Will you be decomming/downgrading/switching to fowlr???

uLtRaMaN

for me now i using t5 and testing out leds

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

Are you one of them???? For me I put off the idea of setting up a reef tank. :paiseh:

I'll put on hold my upgrade plan & hold on to my 2 footer FOWLR for the time being.

... and feed less so fishies don't grow too fast :paiseh:

I'll put on hold my upgrade plan & hold on to my 2 footer FOWLR for the time being.

... and feed less so fishies don't grow too fast :paiseh:

Fishes will grow according to the tank size..

Unlikely to decom due to this as this is fluctuating. Just hope thing will look better in future. Good for those who enjoyed enough and decommed. For those who just started, this will test one whether they are committed. Thoughts do come and go to decom but so far when i see my fishes, i forgotten abt it. Will just continue till a pt where there is a pressing reason to decom....baby...financial....etc. Meanwhile, will try to save in other hobby or luxury items and commit in this hobby. Will try to go on hardy LPS and fishes.

My fishes already grown...so must upgrade when i shift house. Hehehe. Keep the reefing spirit "ALIVE".

Unlikely to decom due to this as this is fluctuating. Just hope thing will look better in future. Good for those who enjoyed enough and decommed. For those who just started, this will test one whether they are committed. Thoughts do come and go to decom but so far when i see my fishes, i forgotten abt it. Will just continue till a pt where there is a pressing reason to decom....baby...financial....etc. Meanwhile, will try to save in other hobby or luxury items and commit in this hobby. Will try to go on hardy LPS and fishes.

My fishes already grown...so must upgrade when i shift house. Hehehe. Keep the reefing spirit "ALIVE".

Bro, agreed with ur thoughts, but not forgetting tat we are not alone. There's other family memders too to give thoughts to how they feel... etc.. wife. :rolleyes:

Never neglect their feel, talk and engage with her thoughts abt ur reefing hobby, Might get some shocks to certain extend abt their feel for our hobby. Either they support this "expensive" hobby or its full of complaints etc neglect baby, neglect wife's presence(din accompany her for shopping or outing)Often than not, its LFS which gets our fullest attention, esp during shipment. So weekend is after all at the farm :eyeblur:

I'm guilty to the above notion. Have also come to few occassions tat she comes to boiling point. She's still very supportive of my reefing hobby, just tat I din manages it well for my family time management. :ph34r:

ya...so now saturday for me to cycle and chiong pasir farm and jalan kayu....afternoon accompany wife....sunday morning....depends....sunday afternoon...do house work and maintain my tank ....evening...basketball....lol

agree....me careful in this....told my wife considering to decom and she was supportive but later...she said...just continue if i like....buy more dvd for her to watch....and she will leave me alone to do my tank...wahaha..anyway, if one happy with tank and dont chiong too much shipment, think still around to cope....lol....sometime just sacrifice our routine and she will be moved and in return, respect our hobby....having said all these...i think every individual behaves differently.

ya...so now saturday for me to cycle and chiong pasir farm and jalan kayu....afternoon accompany wife....sunday morning....depends....sunday afternoon...do house work and maintain my tank ....evening...basketball....lol

agree....me careful in this....told my wife considering to decom and she was supportive but later...she said...just continue if i like....buy more dvd for her to watch....and she will leave me alone to do my tank...wahaha..anyway, if one happy with tank and dont chiong too much shipment, think still around to cope....lol....sometime just sacrifice our routine and she will be moved and in return, respect our hobby....having said all these...i think every individual behaves differently.

Again well said and its different behaviour for individual family. If tanks is in gd condition and u have got wat u wanted, etc... corals and fishes, then just enjoy the reef and spend more meaningful time with our love ones. :upsidedown: Its also an addictive hobby, just never gets enough of it, thus at time neglecting those love ones ard us.

ya...so dont chiong farm and wait for those who chiong and sell off their previous gems...me waiting for you and bros' sales...wahahaha.

