martin Posted November 25, 2003 Share Posted November 25, 2003 Hi Pals ! I have a four feet tank, with build-in filter systems running for about 5months. Water parameter is OK (Salinity 1.021, PH 8.3, NH4 0ppm, NO2 0ppm), except NO3 is usually around 20ppm. Unfortunately I do not have a sump system. I have recently bought some corals : 1. Hammer 2. Brocolli 3. Mushrooms 4. Buttons 5. Goni 6. Star Polyps Fishes Inside 4ft Tank =============== 1x Blue face 1x red wrasse 1x coral beauty 1x 6 line wrasse 1x mandarin 3x cleaner shrimps 1x fire shrimps I notice all my corals are OK and openning up happily..EXCEPT the Brocolli. Seems to "SAG" down after few hours this morning....dun know what happened ? Any advise ? Next, I hope to learn from fellow reefers of any best feeds and cost effective ways to maintain healthy corals. (Assuming with no sump system). Could you advise me ASAP...before my brocolli or other corals say "sayonara" ? Thanks in advance ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member tigershark Posted November 25, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 25, 2003 what is a Brocolli? maybe can show me? are you talking about cauliflower? Quote Want to know more about my tank? Follow here!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
martin Posted November 28, 2003 Author Share Posted November 28, 2003 Hi Tigershark! So sorry to take so long to reply...couldn't get my hands on DC. In any case, "brocolli" seemed to "sag-down" and "rise-up" on these few days. Dun know what happen ? Thanks for your willingness to help !!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Dinosaur Posted November 28, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 28, 2003 errr........ I think you fish is mostly potential trouble maker especially, 6 liner, can be very aggressive once it establish its territory Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member AlfaRomeo Posted November 28, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 28, 2003 6 line wrasse is an aggresive fish? first time i heard of it. Have always tot of it as a perfect reef fish which is very mild and non-aggresive. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NormanH Posted November 28, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 28, 2003 Maybe u should raise the salinity slightly higher. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Dear All, I had the same problem, just bought 2 califlower coral last nite, it was doing well for the first two hours blooming but started to sag down like no strength oredi. Please advise what to do & my salt level is 1.020 & temperture is 80F! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
xiggie Posted November 29, 2003 Share Posted November 29, 2003 i tot specific gravity supposed to be 1.023 -1.025 ... try increasing the salinity ... Quote Stairway to Heaven Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Give the cauliflower moderate to strong current. They need it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Hi Guys, I have just try adding a small powerhead for current, will wait & see how it react first! Thanks for the advise & will keep you guys up posted! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Hi Everyone, About an hour oredi, still the same lei....will wait & see again!! Thinking of changing half the water cos maybe the amonia or salt level too high!! Pls advise!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zenus Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 hmm.. i'm keeping a pink cauliflower too.. Most of the time it is sagging down too.. but sometimes it stands up.. hmm, wat are u feeding it wif? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Hi, I just bought the califlower last nite, have not start feeding it yet but i bought Coralife invertebrate Target Food for it comes with a syringe if you want to feed directly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member zenus Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 hmm, i think u just let it rest first ba.. wont be able to stand so fast..hee. oh yah, i bought ur food block and just dump a small piece in. i think u must feed the cauliflower rather frequently... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member SpiderOne Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 get test kits and test ur water. cauliflower are not exactly beginner corals. if u even suspect your ammonia is too high. u are definitely not ready to care for them. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member Lawrence Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Hi, I have tested my amonia level & it is only 0.4mg/l. Is it still too high? Everyone learnt from mistakes even expert too & I believe in marine aquarium everyone is still learning in some way or the other! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member NormanH Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Ammonia should be undetectable...anything more than that means troubles Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted November 29, 2003 Share Posted November 29, 2003 true...everyone learns from mistakes....but coming to the SRC can help prevent a lot of $$ lost and heart pain.... I think doing a search on the related coral will bring you to different threads that are packed with info and actual reefing experience of the our fellow reefers....gd stuff I have been keeping caulitflower coral for a year, there are some kind of success so far, but veri small ones... these corals do prefer current, rich nutrients in the tank...if I am not wrong...filter feeder... I squirt phytoplankton at them, but zooplankton seems to the right food source.. One thing I strongly believe is having a nutrient rich environment..(how I do it...my too many tangs tank, with generous feeding sessions plus supplements) Tat's why i AVOID talking abt my tanks bio-load. hope my little sharing helps and point you in the correct way...I may be wrong Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 One thing I strongly believe is having a nutrient rich environment..(how I do it...my too many tangs tank, with generous feeding sessions plus supplements) Tat's why i AVOID talking abt my tanks bio-load. hope my little sharing helps and point you in the correct way...I may be wrong heh..heh..heh...the tang police is after you liao...you can never hide from them... oops...me also in the same boat...RUN!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member jc85 Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 heh..heh..heh...the tang police is after you liao...you can never hide from them... oops...me also in the same boat...RUN!!!! Huh. SRC also got tang police huh. who who?? Quote Earth Conservation Blog My Marine Blog For All Sengkang Residents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DeepBlue Posted November 29, 2003 Share Posted November 29, 2003 heh..heh..heh...the tang police is after you liao...you can never hide from them... oops...me also in the same boat...RUN!!!! dun worry...my sheer size will deter the tang police from ever come knocking at my door Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member flubberina13 Posted November 29, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 29, 2003 Huh. SRC also got tang police huh. who who?? No lah...it's a standing joke, attempting to freak AT out... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member dradttg Posted November 30, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 30, 2003 i tot specific gravity supposed to be 1.023 -1.025 ... try increasing the salinity ... 1.023 - 1.025 is the recommended but there is nothing wrong with a 1.020 or 1.021 salinity. I know of a LFS (Har****) that keeps their water at 1.019 for all the LS and corals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SRC Member bum Posted November 30, 2003 SRC Member Share Posted November 30, 2003 i believe you have bought either of theses 2 species Soft Corals of the Family Nephtheidae http://www.wetwebmedia.com/nephtheids.htm or family Dendronephthya http://www.wetwebmedia.com/dendornephthyaart.htm the respective links will confirm them for you as well as provide some detailed specifications. they require very regular feedings of phyto, and it is usually very difficult to maintain them for long because of their requirments. hope this helps... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...