Ultraman's journey to a 5 footer.................

uLtRaMaN

• Replies 73

how about ATi power module or something? heard its quite good.

maybe other bros that uses this can give some comments as i've not tried personally. think price wise is higer as compared to HOPAR. Well if u hv d budget to go for better equipments will be gd, but for me i have to go for more affordable ones.....bo bian

ATI powermodule is good, but very expensive comparing to Hopar or Jebao wor. There are DE lightings too, not bad and not too expensive, and retrofit ones even cheaper. For me personally, i go for the tubes which are more important, especially for corals. Fowlr would be simpler.

Bro, i hope you are using NSW for your big tank. If saltmix, i can imagine the amount of DI water to be used. Let us see yr scaping soon with your gigantic rocks!

u sure u want to use hopar ar? this brand is what causes my old tank to flood because of a power trip caused by it

Mix Reef Tank: 5ft x 2.5ft x 2ft mixed reef

Chiller: daikin 1hp compressor

Return: Red Dragon 6.5m3

Lighting: Aqua Lumen Ocean 4ft

Skimmer: Reef Octopus RO-RPS-5000-EXT w/ Bubble Blaster

CR: RM 824 /milwakee PH controller

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

American Pinpoint PH monitor

American Pinpoint ORP Monitor with Resun Ozone

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

469748_10150741487628605_529506809_o_zps36d5c396.jpg

Get one elcb socket to prevent major trip cause by short circuit.

ATI powermodule is good, but very expensive comparing to Hopar or Jebao wor. There are DE lightings too, not bad and not too expensive, and retrofit ones even cheaper. For me personally, i go for the tubes which are more important, especially for corals. Fowlr would be simpler.

Bro, i hope you are using NSW for your big tank. If saltmix, i can imagine the amount of DI water to be used. Let us see yr scaping soon with your gigantic rocks!

bro i go for simpler ones because i have simple pockets...ahahahahaha :lol: Currently i am using only tap water with salt mix. Not planning for corals so soon so i can slowly make water changes with DI water. Few months down the road all should become DI water liao. Below pic was my previous 4ft scaping and i actually liked it a lot. Hopefully i can maintain the same kind of scaping for the new setup. :rolleyes:

post-762-1222750657.jpg

actually tap water can, just that it has alot of phosphate and nitrate, so maybe in theory is if u can run a rowa and denitrator on a tub of tapwater for water changes , it be the same as di water??? dun flame me , i'm just thinking

anyway i having problems with my phosphate now, cant seem to get it down to below 0.03, always hovering between 0.05 and 0.09 , 4 bottles of 1000ml rowa in 2 months still cant get it down to what i want

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

actually tap water can, just that it has alot of phosphate and nitrate, so maybe in theory is if u can run a rowa and denitrator on a tub of tapwater for water changes , it be the same as di water??? dun flame me , i'm just thinking

anyway i having problems with my phosphate now, cant seem to get it down to below 0.03, always hovering between 0.05 and 0.09 , 4 bottles of 1000ml rowa in 2 months still cant get it down to what i want

walao bro u so helpful who dares to flame u? furthermore with ur size...............ahahahahaha :lol: hmm maybe u can try using chaeto as another option? Chaeto n rowa power together..........see can bring down the phos level down bo?

Let's continue............A pic of the tank after a thorough clean up and sand filled..............cleaning up and putting in the sand alone oredi buey tahan liao :blink: siong mannnnnnnnn.............

looking good! off to a great start. hehe

[edit] didn't read the second page...

anyway do you have any more spare sump compartment for chaeto? cause they need good water flow through them. dunno how u gonna pipe the water into the separate tank and into your sump, unless the spare tank is already pre-drilled.

also for the spare tank, i suggest using it as an auto top up. that way you can use fan power to cool the surface of the tank. T5 warms up the water a little bit too... and electricity bill on the rise.. so you might want to take that alternative over getting a good chiller.

that's what i'm currently doing... use fan power, auto top up with kalk reactor to keep up the calcium. so far so good... but every other day have to top up the tank with DI water

u never see 2 handful of chaeto in my IOS compartment?

piang eh, skimmer nv see , ios also nv see, that day what were u looking at? same as ur son? the red scarlet? lol

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

looking good! off to a great start. hehe

[edit] didn't read the second page...

anyway do you have any more spare sump compartment for chaeto? cause they need good water flow through them. dunno how u gonna pipe the water into the separate tank and into your sump, unless the spare tank is already pre-drilled.

also for the spare tank, i suggest using it as an auto top up. that way you can use fan power to cool the surface of the tank. T5 warms up the water a little bit too... and electricity bill on the rise.. so you might want to take that alternative over getting a good chiller.

that's what i'm currently doing... use fan power, auto top up with kalk reactor to keep up the calcium. so far so good... but every other day have to top up the tank with DI water

yes i hv another compartment in the sump but not too big though. I've seen reefers floating them in the sump by using baskets? Is it workable? I am not too sure what shld i do with d spare tank, perhaps as what u suggested use it as top up tank.

So actually ur fans are installed in the cabinet? Could u advise me how to set up the top up tank with kalk reactor? So u do not use any FR at all?

u never see 2 handful of chaeto in my IOS compartment?

piang eh, skimmer nv see , ios also nv see, that day what were u looking at? same as ur son? the red scarlet? lol

when i saw ur tank, i was like waaaaaaaaaa..................solid manzzzzz. i was busy admiring ur corals n fishes and did not even noticed wat equipment u hv ah..........hahaha :lol:

my corals and fishes also not power

anyway a sicce wont be able to power the beckett lah, u need a high pressure pump

Tunze TS24 with 7096

Tunze Osmolator

RM sulphur denitrator

RM FR 424

RM FR 624

TLF Phosban Reactor

My old tank thread

As advised by some bros, I might be setting up a refiguim with LR and chaetos to combat nitrate n phosphate build up.

tot of doing that but then was told u need 1 that is almost the same size as ur main tank to be effective. for no3 n po4 prob, i run a oversize skimmer, denitrator n FR with rowa. for topping up, use DI water. most important thing is control stocking level n feeding. like they always say, prevention is always better than cure.....

haizzzz really headache man some bros told me can, others say cannot. Guess must try out to get the answer. Ya agree stocking n feeding plays a very important role.

I have been using HOPAR for quite sometime and so far so good. Touch wood ah...ahahahaha :lol:

I also have 2 sets among other brands and they are as good. So far no issue

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016

Add new 2.5x2x 1.5 ft 

nLekOfpYts.jpg
[/quote]

What test kit you using?And what flow rate you using?

6.5 * 2 * 2 + 3.75 * 1.5 *1.5,(Decomn on 14/9/08)
4*2*2 + 2.5*1.25*1.25 (Decomn on 1/8/09)
5*2*2 (Fully LED light system, 140 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)
2.5*2*2(Fully LED Light System,96 3 watt SSC leds with 60 degree lens)(Decomm)

5*2.5*2(LED only)

Eheim return 1 * pump

1 HP Daikin compressor with cooling coil
2 Jebao OW40, 1 ecotech MP40,
1X6085 Tunze wm,

1 CURVE 7 Skimmer

1 DIY 80 led control by Bluefish mini 

1 radion XR30W G2, 2 Radion XR15G3

Sump area lite by 5 ft T5 , 6 * SSC 3 watt red LED for refugium

1 Full spectrum E27 led light

1 CR control by bubble count

Start No Water Change since 1st Dec 2016