Zoanthids Pox

One of zoanthids keepers' nightmare... Zoa Pox !!!

post-22-1225267133.jpg

pic from other webbie

just to share among fellow reefers on the "possible" cure for zoas pox. though some reefers in other webbie successfully cure the zoas pox, while others didn't.

Causes:

Though exact cause not known but speculations spread from too much of carbon or agressive skimmer usage, lacks of nutrients in water, too much or too little lightings, etc.

Contagious?

Not known, although some said it wouldn't spread around.

Cure?

Furan-2 tablet. loads of info on how other try to cure this disease, yes zoa pox is a disease, can be found below.

Below is taken directly from zoaid (http://www.zoaid.com/articles004.php)

What is Furan-2?

Furan-2 tablets are effective against a wide variety of gram positive and gram negative bacterial diseases for freshwater and saltwater fish. This medication will cause a harmless green color in the aquarium, which can be removed with activated carbon. This medication can be used in conjunction with Aquarium Pharmaceuticals anti-parasitic medications. This medication will not harm the biological filter in fresh or saltwater aquariums.

For treatment of: Dropsy, furunculosis, gill disease, fin and tail rot and black molly disease.

Instructions (as per the manufacture):

Use one capsule for every 10 gallons of aquarium water

Wait 24 hours and repeat dose

Wait another 24 hours and make a 25% water change

Repeat this treatment for a second time for a total of 4 doses of Furan-2

Make a final 25% water change and add fresh activated carbon

Repeat if necessary

Ingredients:

Each capsule of Furan-2 contains:

60mg Nitrofurazone

25mg Furazolidone

2mg Methylene Blue Trihydrate

Additional requirements for treatment:

1 cup of RO water

1 capsule of Furan

1 extra cup of Aquarium Water (this is used to wash the Zoanthids after the treatment and before they are put back into your Aquarium; I do this because I don't want to risk Furan killing any of my fish or other corals).*

*Note: Through my experiment I found out that even if you don't wash your Zoanthid before putting it back into the main tank, it will not hurt any live stock or corals, (I have tested this on my own). But I'm washing it anyway just to be on the safe side. (ZoaID.com notes: t is always a good idea to target treat infected animals vs. a global tank treatment when possible!)

PH, Temp, and Salinity Level:

Make sure you match the temp, pH, and salinity level of your RO water to your current tank before the treatment.

Procedure:

place 1 capsule into the RO cup and mix it good until the RO water turns green. Put the zoa in the Furan mix and leave it for xxx minutes. I recommend at least 15 min but not more than 30 min.

After the treatment, wash the zoas in your tank water on the other cup you had put aside. Then put the zoas back in the tank where there is a stronger flow.

*Note: Your zoa will have a green dye to its body but it is fine. The green dye should fade away in a day or two.

Do 3 treatments in a row then let it rest for 4-7 days; depending on the condition of your Zoanthids. If the ZoaPox is still on the Zoanthids then continue with another three treatments. But make sure you let it rest 4-7 days after every 3 treatments.

Temp:

Keep in mind; during the treatment I slowly increase my temp from 78 to 81-82. Furan works best in higher heat. But I would not go over 82. In freshwater I bump it up to 84-86 for Furan treatment against fungus.

Water Changes:

I also increase my water changes from 5 gal per week to 10 gal every 3 days. (This is in a 75G tank.)

*Note: I did another test on the effectiveness of water change. With water changes my Zoanthids seem to recover quicker. On the other hand, Zoanthids that receive no water changes still recover, but it just takes longer.

Recommended Instructions for long-term treatment of ZoaPox:

1st WEEK

Day 1: 1st treatment started with 20 min dip

Day 2: 2nd treatment started with 20 min dip

Day 3: 3rd treatment started with 20 min dip

Let the colony rest for 1 week

*Note: If your Zoanthid has recovered and you still want to do another dip, please reduce the amount of dipping time when you do so. Also, you don't have to do another treatment if your Zoanthid is completely healed. I'm doing another treatment on mine just to make sure the ZoaPox is completely eradicated.

2nd WEEK

Day 1: 4th treatment started with 10 min dip

Day 2: 5th treatment started with 10 min dip

Day 3: 6th treatment started with 10 min dip

You may also goto below link where others om tried the Furan-2.

http://archive.reefcentral.com/forums/show...t=zoanthids+pox

Do share your experience and success, if any.

Where to get Furan-2?

Got to get this online, else try Marine XXXX or PetXXXX (think they should have it).

Do feel free to add-on any more info relating to zoas pox for sharing purposes.

got it with the help from MXXXXX. : X

alamak, i mean the Furan - 2. Faster edit, wait she get too many pm, think i wont get my zoa frag from her liao.....her zoas are heathy one....

sometime wonders whether the zoa pox is sand particle that the zoa consumed.....

i still got the title as boy....lol

C328, Aunty that side sells it

And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that has life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven. And God created great whales, and every living creature that moves, which the waters brought forth abundantly, after their kind, and every winged fowl after his kind: and God saw that it was good. And God blessed them, saying, Be fruitful, and multiply, and fill the waters in the seas, and let fowl multiply in the earth. And the evening and the morning were the fifth day.

me talking rubbish....lol...think forgot to take medicine....paiseh for the confusion.

C328, Aunty that side sells it

just tell her furan-2 she will know?

that time i went polyart, they have quite a few medication called furan-something. some made by qian hu some imported from china...

but i dun dare to buy scared later kill my zoas instead....

just tell her furan-2 she will know?

that time i went polyart, they have quite a few medication called furan-something. some made by qian hu some imported from china...

but i dun dare to buy scared later kill my zoas instead....

Furan-2 was only available for a short period of time a few months back, due to some mistake..... It is usually not sold locally.

You can try your luck at C328, Aunty should know if you mention Furan-2. Not sure if they still have it though.

n34281892381_7606.jpg

Furan-2 was only available for a short period of time a few months back, due to some mistake..... It is usually not sold locally.

You can try your luck at C328, Aunty should know if you mention Furan-2. Not sure if they still have it though.

hey ming, thanks for your input. when you mean not sold locally, does it mean that such medications is not allowed for sale in singapore?

Think one LFS owner told me that it not allowed here. Others just say they don't sell it. :unsure:

n34281892381_7606.jpg

hmm....hope the LFS wont get into trouble.....if any bro want to try, i can spare some....but at your own risk....