U got a hunch of me gg to decomm? Last nite was talking to a gd bro of thoughts of decomming after a string of 2 1/2 yrs of excitement of reefing. Costs and time factors in too for this hobby. Ever wonder why when it comes to hsewrok, its always or not all times, full of excuses :lol: But for our tank, we have never complain to upkeep it all this while. This facinates alot of my friends and relatives. Saying tank is always neat and clean :fear: Comes to think of it, its always an automatic hse keeping for our tank :bow:

lol agreed, i nv do housework in my life, but yet i do housework for my fishes everytime i am at home, lol

damn they should pay me for my services

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

folks, keep it small and use more efficient equipment.

i tried... but it will never stop. i cut down the power usage... the rate keep increasing. so end up i still back to square one again. i remember when i use 1/2hp with 3x250W MH + 5 t5 light... and i total bill hardly cross $250 in 2005. now 2008, i don't even use MH and just use 4xt5 and 1/5hp, my bill close to $300. we can cut down our power usage but the electricity rate keep raising.

age.png

Again well said and its different behaviour for individual family. If tanks is in gd condition and u have got wat u wanted, etc... corals and fishes, then just enjoy the reef and spend more meaningful time with our love ones. :upsidedown: Its also an addictive hobby, just never gets enough of it, thus at time neglecting those love ones ard us.

i agree with you. it never stop and it is very additive. stop myself to stop buying corals since my tank is full but i still keep a look out for more corals to replace my current corals... never end and end up i spent more on my tank then for my family and baby.

age.png

i agree with you. it never stop and it is very additive. stop myself to stop buying corals since my tank is full but i still keep a look out for more corals to replace my current corals... never end and end up i spent more on my tank then for my family and baby.

Thought vices like cigarette, liqour, gambling, drugs etc are addictive.. But ending up being overcomed by this DARK FORCE :nuke: hobby with non stop buying and spending. Can never see money not spent when visiting LFS. I remembered Auntie at C.F saying not selling anything to me today as I have spend alot a week ago at C.F. Go spend on makan or buy present for loves ones instead :ph34r::paiseh:

Sigh... there might be a new Physcatric dept strictly for REEFERS :lol:

Thought vices like cigarette, liqour, gambling, drugs etc are addictive.. But ending up being overcomed by this DARK FORCE :nuke: hobby with non stop buying and spending. Can never see money not spent when visiting LFS. I remembered Auntie at C.F saying not selling anything to me today as I have spend alot a week ago at C.F. Go spend on makan or buy present for loves ones instead :ph34r::paiseh:

Sigh... there might be a new Physcatric dept strictly for REEFERS :lol:

sean.. ur tank machiem never fill up one leh.. i agree wif auntie at CF.. save the money.. treat me to dinner.. hahaha

i just upgraded my lights and now with this piece of news.. i really got no idea what to do..

not sure if i shld decomm, keep it as it is, or downsize. sigh~ :(

if wanna start/upgrade, just do it and don't think too much. if afraid of the bill, then don't start anything :D

age.png

Reefing is just a hobby. Like any other hobby, it come with a cost. Unless you had other family commitment like kids, etc.

If we start to think this think that, you will end up sitting at home doing nothing as any hobby cost $ as well.

Not saying I'm deep pocket lah. Think of the joy and the therapeutic that come with it. Life is already quite miserable at times liao why make ourselves feel worst right.

Just my 0.02. :)

sean.. ur tank machiem never fill up one leh.. i agree wif auntie at CF.. save the money.. treat me to dinner.. hahaha

Its not my tank not filled up all the time, its my heart and mind tat is always vacant lei... meaning also my pocket always empty too :pirate: So when u free, ur downstairs the Bak kut teh and Braised trotters damn nice lah :yeah:

Reefing is just a hobby. Like any other hobby, it come with a cost. Unless you had other family commitment like kids, etc.

If we start to think this think that, you will end up sitting at home doing nothing as any hobby cost $ as well.

Not saying I'm deep pocket lah. Think of the joy and the therapeutic that come with it. Life is already quite miserable at times liao why make ourselves feel worst right.

Just my 0.02. :)

True abt the therapeutic effect abt a reef tank at home. Somehow relaxes our mind too. I always spend at least 15 mins each session at the start of the day and before retiring for the nite, will also do the 15 mins eye therapeutic :whistle Can't imagine wat I'll do if decomm the tank ? keeping BIRDS ? :pinch: