How to test if LiveSand or LiveRocks are leaching PO4

dachkie

need some help, been having problems with PO4 for a few months already, photometer test shows that i have PO4 ranging from lowest 0.03 to highest 0.16, used up 4000ml of rowa in 2 months and i still cannot get it below 0.03, and at 0.03 it doesnt last for more then 2 days before i start seeing the readings shoot up again, i already did a 100l water change consecutive for the last 3 day and suck out whatever detritus i could suck in the sump, main tank and clean my dsb in my sump, and my maintainence is 100l water change weekly which is arn 10% of my total water volume.

Any1 got any idea how can i troubleshoot to find out where the PO4 are leaching from? now my only last suspect is either the rocks or the sand in my dsb, while i was cleaning the sand in my 5 inch dsb that is in my sump around 40kg of sand, i notice when i remove the top layer there are alot of blackish dirt or water underneath the sand, are all dsb like this? i have always thought detritus and dirt would settle on top of the sand and not underneath it, so i do not think those are detritus, would removing the dsb sand entirely cause any big problems in the tank? thinking of decomming the dsb, the tank is 6 months old, dsb started from day 1.

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

need some help, been having problems with PO4 for a few months already, photometer test shows that i have PO4 ranging from lowest 0.03 to highest 0.16, used up 4000ml of rowa in 2 months and i still cannot get it below 0.03, and at 0.03 it doesnt last for more then 2 days before i start seeing the readings shoot up again, i already did a 100l water change consecutive for the last 3 day and suck out whatever detritus i could suck in the sump, main tank and clean my dsb in my sump, and my maintainence is 100l water change weekly which is arn 10% of my total water volume.

Any1 got any idea how can i troubleshoot to find out where the PO4 are leaching from? now my only last suspect is either the rocks or the sand in my dsb, while i was cleaning the sand in my 5 inch dsb that is in my sump around 40kg of sand, i notice when i remove the top layer there are alot of blackish dirt or water underneath the sand, are all dsb like this? i have always thought detritus and dirt would settle on top of the sand and not underneath it, so i do not think those are detritus, would removing the dsb sand entirely cause any big problems in the tank? thinking of decomming the dsb, the tank is 6 months old, dsb started from day 1.

hi bro,

One of the source of phosphate is from rocks, this one cannot be help as this is a natural occurance even in natural sea environment. Phosphate in the natural stimulaed algae growth, to feed organisms such as plankton, sea mammals and fishes.

Another source is excess nutrients in your water.

Unless u get a phosphate and denitrator double chamber reactor and fix it in your sump. But its quite an investment.

I do switch on my ozoniser 3-4 times a week for 4hrs. But it remains to be proven to reduce phosphate level as i have not really monitor its effectiveness in this area.

Perhaps, you check whether yr algae growth is getting beyond yr tolerance. If yr algae is well control, i think there is nothing to worry about.

hi bro,

One of the source of phosphate is from rocks, this one cannot be help as this is a natural occurance even in natural sea environment. Phosphate in the natural stimulaed algae growth, to feed organisms such as plankton, sea mammals and fishes.

Another source is excess nutrients in your water.

Unless u get a phosphate and denitrator double chamber reactor and fix it in your sump. But its quite an investment.

I do switch on my ozoniser 3-4 times a week for 4hrs. But it remains to be proven to reduce phosphate level as i have not really monitor its effectiveness in this area.

Perhaps, you check whether yr algae growth is getting beyond yr tolerance. If yr algae is well control, i think there is nothing to worry about.

actually i have no algae problems but my coralline algae are just not growing which is where my frustration lies, i am running 3 FRs, inline 1 after another, just change configuration last nite yet to measure the output, was running 1 fr tee off to 2, output was at 0.05, and running a sulfur denitrator also

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

You got use activated carbon? This medium will produce phosphates.

what about the calcium level in your tank? dKH is in the range?

check out this article

http://saltaquarium.about.com/od/aboutcora...s/coralline.htm

calcium previously was 420ppm, mg at 1100 ,dkh at 13 back then already had this po4 problem, then currently i managed to raise up mg to 1400 but the other 2 parameters drop, dkh now 9 , ca 320. trying to raise the ca back to 420, i am running a huge Ca reactor but no idea y my Ca drop, but irregardless of the parameters , always had this po4 problem. i wasnt so bothered with it previously because my Mg was low anyway so coralline wouldnt grow, but like they always say, 1 problem gone another problem come.

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

u using DI water 4 salt mix? or nsw?

crystal pro di, tds at 0 , change media when i see tds reading at 10, po4 of newly filtered water is arn 0.01

and ya i got chaeto, 3 clumps, but my chaeto is very slow growing, maybe the lights i use for them is not strong enuff, just a 9w pl.

and for carbon i use rowacarbon, dun think its the carbon thou, i change monthly and i dun use too much of it, and those that leach po4 are usually the cheapo 1s, dun think rowacarbon will leach po4 when its not overload

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

walau eh bro 4000l rowa in 2 mths, no joke leh. And still cannot get the phos level dowm to desired level.....hmm im starting to doubt the performance of such media, izzit really worthwhile in d long run? <_<

its not the media lah, its my tank, something is leeching po4, so many bros reported success with rowa then it cant be the rowa mah,

thats y i told u to run FR rite from day 1 , unless u wanna join me in this troubleshooting, want some sand from me? maybe then we can find out issit really the sand that is causing the problem lol

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

its not the media lah, its my tank, something is leeching po4, so many bros reported success with rowa then it cant be the rowa mah,

thats y i told u to run FR rite from day 1 , unless u wanna join me in this troubleshooting, want some sand from me? maybe then we can find out issit really the sand that is causing the problem lol

paiseh bro i beg to differ leh, if it's really that good it should be able to deal with all sorts of phosphate problems tio bo? By right it should be able to do d job even if ur tank is leeching PO4 but now seems like cannot leh. As for the sand leyyyyy..........NO THANKS!!! :P

it pulled down the po4 then within a few days it raise up again mah, the resin will get exhausted once it holds to the max amt of po4 it can hold,

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

it pulled down the po4 then within a few days it raise up again mah, the resin will get exhausted once it holds to the max amt of po4 it can hold,

but u kept changing d media right? by right the PO4 should get lesser n lesser if it is being absorbed by the media, but seems like the PO4 is not being controlled.wa piang lidat sure burn a big hole in d pocket one, have to keep changing the rowa so often :o