My Fish is sick...

Stay calm...do a 50% water change first & check ya water parameters. All the Best !

My fish is sick... When i wake up this morning I got my Blackie lying dead in the sandbed...

I think my goby is sick too, I have taken out the problem live rock, and the water does not seems clear. So lost and upset that I don't know what I can do... :cry2:

Fishes die mainly due to high nitrate and phosphate which will lead to ich and other parasites problems. After water change check for these parameters again and try to improve on filtration like better protein skimmer,add carbon and anti phosphate media.Also observe less feeding. Overfeeding usually leads to high phosphate and nitrate.

All the best.

Fishes die mainly due to high nitrate and phosphate which will lead to ich and other parasites problems. After water change check for these parameters again and try to improve on filtration like better protein skimmer,add carbon and anti phosphate media.Also observe less feeding. Overfeeding usually leads to high phosphate and nitrate.

All the best.

Ok ok, will try... But wat is Protein Skimmer? Thanks!!

Wah. Pardon me but I think u need a lot of research to do. Go to any LFS and ask for a good protein skimmer. The best is if your tank is 3ft for example than get a skimmer that is good for 4ft tank. This is just my opinion. I'm sure others have their own views.

Ok ok, will try... But wat is Protein Skimmer? Thanks!!

Dun tell me you dun have skimmer in place :rolleyes: ?

Just curious to know how long have you been in this marine hobby and are your tank newly set up B) ?

btw...Blackie??? Are you refering to Black Tang? if yes....then I :angry: !

Wah. Pardon me but I think u need a lot of research to do. Go to any LFS and ask for a good protein skimmer. The best is if your tank is 3ft for example than get a skimmer that is good for 4ft tank. This is just my opinion. I'm sure others have their own views.

I went to a few shop and all of them tell me my tank too small and dun need a protein skimmer at all... Wat should i do next?

Need some more essential information like how old the tank is, how big it is, are you using a sump, what's your water volume, have you tested for nitrites and nitrates, what's your tank temperature (are you using a chiller), is your pH stable, what other lifestock do you have.

Don't fall back on medications so easily, you might not have fulfilled the basic requirements of keeping a reef tank yet. If all of these are fulfilled and stable, then maybe we can try and understand why the fish died. Otherwise it's highly likely

1. Your tank is not cycled properly.

2. Your nitrites/nitrates are too high.

3. Temperature might be fluctuating too much.

Just saw your other thread where you were asking where to buy fish and liverocks just 4 days ago.

I'm making an assumption here, but I presume your tank is just 4 days old. Then your problem is likely to be ammonia/nitrite spike, due to die off from your liverocks. Even though LRs may be cured, there will be a certain amount of die off of the organisms initially. The bacteria will not be sufficient to break down the amount of ammonia released.

Do a search about the ANN cycle. Lots of information online that can help you out.

But don't worry. Many many people have been through the same. Same thing can also happen with established tanks. So you're not alone. Main thing is to learn from the mistakes of others :D

Just saw your other thread where you were asking where to buy fish and liverocks just 4 days ago.

I'm making an assumption here, but I presume your tank is just 4 days old. Then your problem is likely to be ammonia/nitrite spike, due to die off from your liverocks. Even though LRs may be cured, there will be a certain amount of die off of the organisms initially. The bacteria will not be sufficient to break down the amount of ammonia released.

Do a search about the ANN cycle. Lots of information online that can help you out.

But don't worry. Many many people have been through the same. Same thing can also happen with established tanks. So you're not alone. Main thing is to learn from the mistakes of others :D

Hee, ppl say i over kan cheong to put in LS... I too excited to put things in la tats why my fish die. Now my tank is 8 days old but still unstable cos my Clown got white spot leh. I throw away the smelly LR tat seems to be the problem. Hope everything will be fine from now... I got my information all online here and there from forums cos I have no friends interested in Marine Fish at all. So alone... but luckily learn a lot from helpful ppl in here... I dunno how to arrange my LR and my BF says my tank dun look nice leh... Dunno how.

btw, just wondering, where did you get your setup from, and who has been giving you advice?

ya i also curious to know, where got tank too small no need skimmer,

skimmer belongs to 1 of the most important part of the tank , other then lighting and cooling

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

Hee, ppl say i over kan cheong to put in LS... I too excited to put things in la tats why my fish die. Now my tank is 8 days old but still unstable cos my Clown got white spot leh. I throw away the smelly LR tat seems to be the problem. Hope everything will be fine from now... I got my information all online here and there from forums cos I have no friends interested in Marine Fish at all. So alone... but luckily learn a lot from helpful ppl in here... I dunno how to arrange my LR and my BF says my tank dun look nice leh... Dunno how.

bro,

got to take your time, especially since dealing with live animals.

also the LR smelly doesnt really mean its a goner.. mayb just needs time to cure.

mayb u should share where you are buying your stocks and also post some pics of your current setup.

whether its a fowlr or lps or sps....u definitely need a good skimmer...

to maintain a healthy brood of fishies.. u gota invest a lil in equipment...

my 2 cents. happy reefing man

Dun tell me you dun have skimmer in place :rolleyes: ?

