Plate anemone help needed

adra110

Hope bros here could lend a hand on my problem, bought green plate last week but never open/comeout until today.and the water parameter is stable,temperature lighting all in good condition.(because the rest softies in my tank is ok).

had tried to place it near the wavemaker (thought it need stream to open) and place it at higher place(maybe need some strong light)but still failed.please enlight me on this. :unsure:

Hope bros here could lend a hand on my problem, bought green plate last week but never open/comeout until today.and the water parameter is stable,temperature lighting all in good condition.(because the rest softies in my tank is ok).

had tried to place it near the wavemaker (thought it need stream to open) and place it at higher place(maybe need some strong light)but still failed.please enlight me on this. :unsure:

it will be gd with gentle current. n i dun think they need strong light. how u tell if ur water is stable? have u done a check? sometimes corals take awhile b4 they realli open up. what wavemaker r u using? if current is too strong, u will stress it instead. juz put it somewhere with low - flow flow first. n dun keep moving it...

i have my anemone plate for few months.. and 1 in previous tank..

it needs moderate current and if u wan it to open 2 times it size den put in low lightin.. if u wan it to be the size of skeleton than put it under moderate lightin.. high lightin bleah it..

i spray cyclopen.. wen i jx purchase it so it feels tats food in the tank.. till last few mins ago it still open.. i jx sold it away for more corals... my grew so big.. jx my point of view and experience... hope u got luck in ur anemone plate.

i have my anemone plate for few months.. and 1 in previous tank..

it needs moderate current and if u wan it to open 2 times it size den put in low lightin.. if u wan it to be the size of skeleton than put it under moderate lightin.. high lightin bleah it..

i spray cyclopen.. wen i jx purchase it so it feels tats food in the tank.. till last few mins ago it still open.. i jx sold it away for more corals... my grew so big.. jx my point of view and experience... hope u got luck in ur anemone plate.

thankss alot for advices..but today comeback from work find the plate is RIP oledy.. :cry2: aiyah, no mood...

hi adra,

i assume yours is normal plate and not mini-plate? from my experience, they never last long. many times, they open big big for first 1-2 wks and then for no apparent reasons, they just die. i read from somewhere previously but can't locate the article anymore, that all corals are a little different from each other in terms of trace element requirements. for eg. i learnt from one sifu that gornios require iron to thrive. but iron is normally ignored by all of us reefers because it is not a major trace element. while i have yet to discover what special trace element plate corals need, i am quite certain there is something missing whenever they die, assuming all other parameters like lighting, current flow, etc. are ok. perhpas some fellow reefers who have managed to keep plate corals alive for a long time can share your experience with us.

until then, i suggest u keep mini-plates instead. they are much easier to keep. sorry, just my 2-cents worth.

hi adra,

i assume yours is normal plate and not mini-plate? from my experience, they never last long. many times, they open big big for first 1-2 wks and then for no apparent reasons, they just die. i read from somewhere previously but can't locate the article anymore, that all corals are a little different from each other in terms of trace element requirements. for eg. i learnt from one sifu that gornios require iron to thrive. but iron is normally ignored by all of us reefers because it is not a major trace element. while i have yet to discover what special trace element plate corals need, i am quite certain there is something missing whenever they die, assuming all other parameters like lighting, current flow, etc. are ok. perhpas some fellow reefers who have managed to keep plate corals alive for a long time can share your experience with us.

until then, i suggest u keep mini-plates instead. they are much easier to keep. sorry, just my 2-cents worth.

i agree with you, already got 3 mini plate inside my tank.all seems fine but i thought the green plate requirement most likely the same with the mini one. it did doing fine for the first 2 day after going into tank.feel sad because this plate size is hard to get ( bigger than palm size).i did some research and maybe previously my placement inside the tank is not suitable.(too much of light) and too exposed to strong stream.some stated that it only require soft spectrum and slow stream.any ideas on this fact? :unsure:

today got info from LFS that so far the plate only last for at most, 1 year in the tank.is this true? :o

Nope, mine was with me for almost 1 and half years before i sold it to another frenly reefer, and its still blooming.

However it has to be on the sandbed.

Best Regards,

Morpheous

==========================================================================================

My Ocean Pets:

Emperor Angel, PowderBlue Tang, Regal Angel, Teardrop Butterfly, Singapore Angel and Nemos

==========================================================================================

(Only when you guard your lips, you guard your soul....)

Sorry for my ignorance, will be glad if you could kindly explain the diff between normal and mini plates please.

hi adra,

Nope, mine was with me for almost 1 and half years before i sold it to another frenly reefer, and its still blooming.

However it has to be on the sandbed.

sandbed?aiyah, may i know why???hurm...thats why i oso saw a lot of LFS put them on the sandbed too.. :huh:

Sorry for my ignorance, will be glad if you could kindly explain the diff between normal and mini plates please.

no problem. mini plates are usually smaller and their polyps are short unlike normal plates. they come in different colors like green, orange and purple. they usually cost more than normal plates but based on my experience, their survival rates are much higher.

sandbed?aiyah, may i know why???hurm...thats why i oso saw a lot of LFS put them on the sandbed too.. :huh:

i don't know if putting them on the sandbed is going to make much difference to their survival rates. people normally put them on the sandbed cos they fall easily from the rocks and get injured. one problem with putting on sandbeds is that sand will get into them easily and cause them to suffocate to death. perhaps you can try putting them on sandbeds to see if you have better success that way. pls share your experience with us.