roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 i felt 2 ft quite tall already...i dun wanna get my armpits wet when maintaining...hehee cupboard tall so that i can put a big skimmer...lol.. Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted January 6, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2004 Bro, cupboard ht of 3 ft should be enuff liao, if not going for those extra tall skimmers like EV400... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 i wanted to put in the ev400...that's why i made the cupboard this high...hehehe but in the end edmund had immediate stocks for ev240...which i havent regret...coz the ev400 will also mean needing a higher powered pump.... but either way, having a taller cabinet will give you more space to maneuveur while doing maintenance to the sump Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted January 6, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2004 your cabinet is 3.5ft ht rite? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 your cabinet is 3.5ft ht rite? agar between 3.5 to 4ft.... but less than 4ft for sure..hehe Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nutx Posted January 6, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2004 agar between 3.5 to 4ft.... but less than 4ft for sure..hehe And to do maintanence have to climb up the ladders! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 yeah..haha.. but hor..u think about it...even normal height tanks....you will need ladder for full access to the tank also mah...so not much hassle using ladders lah...hehee Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member nutx Posted January 6, 2004 SRC Member Share Posted January 6, 2004 yeah..haha.. but hor..u think about it...even normal height tanks....you will need ladder for full access to the tank also mah...so not much hassle using ladders lah...hehee I've a tank that is that tall, and my ladder just became it's partner eventually.....too lazy to keep! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 can hang beside the tank....permanent fixture liao..haha then i better spray the aluminium to black so complement the colours....use my tamiya spray cans...LOL...kidding Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 6, 2004 Share Posted January 6, 2004 heng... the next tank i planning is without a cabinet... no need to climb ladder... LOLz... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 now u can see how tall the skimmer is....lol.... if i wanted the ev400...probably put it beside the sump tank and make a smaller sump tank.... and you can see how bright the 3x54W T5s are Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 6, 2004 Share Posted January 6, 2004 Like those tresure chest... Open liao... bright bright... LOlz... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 Like those tresure chest... Open liao... bright bright... LOlz... haha... very messy inside lah...paiseh to open the pandora's box Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 6, 2004 Share Posted January 6, 2004 Ermm... would like to ask wat pump you using for your Ev 240... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 Ermm... would like to ask wat pump you using for your Ev 240... er..think i just posted.. laguna utility 5 pump.. 4850l/hr at zero head using 55w..... but once pushing at height, lose a lot of flow....not suitable for a return pump in my opinion... but the wattage consumption quite attractive..hehe if using the flowrate/tank volume ratio, the skimmer would have process the whole water volume about 8 times every hour.... Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 6, 2004 Share Posted January 6, 2004 8x an hour... Then it is 192x a day... Is there a smaller model... one more suitable for Ev 120... Sorry didnt take note... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 yeah..thats why i think before the dissolved organics got chance to break down...all genna skimmed up liao.. coz in perfect situation....4850l/hr divided by tank volume about 600l.....about 8 times per hour... hehehe.....but of coz due to hose and injector pressure losses, the turnover should be less lor....but still highly efficient in my opinion.. so far i only saw the utility 5...it's at the shop in downtown east....go check it out Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 6, 2004 Share Posted January 6, 2004 OKaie... the S****star aquarium huh... thkz bro.. Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 6, 2004 Author Share Posted January 6, 2004 OKaie... the S****star aquarium huh... thkz bro.. yeah.... and the price very good for this european pump...less than $100...can't remember how much... and the shaft is ceramic...so no problems with rusting....i also read in this forum that some bros using and recommend it...so i went to try.. if i am not wrong, bro cedric was the one Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 finally! got hold of a proper purple gorgonian..... bro williamuk: if you ever read this, still nowhere close to your show specimen...but getting there Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 close up.... Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terryz_ Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 All i can say is WOW!!! Never seen such intense color before... Member of: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weileong Posted January 8, 2004 Share Posted January 8, 2004 EV-240 actually needs a pump that can do about 750-800 gph at 6' head. So if your pump can meet the specs then it means a flow thru rate of 550 gph. The actual turnover rate by the skimmer also depends on the sump turnover rate. Weileong's 4ft tank Part I Weileong's 4ft tank Part II Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 All i can say is WOW!!! Never seen such intense color before... sometimes got such colours..but the polyps dun open up...and some damage along the way...so its quite rare to have a nice one lor..... bro williamuk has an awesome piece.... Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
roidan Posted January 8, 2004 Author Share Posted January 8, 2004 EV-240 actually needs a pump that can do about 750-800 gph at 6' head. So if your pump can meet the specs then it means a flow thru rate of 550 gph. The actual turnover rate by the skimmer also depends on the sump turnover rate. yeah..quite true.... but as long as it works...no matter wat flow rate hor...hehehe coz yazid using a 3000plus l/hr powerhead if i am not wrong to run the same skimmer and it works as well for him Advanced Aquarist (March05) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...