 six line wrasse to guard the clams againts pest.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 yeah..heard that the 6line wrasse is useful Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member lvcap Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 guard against what kind of pests?? hey roidan..if u ever wan to sell ur clams..do let me know... sure will be a nice specimen.. whahha Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 11, 2004 Share Posted January 11, 2004 Wah... Like LFS selling clams... LOLz... Look very pro ler Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 guard against what kind of pests?? hey roidan..if u ever wan to sell ur clams..do let me know... sure will be a nice specimen.. whahha some tiny snails that eat clams..hehe but i shouldnt be selling clams unless no space lor..hehe Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 Wah... Like LFS selling clams... LOLz... Look very pro ler oi..should be more pro than LFS selling clams..hehehe no lah...just like clams... anyway, got some serious issues to settle tonight...ciaoz Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member BarraCudaTM Posted January 11, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 11, 2004 Raymond .. must warn you first.. Be sure to quarantine yr new clams, I experienced the clam diease before .. it can and will wipe out the entire population of clams within days. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 11, 2004 Author Share Posted January 11, 2004 yeah..read about it in reefcentral.. seems to affect mostly maximas.... i always freshwater clean my clams before putting in....so far ok lah....but like u say..never know when disaster strikes.... quarantine is the way to go Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...