Just curious to know how long have you been in this marine hobby and are your tank newly set up B) ?

btw...Blackie??? Are you refering to Black Tang? if yes....then I :angry: !

I dont think the balckie is Blacktang!! :eyebrow: Maybe black clown fish I assume!! :ph34r:

Yap :D . Hope after this tank crash, she can learn from mistake :whistle .

If blackie is a black tang...OMG :D

In any case, the LR probably not a goner, it just needs time to cure.

Get yourself a skimmer, small nano one can liao. Only problem is it sounds like you have no sump, so you might wanna consider those hang-on types.

No more LS for at least 2 weeks I would say. Leave the LR where it is. Get bacteria cultures from LFS. Go to the one at Hong Leong. Let your whole system stabilise first, then add 1 fish every 1 week, dosing bacteria at the same time.

When you wanna do your rockscape, my personal opinion is that there is no use just stacking rocks on top of each other, and then pretending that you have a scape. Try and create something natural, like valleys, canyons, hills, cave openings, water flow lines, hangovers, rock ledges, headlands, bays. I feel the rockscape should tell a story, imagine you're having a walk and these are the natural features you come across...

its better to do lots of research, complete the cycling process (with adequate water tests), and get 2nd hand equipment from the reefers here at the buy/sell forum for a start.. many reefers here will give good advice on what are the essential equipment, which brands, and tips to start out smooth in marine keeping.. :)

lots of members' tanks will give u inspiration on rock scaping as well.. i myself have made many friends here since i started out marine.. u will feel the sense of achievement once u grasp the technique, and will truly enjoy this hobby, good luck and have patience.. :lol:

Totally agree with you man...

As I sink deeper and deeper into this hobby, it's not only the beauty of the reef that keeps me going, but the challenge of maintaining an eco-system that drives me along :D I've found that as long as the basic rules and basic equipment needs are met, keeping a reef tank is relatively straight forward. But as with every natural environment, something will come along that will challenge you :D

So Agnes, don't give up, take this as a learning opportunity. Learn from your mistakes and you will feel the reward when your next attempt meets only with success :D

If blackie is a black tang...OMG :D

In any case, the LR probably not a goner, it just needs time to cure.

Get yourself a skimmer, small nano one can liao. Only problem is it sounds like you have no sump, so you might wanna consider those hang-on types.

No more LS for at least 2 weeks I would say. Leave the LR where it is. Get bacteria cultures from LFS. Go to the one at Hong Leong. Let your whole system stabilise first, then add 1 fish every 1 week, dosing bacteria at the same time.

When you wanna do your rockscape, my personal opinion is that there is no use just stacking rocks on top of each other, and then pretending that you have a scape. Try and create something natural, like valleys, canyons, hills, cave openings, water flow lines, hangovers, rock ledges, headlands, bays. I feel the rockscape should tell a story, imagine you're having a walk and these are the natural features you come across...

Wow, i didn't know rockscape can be so so erm... I will try out tonight. As for the skimmer, where can i get a small one?

Totally agree with you man...

As I sink deeper and deeper into this hobby, it's not only the beauty of the reef that keeps me going, but the challenge of maintaining an eco-system that drives me along :D I've found that as long as the basic rules and basic equipment needs are met, keeping a reef tank is relatively straight forward. But as with every natural environment, something will come along that will challenge you :D

So Agnes, don't give up, take this as a learning opportunity. Learn from your mistakes and you will feel the reward when your next attempt meets only with success :D

I am still learning, a bit slow though... Hope my fishes can survive. Will be going down to source for my Skimmer probably this weekend. Can anyone advise me a good deal... Mine is jus a 35L smalll tank... Hope after the Skimmer is intro my LS can survive thru. BTW, i have been reading thru this forum and found out tat ppl with even smaller tank than mine can do such nice rockscape leh... Motivate mi to work on it tonight!!! Hee hee, so excited...

Hi

To be honest, a small tank like yours would be difficult for new reefers (though not impossible) to keep marine fishes cos parameters can swing and change fairly quickly...your bioload has to be kept very minimum. Since you have already started out, they are many successful nano tanks under "Nano Reef" thread which l think you should take some time to go through.

1 ft tank set up (talk about prizm skimmer i think)

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=70185

(nano tank setup)

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showforum=69

Hi

To be honest, a small tank like yours would be difficult for new reefers (though not impossible) to keep marine fishes cos parameters can swing and change fairly quickly...your bioload has to be kept very minimum. Since you have already started out, they are many successful nano tanks under "Nano Reef" thread which l think you should take some time to go through.

1 ft tank set up (talk about prizm skimmer i think)

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=70185

(nano tank setup)

http://www.sgreefclub.com/forum/index.php?showforum=69

Thanks... I really learn a lot!

Things to buy:-

1) Fan (to cool down my water temp)

2) More LR (for my rockscaping)

3) Light Timer (in case i not at home, no1 can help mi on the lights for my tank)

4) Digital Readings for Water Temp

Is there any equipment for me to auto dispense the food for my fishes? Cos i will not be at home for a few days end of this month... Erm, anymore things i needed?